We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service clean and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Calcot
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

Conveniently located the hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms were comfortable and clean. Rooms on the front do suffer from some road noise, our rear facing room was quiet, we enjoyed a good nights sleep. Breakfast was pretty good but pricey at £10.95 a head

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Charlesydarlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew_MacLachlan, General Manager at Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

Hi Charlesydarlin,

Thank you for the review about your recent visit to us. It's lovely to see that you found our hotel location to be convenient for your needs. It's great to read that you got a good night sleep and found the bed to be comfortable and the room to your liking.

Kind Regards
Best Western Calcot Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (595)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 125 of 595 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2016

Went on a Friday, booked the restaurant and we all had the worst meal we had for years. I had a bad experiance once in a Benidorm in an all inclusive - this was worse.
I have had some really good food here in past years but on the 29/7/16 it was shocking.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew_MacLachlan, General Manager at Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

Hi Stephen S,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review after you visited the hotel. Our restaurant team and chefs work very hard to make meals enjoyable for all, so we're saddened to hear that you didn't enjoy yours on 29th July. As you've stated you've had some really good food here in the past so we can assure you that this is just a blip and we hope that this doesn't put you off coming back in the future,

Kind Regards
Best Western Calcot Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016

My daughter had her wedding & reception here, could not have had a better time. The staff went beyond what was expected assisting us at every point, guiding us at what is a stressful time. On the day they advised, coordinated & soothed nervous people while still being professionally low key. I would have no hesitation in recommending them for your wedding day.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sstringer4001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew_MacLachlan, General Manager at Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

Hi sstringer4001,

Thank you for your lovely review about your daughters wedding day, from booking until the day itself our office staff and our duty managers make sure the bride, groom and family are all fully prepared to experience the special day ahead. We thank you for allowing us to make your daughters special day one to remember.

Kind Regards
Best Western Calcot Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2016

We were going to a do nearby so wanted somewhere where we could walk from.
We booked it and then read some of the reviews.
We found the staff very friendly.
We had travelled from Devon so had allowed extra time in case there was hold ups on the motorway so got there 2 hours early. Our room wasn't ready so they gave us another one.
We heard no noise from the wedding disco and had a good night's sleep. The room was hot when we arrived but cooled down with the window open. The shower was good and the room recently decorated.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back if you don't want the noise of the traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Gill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew_MacLachlan, General Manager at Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

Hi Gill S,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. Its lovely to see that you had a safe journey and didn't held up with any traffic on your way to us. It's great to see that Reception team was able to accomodate you with an available room on arrival. We hope that you had an enjoyable time at the function you atteneded nearby and we look forward to you coming back in the future,

Kind Regards
Best Western Calcot Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

Lovely and perfectly pleasant. Reception more than happy to top up teas and coffees and the hot chocolate was superb! Lovely breakfast in the morning with very helpful staff who ensured tea and coffee was kept topped up. Would definitely recommend :)

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew_MacLachlan, General Manager at Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

Hi Tom H,

Thank you for leaving us feedback about your recent visit. It's lovely to read such wonderful comments about our staff. We always try our best to make sure that our guests are happy, and by this review, I can see that you have been looked after well with lots of beverages!

Kind Regards
Best Western Calcot Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calcot
3.6 km away
Beech House Hotel
Beech House Hotel
#9 of 31 in Reading
323 reviews
5.5 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
3.5 km away
Ibis Styles Reading Oxford Rd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
1,086 reviews
5.1 km away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#2 of 31 in Reading
1,956 reviews
5.5 km away
Novotel Reading Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel

Address: 98 Bath Road, Calcot, Reading RG31 7QN, England (Formerly Best Western Calcot Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading > Calcot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Calcot
Price Range: €54 - €120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Calcot Hotel is the perfect location for business or leisure in Reading and the surrounding Thames Valley area. Ideally located less than a mile from Junction 12 of the M4 motorway, on the A4 leading into Reading. Reading town centre is within 3 miles and access to the town centre is probably one of the least congested routes available. Very easy and quick to find and most importantly for a Reading hotel...an onsite FREE, floodlit car park for over 150 vehicles! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Stayforlong S.L., Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Reading
Reading Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing