We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$256
US$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Reading Centre(Reading)(Great Value!)
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Novotel Reading Centre(Reading)(Great Value!)
US$212
US$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveller rating
92
39
21
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
92
39
21
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubfish cakesquaint barpuddingportion sizeopen firesunday lunchthree coursesan evening mealsea bassstayed one nightdorastartersmerlotlandladyhenleyensuite
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 160 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2017

Has lovely rooms, restaurant and friendly staff. We had lunch, supper and breakfast and all were tasty with a good choice of menu. There is a cosy and quaint bar. It is in a lovely rural location. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2017

Fabulous find. Extremely good value for money. Lovely landlady, very clean and tastefully decorate room.. Comfy pillows!!! ...and bed. Pub had a very nice atmosphere and dinner was delicious. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Stayed in room Shiraz
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KPJQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed 4/3/2017.Attractive pub in this small Chiltern village convenient for Reading & Henley. Cosy bar & restaurant with log fire & very comfortable room with excellent en suite. The best shower we have seen.very good meal & very attentive staff with friendly & warm welcome. Good breakfast.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017

Our second visit to the New Inn.
For a Friday night the restaurant was very quiet which didn't bother us at all.
The pub side was very busy though.

Excellent food was served again, it was excellent last time as well.
Attentive and friendly service.
Cosy homely décor.
Reasonable prices - 2 courses and bread + drinks £60.00 and no service charge :-)

The New Inn is a little bit out of the way but it is well worth the effort if you want a nice meal out somewhere.
Highly recommended and we will return.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2017

We went along to the new inn again, just as the new manager had started a week or so before. Very nice chap.
Our gripes are...
First, why have two car park spaces at the front of the restaurant/pub for 'Staff Only' this doesn't look good, staff should be parking anywhere but the front & certainly not advertise the fact that they don't welcome you!!
Secondly, the food prices we think are too high, a soup £7.50 & a small bowl. The prices need looking at.
Apart from that a very nice pub/restaurant- maybe try again when the manager has settled in.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank TheMoonandback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorota S, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review.
Any feedback is always helpful and we do take our guests opinions very seriously.
However I would like to point out that the management hasn't changed for 5 years, the nice chap behind the bar was only a barman, so I am pleased to hear that he was doing a very good job.
The reason for the staff car parking spaces is so that when staff are turning up for work they have somewhere to park due to the school using our car park for dropping off & picking up.
All our food is freshly prepared however the most expensive starter on our menu are the scallops which are £7.95 and the soup of the day has always been £4.95.
Once again, all feedback is appreciated.
All the team hope to see you back here again soon.
Best wishes
Dora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews