We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveller rating
92
39
21
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
92
39
21
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubfish cakesquaint barpuddingportion sizeopen firesunday lunchthree coursesan evening mealsea bassstayed one nightdorastartersmerlotlandladyhenleyensuite
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 160 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2017

We ate and stayed the night at the end of Marchl as we have family living in Sonning Common.

From the moment we arrived and until we left, we were met with genuine kindness and friendliness. Nothing was ever any trouble despite the Friday night we arrived, the pub was very full with a lot of people eating.

Our bedroom, "Merlot" was delightful. It had a very comfortable kingsize bed with a little terraced garden to the side. The bathroom was equally luxurious and beautiful.

Both our dinner with family and our breakfast in the morning was lovely.

We live in France but if we are visiting family again, we would certainly return. Thank you so much for your hospitality.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Seagirl659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017

6 of us visited for Mothering Sunday lunch. Excellent food, very generous portions and lovely service from all 3 waitresses. So nice to be able to book a table when desired and not a "set" sitting like other places. Definitely recommend!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank JMB1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2017 via mobile

A really nice little locals pub with really tasty food and good local beer and most importantly excellent and charming service especially from the landlady Dora whose pride in her job and her pub are clear to see. Definitely recommended!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Roaming_Pikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2017

Has lovely rooms, restaurant and friendly staff. We had lunch, supper and breakfast and all were tasty with a good choice of menu. There is a cosy and quaint bar. It is in a lovely rural location. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2017

Fabulous find. Extremely good value for money. Lovely landlady, very clean and tastefully decorate room.. Comfy pillows!!! ...and bed. Pub had a very nice atmosphere and dinner was delicious. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Stayed in room Shiraz
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KPJQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews