We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveller rating
39
18
7
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
39
18
7
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews butler's pantry willow room bed and breakfast minute walk selection of dvds raisin bread updated bathroom plenty of storage boiled eggs whirlpool tub definitely stay here again the ground floor two nights pleasant stay downtown indy star hotel popcorn
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 73 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2018

We stayed on a Saturday night after a theater matinee. Very nice property and expertly managed. The cost was no more than a standard hotel out on the interstate, and less than most central Indy options. Stayed in the Gold Room with queen bed and private bathroom. Spacious and yet cozy-comfortable. Beautifully updated bathroom with whirlpool tub. TV and DVD player with a selection of DVDs available, or books in a common room downstairs. Excellent breakfast, especially with the hot dish offered on weekends. It was really nice not dealing with a hotel breakfast crowd. They managed our parking at the back and we used Lyft to get around. Tinker St Restaurant just 5 minutes' walk north was an excellent recommendation. I would stay again at any of their three inns.

Room tip: Gold Room has a very new looking update with whirlpool tub
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RedPioneer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa I, Owner at Looking Glass Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Truly kind words! Thank you so much. I will let the whole team know you enjoyed your stay.

We will see you at our other inns!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017

We picked the Looking Glass Inn as something a little different from the chains that we had been staying in as part of a road trip. I spotted on previous reviews that they like to know when you will be arriving so that the inn keeper can greet you on arrival. We managed to do this and found no trouble in parking and unloading on our arrival.

The inn is a good size with many rooms available to book. We stayed in the “Portrait Room” which is on the ground floor and accessed via a huge sliding door. The room itself was a good size with plenty of storage. We worried as the bed frame creaked a lot when you sat on it / got off it, but didn’t make much noise whilst actually asleep on it so this wasn’t a problem. The bathroom had an old-style free standing bath tub, and we found water pressure to be fine. The toiletries provided were re-stocked during our stay.

Breakfast during the week is a “cold” breakfast (though they do have a toaster) but there was plenty to choose from. The dining room was just across the hall from our room so the smell of coffee was pleasant to wake up to! The other guests were not noisy at all which meant there was no disturbance in staying on the ground floor.

The Inn has a reading room at the front, and a parlour that guests can use (though we didn’t see anyone there during our stay). There is also a conservatory at the back of the property with a number of board games for guests to use. Upstairs they had a small collection of DVDs & magazines that guests could take back to their rooms should they want to. There was also a small “Butler’s pantry” upstairs that was stocked with coffee, cold cans of soda, and some snacks like crackers, popcorn, and chips.

There was a Kroger Supermarket a short walk from the hotel, and I think it was about a mile to walk to the centre of Indianapolis. The Speedway was around 6 miles away (about 10-15 minutes drive) so not too far away from attractions.

Overall, this was a pleasant stay.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank klee_baker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa I, Owner at Looking Glass Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Thank you for your kind words and thoughtful review of our inn. We hope to see you upon your return to Indy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights in July, and chose it purely because it was one the few remaining ones with rooms available. I am very happy to have booked this place!
The area is amazing, quiet and the architecture is lovely. The hotel is quiet, wifi is good inside the hotel, and free, and breakfast is delicious.
The staff members are very kind and helpful.
I highly recommend this B&B, which was much better than a 4-star hotel I stayed in the following week!

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chrystel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

My wife and I enjoyed our recent two night stay at the Looking Glass Inn B&B. The staff were very nice, the breakfasts were delicious and our room was clean, quiet and spacious. They pipe in classical music into the dining room which helps to create a nice ambience for relaxation. We stayed in the Crimson Room which is located on the second floor toward the back. It was very quiet as this is the only guest room at the back on the second floor. The bed was a queen size with a firm, but not hard mattress. The bathroom had recently been remodeled so it had a normal tub with shower as opposed to a claw tub with a wrap around shower curtain. Not luxurious but hey, it is a bed and breakfast. They also have a snack room which contains small bags of chips and crackers along with a mini refrigerator stocked with soft drinks and a filtered water machine. All gratis. It is located in the Old Northside neighborhood which is a quiet tree lined street 13 blocks from the center of downtown Indy. I highly recommend The Looking Glass Inn.

Room tip: Crimson Room was nice for a couple.
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JefferyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

We were in town for a week with DCI and stayed in the Willow Room. It had the most comfortable bed we've slept in away from home and we travel a lot. The Inn is an old victorian style home in the middle of a neighborhood with scenic homes and views where you see people walking and riding bikes everywhere with dogs, which I loved! "V" who met us at the door when we arrived was amazing. He gave us tips on restaurants, where it was safe to walk since that is our preferred way to get around. There is a small parking area behind the Inn but you can also park on the side if it is full. The butler pantry on the top floor was a few steps from our room and always had soda, chips and crackers which was nice after long walks. Breakfast was good - large muffins, boiled eggs, breads (loved the raisin bread), greek yogurt, cereal, milk, juices and on the weekend you get quiche/casserole and we were only there Saturday but it was amazing with sausage links on the side. Lucas Oil, Victory Field and the Zoo were about a 45 minute walk. You can park at the Zoo for $7 and walk about 10 min to Lucas Oil. The Indy Zoo itself is AMAZING. It is beautiful with close up animals, an aquarium, the most beautiful garden, butterfly house, even rides. We spent most of a day there. One place we visited but were not impressed was the NCAA Museum. It was only $5 to get in but we probably would not do it again. We are however ready for another trip to Indy and stay at The Looking Glass Inn!!!

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawnta40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa I, Owner at Looking Glass Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Your kind and thoughtful remarks are very much appreciated! Our future guests will benefit from your posting.

Thank you so much!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews