We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (652)
Filter reviews
652 results
Traveller rating
207
218
143
61
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
207
218
143
61
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dinner dance birthday party function room free wifi plenty of parking sunday carvery an overnight stay single room enjoyable stay good nights sleep night's sleep stayed for one night comfy bed disco motorway junction motown
Filter
Updating list...
176 - 181 of 652 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2016

Went on a Friday, booked the restaurant and we all had the worst meal we had for years. I had a bad experiance once in a Benidorm in an all inclusive - this was worse.
I have had some really good food here in past years but on the 29/7/16 it was shocking.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew_MacLachlan, General Manager at Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

Hi Stephen S,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review after you visited the hotel. Our restaurant team and chefs work very hard to make meals enjoyable for all, so we're saddened to hear that you didn't enjoy yours on 29th July. As you've stated you've had some really good food here in the past so we can assure you that this is just a blip and we hope that this doesn't put you off coming back in the future,

Kind Regards
Best Western Calcot Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016

My daughter had her wedding & reception here, could not have had a better time. The staff went beyond what was expected assisting us at every point, guiding us at what is a stressful time. On the day they advised, coordinated & soothed nervous people while still being professionally low key. I would have no hesitation in recommending them for your wedding day.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sstringer4001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew_MacLachlan, General Manager at Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

Hi sstringer4001,

Thank you for your lovely review about your daughters wedding day, from booking until the day itself our office staff and our duty managers make sure the bride, groom and family are all fully prepared to experience the special day ahead. We thank you for allowing us to make your daughters special day one to remember.

Kind Regards
Best Western Calcot Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2016

We were going to a do nearby so wanted somewhere where we could walk from.
We booked it and then read some of the reviews.
We found the staff very friendly.
We had travelled from Devon so had allowed extra time in case there was hold ups on the motorway so got there 2 hours early. Our room wasn't ready so they gave us another one.
We heard no noise from the wedding disco and had a good night's sleep. The room was hot when we arrived but cooled down with the window open. The shower was good and the room recently decorated.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back if you don't want the noise of the traffic
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Gill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew_MacLachlan, General Manager at Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

Hi Gill S,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. Its lovely to see that you had a safe journey and didn't held up with any traffic on your way to us. It's great to see that Reception team was able to accomodate you with an available room on arrival. We hope that you had an enjoyable time at the function you atteneded nearby and we look forward to you coming back in the future,

Kind Regards
Best Western Calcot Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

Lovely and perfectly pleasant. Reception more than happy to top up teas and coffees and the hot chocolate was superb! Lovely breakfast in the morning with very helpful staff who ensured tea and coffee was kept topped up. Would definitely recommend :)

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew_MacLachlan, General Manager at Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

Hi Tom H,

Thank you for leaving us feedback about your recent visit. It's lovely to read such wonderful comments about our staff. We always try our best to make sure that our guests are happy, and by this review, I can see that you have been looked after well with lots of beverages!

Kind Regards
Best Western Calcot Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

We got married here a year ago and I recently had my 30th birthday party too. Great atmosphere, wouldn't want to go anywhere else. Family from Manchester love staying here too. Everyone makes you feel at home. Great staff and amazing food in the restaurant.

Stayed: July 2016
1  Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew_MacLachlan, Manager at Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

Hi Julia M,

Thank you for leaving us a review. It's great to see that you came back to visit us to celebrate your birthday. Our staff are always on hand to make sure that our guests have an enjoyable experiece, and it seems like you've had 2 great visits now.

Kind Regards
Best Western Calcot Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews