We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely house, well treated, great breakfast”
Review of Stone Soup Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stone Soup Inn
Ranked #11 of 18 Indianapolis B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“lovely house, well treated, great breakfast”
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We only stayed for one night here but it was lovely. The house is beautifully decorated and maintained in true heritage style. Our room was the Craftsman room which we liked very much. Bathroom across the hall but robes were provided, as were bath salts. The bed was amazing and the linens sublime!! Very quite house with everything you need close at hand. A guest kitchen is upstairs complete with snacks and soda in the fridge (what a great idea!!) and although breakfast the day we were there was continental, the array of cereals, breads, fruit salad, meat and cheese went on and on. Well done and a lovely stay.

The only weakness I saw here was directions, or lack there of. We were coming south into Indianapolis on 65 and phoned to get directions. The long "ummmmm" told me there was going to be issues. As she hesitatingly spoke the directions on the phone, I repeated them line for line and my partner wrote it down. The streets she told us to turn left at, were one ways the wrong way and she put us on the wrong side of the freeway. Luckily we had a GPS which we dragged out and it took us there. There should be a standard "easy" few turns from the interstate written down or taught to the staff.

Still all in all a lovely stay

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank equinequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    18
    10
    6
    21
See reviews for
10
32
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lockport, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2011

I just booked with Stone Soup Inn. I talked with the owner and had a few special needs. she was most gracious and accommodated each of them. I have heard it said to customer service reps that they should smile while talking to the customer and that the customer would hear it. I truly heard the owner's smile over the phone. This was much appreciated. :)

Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ncarlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2011

The house was beautiful and my room was adequate. I had the smallest room which was at the top of the house. It was very cozy. My room had a full kitchen as it was most likely an apartment at one time. The single bed had some dank sheets on it. They were clean but seemed very old. My welcome was luke warm. It seemed as though I was bothering the him. (The husband). It was obvious he was going to spend as little time with me as possible. I cant say I was neglected but I didn't get 100% attention. The innkeepers are a husband and wife team. The wife on the hand was very attentive at breakfast. The breakfast was very good. The room and dining table were elegantly set. All in All I would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottSandler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2011

This was my first stay at a B&B and my first trip to Indy. I feel lucky to have chosen the Stone Soup Inn! My partner and I enjoyed the quaint accommodations of the NE Loft. We were surprised that the room had a full kitchen! I wish we could have stayed longer and put it to use. I enjoyed the complimentary wifi. The full breakfast was delicious! I could not have asked for more. This B&B made our weekend relaxing and helped slow down time a bit. I hope to try a different room here on our next trip to Indy!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrJenski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U.S.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2010

We found this place using our GPS as we drove into town, looking for a place near some friends' house. What a discovery! The Inn is close to downtown, a lovely old home with a shady, landscaped yard with water feature and a wraparound front porch and balcony with comfy seating. Our room was large and comfortable and nicely appointed and common areas were spacious and elegant. The "continental" breakfast (full chef breakfast on weekends) was as complete as a full breakfast - cereal, fruit, muffins, toast or bagel with cream cheese, butter or jelly, sliced cheese and cold cuts, hard boiled eggs, milk, juice, coffee. All served in a lovely dining room. The total including taxes and breakfast was under $100. Beats a chain hotel off the interstate any day.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enjoythejourneyUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
The Alexander
The Alexander
#8 of 182 in Indianapolis
2,659 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
#3 of 182 in Indianapolis
1,441 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Omni Severin Hotel
Omni Severin Hotel
#17 of 182 in Indianapolis
2,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
#7 of 182 in Indianapolis
2,260 reviews
Inn at the Villa
#4 of 18 in Indianapolis
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Soup Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Soup Inn

Property: Stone Soup Inn
Address: 1304 N. Central Avenue, Indianapolis, IN 46202-2616
Region: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Stone Soup Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We look to welcome new visitors to our city and have created a warm, friendly environment - a home away from home - where travelers can relax by a fire, share their experiences and sleep in comfort. Located in the heart of the historic Old Northside, the Stone Soup Inn offers all the beauty and comfort of an upscale turn of the century home. After stepping into the large foyer, relax by the baby grand piano in the living room or cuddle up with a good book in our library. All of these rooms contain beautifully detailed woodwork and hardwood floors. Breakfast will be served in our distinctive dining room or, weather permitting, on the large, wraparound porch. On the second floor, share stories with other guests in the sitting room or outside on the spacious balcony overlooking the front garden and Lilly pond. Decorated with a combination of Mission-style and Victorian-era antiques, guests will find a comfortable, convenient place to stay as they explore nearby historic sites and downtown attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Stone Soup Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Soup Hotel Indianapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing