We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ambieance, good service, risotto to die for.”

Osteria di Russo & Russo
Ranked #4 of 68 Restaurants in Enmore
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 17 June 2016

One of my friends is a regular here and thought it would be perfect for an Italian wine themed dinner. So we had a menu made up for us, and to go with the whole Italian family vibe it was made a a shared plate affair. We were upstairs in an old terrace style place in Enmore, that smelt of a classic antique store old French polished oak.

A young gent named Tony was our Somm, and he wasted no time in taking control of the wines preparing, handling and working out progressions and generally managed the whole evening superbly so big kudos to him.

The food was a good mix of old and new. With some interesting combinations (mullet wrapped in prosciutto). The risotto was the dish of the night for me, with truffled cheese and macadamias, garlic all coming together for a fantastic winter dish that was cooked to perfection. Although the Char Grilled Kangaroo wasn’t far behind, I’m not sure why we don’t eat more of it here in Oz, this was blasted on the outside and still deep red on the inside so you had that lovely crunchy char grilled flavour. I really enjoyed the Crostini of Ubriaco di Barolo dish which was a good segue into dessert, crunchy and fresh with hints of sweetness and savoury.

Really fun night, casual, lots of benter, laughter and noise creating a good Italian family gathering ambience. Also loved the classic Italian Osteria curtains and seating that face the pavement.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RockfordBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 85 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2016 via mobile

If I have knew about this restaurant before I would have gone there every single month !!!

Food - amazing. Especially the truffle pasta dish, it's full of truffle but not just truffle oil. Very generous and tasty.

Wine - a wide range of red and white that matches any dishes on the menu at a very reasonable price ($12/glass for a fine red)

Service - Very attentive and knowledgeable waiting staff.

Ambient - warm, cosy, informal, friendly, just the way how I wanted it for a Friday night

Price - $60 for 5 courses and $75 for 7 courses degustation. Seriously?? That's fine dining experience on a budget price, without compromising the quality.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank TonyWai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2016 via mobile

There's a lot made here about Italian authenticity. We had the chef's recommended menu. Most dishes were great but one was kangaroo! The cruelest kill of them all and not at all what I wanted at an expensive Italian restaurant. Certainly the hospitality and service was good.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank Bookem1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2016 via mobile

This place is a gem. Small, intimate, clever, imaginative........ok enough superlatives but this clever little bistro does not disappoint .
The wine list is first class. The dishes are creative. Zucchini flowers were excellent. The risotto also great. You will definitely find something to please you here.
It use It for special occasions. It's that kind of place.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank Cymbid64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2016

We visited Enmore for a concert last night. Although the concert was a bit hit and miss, this little gem of a restaurant was a shining performer. Although we didn't have a reservation, they fitted us in without a frown. We couldn't choose between the offerings and decided to take the Chef's choice of six dishes. Each dish was devine. We thought course one would be hard to beat but course by course it kept coming out on equal or better. The staff were informative, efficient and courteous. Would definitely make a point of visiting this restaurant if I was anywhere in the area. It's only a dozen doors west of the Enmore. If you are visiting for a show - as Molly says - "Do yourself a favour".

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank richam6364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria di Russo & Russo also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Osteria di Russo & Russo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing