We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, rural accommodations”

Indy Lakes Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Indianapolis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Indy Lakes Campground
Reviewed 4 June 2016

Stayed for race week. The house met our needs- very clean and comfortable. Really enjoyed the deck, watching the baby ducks and geese. Staff ensured all of our needs were met. Although there was a fishing tournament in progress, all fishermen were quiet and respectful.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kfab2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2015 via mobile

The most important part is that the staff in the office are very nice, friendly, & efficient at the check in process. The few times I had to go to the office or call, issues were quickly resolved.

The grounds leave a bit to be desired. If you're a fisherman, I'm sure you'll love the pay lakes . If not, you may not be very comfortable. I'm used to staying in dedicated campgrounds that have ample space. Some of the sites are way too tight. And by too tight, I mean I was only able to put my awning out about 1 foot before hitting the window awning of the neighboring motor home. The people in the travel trailer on the other side were constantly hitting the side of my travel trailer. The man parked his truck between mine & his trailers and there was only about 6" on either side meant I was awaken multiple times through the night by the odd hours he kept. They had debris and trash stored outside their trailer and also had tiki torches outside my window less than a foot away from my trailer which made me pretty uneasy. They apparently haul metal scrap for money and on one particular day, something heavy fell off the side of their truck & hit my trailer.

There are several run down trailers that appear to be permanently kept there. Even though some of the sites are a bit rough, the management keeps it mowed and sprays weeds in the gravel routinely. The pay lakes are open 24 hrs a day so there's always people outside. Most are respectful of the time of day and there were only a handful of times that I heard people making noise during the night. There are lots of potholes in the gravel drive and it's impossible to drive through without hitting them. I was actually a little nervous to stay there and once we backed our trailer in, we went looking for other options but after staying a few nights, it wasn't bad at all except for the neighbors who kept hitting our trailer.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled on business
1  Thank UltrasonicChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2015 via mobile

After we sold our home in Indy we needed a place to stay for several months as we prepared for full-timing in retirement. Indy Lakes offered security, reasonable monthly rates, easy in/out for our frequent comings and goings, convenient access to highways into Indianapolis for work. Owners live on site and were around daily. They were very concerned about making sure our stay was comfortable. Rules (noise, speed, picking up after pets) were enforced, which we appreciate. It is in a great location from which to visit all of Indy's attractions.
This is not a destination campground for campers looking for lots of activities at the campground- no playground. pool, arcade, etc; for fishermen it's a different story. It is apparently an area landmark fishing destination for pay fishing. The office doubles as a well-stocked bait shop for the pay fishing lakes that are very popular! They have frequent contests and special events.
There are sections of the park dedicated to long term residents, and to individuals staying for several weeks while working in the area, or in process of relocating to the area. All sites are level, back-in, FHU. Sites are gravel, most with a concrete patio. Many had fire rings- owner brought us blocks to make a ring when we parked in a site without one. Laundry facilities include 3 washers and 3 dryers.
We were very satisfied staying here and would stay again if in the area.

Stayed: April 2015
3  Thank Vicki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2014

This is a smallish facility with paved roads and level, gravel sites. The focus here seems to be the paid fishing lakes. The facility is gated, but there's no fence around the campground so anyone from outside could park on the shoulder of the main outside road and easily step over the 1 foot tall brick decorative wall.

The electric connection for our site was housed in a wooden enclosure and lacked a breaker. We were in the pet area. A clear plastic bag from a previous occupant was left on our picnic table. The contents of the bag were clearly from a pretty good sized dog. Trash was strewn between our site and the site next to it.

The road adjacent to the facility is a well-traveled 2 lane road with lots of construction traffic. The road noise settled down somewhat at night but picked up before sunrise each morning.

Seems like a decent place for an avid sports fisherman, but less than average for an RVer with a family in need of space for a night or weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jpaocala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2014

i have been going to diferent pay lakes and campgrounds here in indiana for over 30 years and have come to learn that indy lakes is by far the best run in indy.the staf and owners g o to the exstreme to make it the best it can be .they do have rules that apply to everyone but the rules are all good rules that are set for a reason so everyone can be treated equaly and fairly so everyone can have a enjoyble exsperiance when fishing or camping at indy lkes. indy lakes has plenty of different fishing contest that any person can enter and if you win fair and square as the fair rules do indicate. indy lakes will pay to the winner as i personally know for i have personally won several and know plenty of other people that have won fare and square as well.indy lakes has stocked tons of prime fish over the years to make it possible to win but farely.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank john a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
The Alexander
The Alexander
#6 of 186 in Indianapolis
2,885 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
#5 of 186 in Indianapolis
2,407 reviews
Castleton
Candlewood Suites Indianapolis
Candlewood Suites Indianapolis
#73 of 186 in Indianapolis
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
Omni Severin Hotel
Omni Severin Hotel
#12 of 186 in Indianapolis
2,525 reviews
Castleton
Suburban Extended Stay Northeast
Suburban Extended Stay Northeast
#111 of 186 in Indianapolis
68 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
#3 of 186 in Indianapolis
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indy Lakes Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indy Lakes Campground

Address: 4001 W Southport Rd, Indianapolis, IN 46217-9321
Region: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Indianapolis
Number of rooms: 1

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing