We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A sad end to a sad day”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Calcot
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2016

My Mother booked a room for my Grandmothers wake and was charged £10.95pp for the privilege. The eta was 2.45pm but we actually arrived at 2.40pm. We were promised a manager would be on hand to greet us - there was no one there. We were promised tea, coffee and squash on arrival - there was none available. The bar, unsurprisingly was open and fully manned though. My Mother was already understandably in a very distressed state following the funeral and then was forced to try to find someone to sort out the mess. The room was absolutely freezing and as the average age of the mourners was about 80 and it wasn't a warm day, this was totally unnecessary. The numerous request for this to be turned off were refused. When the food finally arrived, all that it consisted of was a few platter of the worst looking sandwiches I've ever seen and some large chunks of tray bake cakes. The sandwiches all had indistinguishable fillings with nothing at all recognisable. Someone commented that they looked as if someone had just thrown them together using grey fillings. There wasn't a garnish to be seen to make them look anywhere near appetising which resulted in the majority of them going to waste. How you can justify charging £10.95pp is beyond me. Due to the freezing temperature in the room, the majority of the elderly mourners left very early which is hardly a fitting send of to my 101 year old Grandmother and she would have been very disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Nickylr3110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (592)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 120 of 592 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

If you are looking to stay in Reading for leisure or business, you will find that the Calcot Hotel is the place to stay.

The Calcot Hotel is very welcoming and all of the Staff that work there are very helpful and friendly. The rooms are always clean,comfortable and pleasant. You will enjoy your stay.

If you are considering the Calcot hotel for a special event like a Wedding or Birthday party, I highly recommend that you choose this hotel. I recently got married at the Calcot and also hosted my Wife's 30th Birthday party, both of which exceeded my expectations.

It is very clear throughout my many dealings with the Calcot Hotel that all of the staff that work there are brilliant at their jobs.

I would like to especially thank Andrew for everything he has done for us. Andrew is the best Manager of a business that I have ever met.

Thank you to everyone that works at the Calcot Hotel, I really appreciate all of your hard work and dedication.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew_MacLachlan, General Manager at Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

Hello Paul,

Thank you for leaving us with such a fantastic review! It's great to know when you've worked hard to make sure that your guests have an enjoyable experience that it hasn't gone unnoticed. We look forward to you coming back with family and friends to celebrate other birthday and events with us in the future.

Kind Regards
Best Western Calcot Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2016

Stayed here for a weekend as we were visiting friends nearby. Our room was clean and was in good decorate order, the Bathroom needs updating esp the Shower as it was a fixed one so was unable to direct it also was unable to was my hair over the bath. The flooring and bath panel needs replacing as both had faults. The windows do open wider than mentioned in previous review there is a lever you can press and the Wifi worked brilliant.

Staff were very pleasant and friendly and very helpful. Sadly the food on Friday 29th was not that brilliant but understandable as they had a couple of hen parties and were quite busy.
Would we stay again.... yes as quite reasonably price didn't have the breakfast as I found it rather expensive for what I would eat .

Room Tip: Ask for a back room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VintageAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew_MacLachlan, General Manager at Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

Hi VintageAl,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review after your recent stay with us. We're sorry to hear of your upset with the meal on the 29th in our restaurant. Despite there being other parties going on our food shouldn't suffer because of this, so we're saddened to hear that you didn't experience our best. In regards to breakfast we can charge for smaller items if you don't feel like having the full breakfast, but this is something you can enquire about on your next visit. Many of our bathrooms and bedrooms are going through an updating currently so I'm sure that the flooring issues you've experience will be rectified.

Kind Regards
Best Western Calcot Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

Conveniently located the hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms were comfortable and clean. Rooms on the front do suffer from some road noise, our rear facing room was quiet, we enjoyed a good nights sleep. Breakfast was pretty good but pricey at £10.95 a head

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Charlesydarlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew_MacLachlan, General Manager at Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

Hi Charlesydarlin,

Thank you for the review about your recent visit to us. It's lovely to see that you found our hotel location to be convenient for your needs. It's great to read that you got a good night sleep and found the bed to be comfortable and the room to your liking.

Kind Regards
Best Western Calcot Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016

Went on a Friday, booked the restaurant and we all had the worst meal we had for years. I had a bad experiance once in a Benidorm in an all inclusive - this was worse.
I have had some really good food here in past years but on the 29/7/16 it was shocking.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew_MacLachlan, General Manager at Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

Hi Stephen S,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review after you visited the hotel. Our restaurant team and chefs work very hard to make meals enjoyable for all, so we're saddened to hear that you didn't enjoy yours on 29th July. As you've stated you've had some really good food here in the past so we can assure you that this is just a blip and we hope that this doesn't put you off coming back in the future,

Kind Regards
Best Western Calcot Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calcot
5.1 km away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#2 of 31 in Reading
1,944 reviews
5.5 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
3.5 km away
Ibis Styles Reading Oxford Rd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
5.5 km away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
1,077 reviews
3.6 km away
Beech House Hotel
Beech House Hotel
#10 of 31 in Reading
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel

Address: 98 Bath Road, Calcot, Reading RG31 7QN, England (Formerly Best Western Calcot Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading > Calcot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Calcot
Price Range: €53 - €132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Calcot Hotel is the perfect location for business or leisure in Reading and the surrounding Thames Valley area. Ideally located less than a mile from Junction 12 of the M4 motorway, on the A4 leading into Reading. Reading town centre is within 3 miles and access to the town centre is probably one of the least congested routes available. Very easy and quick to find and most importantly for a Reading hotel...an onsite FREE, floodlit car park for over 150 vehicles! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Reading
Reading Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing