We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Allows you to find wines you like”

Tastings A Wine Experience
Ranked #47 of 2,346 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$19
Cuisines: Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Drinks, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Downtown Indianapolis
Description: Tastings is a one-of-a-kind wine bar offering new levels of experience to everyone from the novice to the sommelier. With over 200 wines in stock, Tastings boasts one of the largest selections in the world for wines-by-the-taste and the largest selection in Indianapolis for wines-by-the-glass. The entire selection is available by the 2 ounce taste, glass and by the bottle. Tastings offers a bistro & tapas style menu with a large selection of cheese and charcuterie plates, flatbread pizzas, crostinis, salads, sandwiches and desserts. We also maintain a full bar with premium spirits and beer. Our entire wine selection is available for carry-out at retail pricing or can be enjoyed on premise. Tastings is also one of the best places in the city to people watch on one of our two outdoor patios.
Greenwood, Indiana
Level Contributor
116 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Allows you to find wines you like”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

The food is good. Thye have several dispensers you can test diffrent wines.

Helpful?
Thank diver910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    89
    23
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
154 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fun place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

This was a first time for us and it was a great experience. I loved the concept of the debit card for your wine choices and they had a huge selection. A great menu too for snacks. This would be a fun romantic, family, or work event.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank AJR2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

I was here with my husband and daughter on a mini-vacation in downtown Indianapolis. We checked out the menu after reading reviews here. If anything, I am even more impressed than most of the other reviewers. I had never seen the small "tasting" dispensers, and I think it would be a great way to try new wines. As it happened, wines by the glass were half price, and we discovered a lovely red from Uruguay that we stayed with all evening.

We ordered bruschetta, antipasto pizza, and a crostini, and only the first two arrived. When our server checked in, she was appalled to hear about the crostini--she'd missed it in our original order. We liked the pizza so much we just asked for another one, and she didn't bill us for it because we'd had to wait! Excellent service.

For five glasses of wine and three generous servings of tapas, we paid just over $50, including tip on the full original amount. Very reasonable, I thought.

The atmosphere was lovely, although I'd have preferred sitting in a regular dining chair as opposed to a higher stool. Still, it was a lovely experience and we'll definitely go back.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ispahan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lansing, MI
Level Contributor
106 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Perfect spot to get out of the fray”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

Was in town for B1G Championship football game. Restaurants were jammed so this wine bar and bistro was a bit of calm in the storm. Chorizo and avocado flatbread pizza was delicious and just the right size. Lots of wines by the taste, glass and bottle.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Worldly Woman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best restaurant. Hands down.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

Tapas were great, wine was great, atmosphere was great. This was the best date, and maybe best restaurant, I have ever been to.

  • Visited December 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tastings A Wine Experience also viewed

 

Been to Tastings A Wine Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing