We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome Experience - Great Cottage!!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Front door
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front door
Kitchen Bathroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Front door
Kitchen
Bathroom
Queen bedroom
Second bedroom: 2 singles
Looking up toward 2nd floor
Looking down from 2nd floor to front door
Living Room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Winnetka, Illinois

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
screwie88
Sacramento, CA
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Awesome Experience - Great Cottage!!!”
Reviewed 18 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Loved this place. It was perfect for a family vacation for my husband, myself and our two early 20 year old sons. Cottage was very well equipped, convenient to the Metra to get into Chicago (once we figured that out) and the hosts were very warm and welcoming. There was a well stocked kitchen (which we really didn't use much except for breakfast) and a washer/dryer which were nice to have. We are really happy that we decided to rent a vehicle (as there was convenient parking) and it gave us a lot of options for transportation. If we went to Chicago, we wouldn't hesitate to rent this location again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent_H...
Pasadena. California
1 review
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 23 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Cottage is cozy, convenient to trains, and in a charming residential neighborhood. Wonderful owners too.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very comfortable; great neighborhood”
Reviewed 7 September 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is the single best non-hotel stay I have ever had. My family of 4, including an 18 y.o. boy and a 13 y.o. girl, were very comfortable in this 2 bedroom carriage house. We were busy visiting family in the area, but enjoyed proximity to downtown Chicago as well as Ravinia and the Chicago Botanical gardens. My daughter found a free beach within a mile of this place, and she really enjoyed body surfing in Lake Michigan. We enjoyed playing games on the enclosed bricked outdoor patio.
Margaret was gracious and helpful, but also gave us our privacy.
We enjoyed our stay immensely.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spaciousness
Liked least: slightly clogged bathtub; tippy dishwasher
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CindaLZ
Bellingham, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A gem on the North Shore!”
Reviewed 19 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Since there are few hotels on the North Shore, this cottage was a great find for me - the location was well suited for my needs. The photos accurately depict the cottage, & it is very well-stocked. The cottage is comfortable, & the setting is very private. The owner was responsive, answered my many questions, & met me on site to walk thru the cottage. When I had another question that evening, she was once again available to help out. I will definitely stay here again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location.
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gpjudge
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“very nice cottage, lovely neighborhood”
Reviewed 20 September 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We've actually stayed here twice in the past year. Very clean, lovely owners. Less than 15 minutes drive to Northwestern campus. Good supermarket very close, a Jewel I think. We had a son at Northwestern and this was a great place to stay while visiting him

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing