We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Shakes Around”
Review of Steak 'n Shake

Steak 'n Shake
Ranked #245 of 391 Restaurants in Bloomington
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Takeout
Description: Steak 'n Shake, a classic American brand, was founded in 1934 in Normal, Illinois by Gus Belt who pioneered the concept of premium burgers and milkshakes. For over 80 years, the company's name has been symbolic of its heritage. The word "steak" stood for steakburger. The term "shake" stood for hand-dipped milkshakes. Gus was determined to serve his customers the finest burgers and shakes in the business. Today, Steak 'n Shake remains the "better burger" leader, serving premium 100% beef steakburgers, hand-dipped milkshakes, thin crispy fries, and more. Steakburgers are made without preservatives or artificial ingredients, topped with fresh produce, and always hand-crafted to order. Other classics include the Frisco Melt, 7x7, Prime Steakburgers, and fan favorite M&M milkshakes.
Reviewed 22 March 2017

We frequently stop at the Steak 'n Shake for their very thick and delicious milkshakes. They are our favorites while in Bloomington, as well as our five year old grandson's.

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank xicolopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

I was here three months ago and it hasn't gotten any better. The service was horrible. We waited 10 minutes for the four people that was around us to even say hello or ask if we needed anything at all. The restaurant was dirty. Don't sit at the bar or you will walk out immediately. I thought it would get better but I think it just got worse. Save your time and money. Run away.

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank tckramer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2016 via mobile

We came in for a late dinner. The restaurant was empty and fully staffed. It took forever to get seated in an empty restaurant. The waitress took forever to get our drink order and then food order. Once we receive our drinks it took another 20 plus minutes to get our food. The waitress came back and apologized for the wait due to new staff taking their time to get our food out. Once the food came out most of it was cold and the silverware was dirty. I will not come back anytime soon.

Date of visit: November 2016
Thank tckramer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2016

This Steak 'n Shake was located close to the hotel I was staying at for the weekend. The food was quickly prepared, and was very good. Staff was friendly and courteous. Especially enjoyed the Frisco Melt.

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank femaletrumpet02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2016

The service here, in my opinion, was not up to par when compared with other Steak 'N Shake locations I have visited. It wasn't the best experience, but it also wasn't the worst. The food quality was ok, but once again, not the best I've had.

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RacingFan14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Steak 'n Shake also viewed

 

Been to Steak 'n Shake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing