We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“smoking problem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Indianapolis Dwtn Medical Dist
Ranked #76 of 188 Hotels in Indianapolis
Reviewed 11 April 2016

We went on a business trip. A group of us were attending a conference, we loved the big suite, it was clean and well maintained. It smelled a bit like old food, but we used our diffuser and took care of it.
Then cigarette smoke started coming through our bathroom fan.. we told the front desk. We chose a non smoking hotel with health reasons in mind, a couple of us are asthmatics, it is dangerous for us. We were rudely told they "can't do anything about it, we are not going to go knocking on doors, this IS a smoke free hotel but sometimes it happens and they can't do anything about it but that they could give us a new room". We had no real choice, and it was late so we just moved to another room. It was clean. The front desk man's attitude was uncaring and rude. However the lady that came with our new keys, was kind and tried to help us move all our luggage.

Room Tip: watch for smokers next door, rooms have sheer curtains and do not block light
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank beanldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don H, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Indianapolis Dwtn Medical Dist, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2016

beanldy,

I am sorry for the situation regarding the smoking violation at our location. The front desk person could have certainly explained our situation in a different way, making it sound less callous. Given the way the building is ventilated, it is nearly impossible to ascertain person(s) violating this county ordinance. Thus, knocking on all guest doors is not really an option, unless the room source is obvious. I am happy that we had an alternate room option for you, where you did not experience further problems.

I hope that despite this issue, you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Don H
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 44 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2016 via mobile

My son and I took a drive to Indy to go the children's museum and take in the zoo. We stayed at Candlewood. Very spacious and nice hotel. Kitchenette included and was reasonably priced considering we went on the weekend the women's final four was being played. No complaints and I would stay there again.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
Thank legalpike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don H, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Indianapolis Dwtn Medical Dist, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2016

"Indianapols trip".

We appreciate your taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay. I am pleased that you found your stay with us enjoyable. Had you tried to do this last year, over the Men's Final Four, may have been a different story. Hope to see you again in the near future.

Don H
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2016 via mobile

Ok the rooms are big. The beds are comfortable if you are really tired. The staff is somewhat help full. I was not sure if the towels were cleaned..they had a brownish color. But the overwhelming smell of incense or sweat or god knows what ...is anough to give you a headache. ..would not return to candlewood ever again.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
Thank Isabelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don H, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Indianapolis Dwtn Medical Dist, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2016

Isabelle L,

I'm sorry to hear that you left our location with a less-than-memorable experience. Unfortunately, mattress preference can vary greatly from person-to-person, and not all patrons may have a positive sleep experience. Towels/linens are changed/cleaned after each guest room occupancy. As we use 'white' terry cloth for bath towels, they should not have had a 'brownish' color, as stated. Bath towels with any discoloration, should not be in circulation. Our location does have a very diverse ethnic population. Some of these persons may not share the same personal hygiene practices as others. Thus, could have been the source of the foul odor mentioned. I am most concerned about the staff being 'somewhat' helpful. I have an excellent front desk staff at location, who have received multiple accolades for their interaction with our guests, as can be read in other reviews. I would be interested in hearing how they failed to meet your expectations during your stay with us.

Don H
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2016 via mobile

Room was bigger and better than expected. Very clean with lots of room to spread out. Great place for extended stay. They would have gotten a better score but I was very disappointed in hotel front desk staff who were less than accommodating, with bad attitudes who almost seemed annoyed whenever you approached them.
Also, there are only 2 chairs in the lobby. So if you are with a large group there is no common area to congregate.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank PaulaFromJax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don H, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Indianapolis Dwtn Medical Dist, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2016

PaulaFromJax,

I am pleased that you found the physical amenities of the hotel to your liking. However, disappointed that the hotel staff did not meet the same standard. This is not typical of the staff, as can be read from previous reviews, and will be addressed with them immediately. Unfortunately, as stated, the lobby is small (as are many Candlewood Suites' common areas), with little soft-seating for guests to congregate. Due to physical limitations of this area, do not foresee this changing in the future.

If you should happen to return to the area, I hope you would give us another opportunity to serve you and improve your overall perception of our product. I appreciate your taking the time to provide feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2015

Every staff member was so friendly; front desk, shuttle driver, and cleaning service. The coffee at the front is delicious. The free hospital shuttle & free laundry is so helpful, especially during our long stay for hospital treatment.

We did ask the cleaning service if we could borrow the vacuum, but soon realized the floor wasn't going to get cleaned. There were stains all over, and even a wadded piece of gum embedded from ages ago. The furniture is super-comfortable, but severely tattered.

I recommend a stay at Candlewood. With new carpet, I could "highly" recommend it. The hotel is clean and the staff are kind and helpful & appreciate having a stove top & full fridge.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emichail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don H, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Indianapolis Dwtn Medical Dist, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2015

emichail,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide feedback from your stay at our location. I am pleased that the hotel staff and amenities exceeded your expectations. However, some condition items met with less-than a glowing review. In the near future, the hotel will be going through a renovation process, whereas all of these issues will be resolved. Until this time, the hotel has been replacing case goods, which exhibit poor condition. For example, the hotel will be receiving 24 new recliners on 12/23, to be distributed to rooms reflecting poor condition. If you would contact me regarding the room you stayed in, would like to have our maintenance staff/carpet care company review, to see if issues experienced could be removed for future patrons of our facility. Despite these concerns, I am pleased that you still had a positive stay at our location.

Don H
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Downtown City Centre
Castleton
Candlewood Suites Indianapolis
Candlewood Suites Indianapolis
#77 of 188 in Indianapolis
128 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Staybridge Suites Indianapolis - City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn
#100 of 188 in Indianapolis
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Indianapolis Dwtn Medical Dist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Indianapolis Dwtn Medical Dist

Address: 1152 N White River Pkwy West Dr, Indianapolis, IN 46222-5103 (Formerly Candlewood Suites Indianapolis City Centre)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 188 Hotels in Indianapolis
Price Range: €80 - €180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Indianapolis Dwtn Medical Dist 2.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Candlewood Suites in Downtown Indianapolis, Indiana Our extended stay hotel in downtown Indianapolis is near the Indianapolis International Airport, making travel to the hotel easy and convenient. Leisure travelers can appreciate our downtown Indianapolis hotel's close proximity to several local attractions. Eiteljorg Museum, the Children's Museum of Indianapolis and the Indiana State Museum offer history buffs the chance to soak up the heritage of Indiana. For sports enthusiasts, the Indianapolis Motor Speedway and Conseco Fieldhouse are just minutes from our hotel. The Indiana Zoo and White River State Park offer fun for the whole family. For business travelers, our hotel in downtown Indianapolis is near the Indianapolis International Airport and offers free high-speed Internet access, a Business Center and three meeting rooms. Nearby corporate locations include the IU Medical Center, the Indiana Convention Center and Simon Headquarters, while South Grove Golf Course offers a great place to unwind. This Indianapolis extended stay hotel offers you free high-speed Internet access and free local phone calls. Our standard guest rooms are the largest in Indianapolis. A Fitness Center, free self-laundry facilities, barbecue grills, a DVD/CD lending library and the Candlewood Cupboard, our miniature grocery store, offer unparalleled comfort and convenience. Call today to take advantage of our great Indianapolis hotel deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Candlewood Suites Indianapolis Dwtn Medical Dist reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Indianapolis City Centre Hotel Indianapolis
Candlewood Indianapolis
Indianapolis Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing