We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“St Fiachra's gem of a garden ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Irish National Stud & Gardens

Irish National Stud & Gardens
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Tully
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This state-owned commercial stud farm also incorporates the world famous Japanese Gardens and wild Irish St Fiachra's Garden as well as the Irish Horse Museum, Living Legend's, Gift Shop and restuarant. It is also home to some of Ireland's most famous racehorses.
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“St Fiachra's gem of a garden ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Beautiful gardens and leisurely walk around the stud. It was made very special by the young foals and the colours in the gardens but St Fiachra's garden is a little oasis of peace and tranquility, with a beautiful water feature.

Visited August 2016
Helpful?
Thank liv911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    587
    233
    49
    17
    8
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
85 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“There is so much to see and do in Kildare. There are things that would be nice to see - this is a need to see!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a real stand out experience of such an integral part of both Kildare and Irish history. Even for someone like me who knows nothing about horses - this was a real eye opener. What an introduction to such an important industry for Ireland. I had no idea, that the National Stud was so many things. Brilliant all-round family visit. Well worth it!

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Garry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balbriggan, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great day out and fantastic value. The gardens are wonderful and the horses and new born foals so beautiful, some only 24 hours old.
Well done to tour guide Paul at 2pm very informative lots of facts and a sprinkle of humour. He kept all our group captivated from the 10 year old to the fifty odd year olds even the dog was attentive well until he got a swipe from the stud cat :)
Well done to all the staff a great day out.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank zoe n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Put this on your to do list. ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just had a great day at the national student with my grandchildren ages 3 and 2. Staff are brilliant, friendly and make you feel so welcome. The stud has developed over the years and now has a really nice playground and fairy village. Best of all is the access to the beautiful horse s and foals. Guided tours are at no extra cost and really interesting. February and March are a great time to go as it is foaling season and a really unique experience to see them. I had very young kids with me, the weather was stinking but we had the best of days. Highly recommended for all ages.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank jimmyb1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skerries, Ireland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Very interesting to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is a great place to spend a half day just wandering around. It has some lovely interesting gardens, full of unique features, which exude peace and tranquility.
Start off by exploring the stud farm which is the only working stud farm open to the public. The staff are really friendly and do not mind answering questions as they go about their daily work. Get the guided tour (included in the entrance price) which really gives you all the essential background information to fully apreciate your visit. Vicky our guide did a really great job at this and her natural enthusium for horses was infectious. Most foals are born from January to March so this is a good time to visit. We were lucky to see 3 one day old foals. We also saw the racing horse legends, Hurricane fly, Kicking King and Beef or Salmon who have retired here. Out in the paddocks was the famous mare Quevega with her new foal. I am not a horse person, but I learnt a lot about the complexitiy of the horse breeding buisness with my visit to the National stud. Allow 2 hours to fully see all the stud and a further hour for the gardens. On a nice day it is time really well spent on a working farm.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank seawindmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Irish National Stud & Gardens also viewed

 
County Kildare, Province of Leinster
Kildare, County Kildare
 

Been to Irish National Stud & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing