We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (192)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveller rating
189
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
189
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the blue room friendly hosts coconut macaroons incredible talent beautiful historic home bed and breakfast b bs gluten sensitivity gourmet dining overnight getaway perfect hosts shrimp scampi wonderful hospitality own bathroom common areas are sitting room prime rib dinner
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 192 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2017

Two friends and I just returned home from staying at the Chestnut Street Inn in Sheffield, Illinois. Monika and Jeff, the innkeepers, were so friendly and welcoming. We were shown to our rooms and given a tour of the Inn. We relaxed on the terrace outside ( enjoying delicious coconut macaroons as a snack) before enjoying a fabulous dinner. After dinner there was time to relax again in the livingroom. Other activities were available, but we just talked. The next morning we had a wonderful breakfast. My two traveling companions hadn't been there before and thoroughly enjoyed the Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MNTraveller47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

My wife and I recently spent two incredible nights with Monika and Jeff. It was one of, if not the most wonderful Bed and Breakfast opportunities of the many we have experienced. Monika and Jeff are such passionate innkeepers and Monika's culinary skills are amazing. We know we have become friends in the short time we were there. We would highly recommend Chestnut Street Inn for an amazing Bed and Breakfast experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in the green room which offers two bedrooms and a separate TV room. We highly recommend this nest.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msudakov, Owner at Chestnut Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Thank you Paul! It was a pleasure having you all! Look forward to next time! M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

I read a review of this B&B in the Chicago Tribune having won a coveted culinary award, and thought that since we lived 2 plus hours away it would be worth the visit.
Let me just verify This was totally worth the visit! We signed up for a cooking class with Monika and learned all about Moroccan cuisine and prepared 6 FABULOUS dishes. Monika is a brilliant, engaging, fun to be with chef- she is everything the website says about her and MORE. Jeff is delightful as well and both have a wealth of experience, exude wonderful hospitality and professionalism. A five star hotel and 5 star Michelin facility couldn't have treated us any better. The Inn is Gorgeous, meticulously clean and well maintained... and reflects a lot of history.
Visit here- you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank joanne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msudakov, Owner at Chestnut Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Awww. Thank you!!! I so enjoyed cooking and chatting with you both! Monika

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

Monika and Jeff are beyond wonderful! Breakfast and dinner was top-notch!!
We were served like royalty and treated like old friends.
A lovely bed and breakfast to which we will most definitely return!
Thank you for a most lovely stay!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GolferPDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msudakov, Owner at Chestnut Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Awww. Thank you! It was our pleasure!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

I chose Chesnut Inn for the food aspect I wanted to do a cooking class and boy Im happy I did. Everything was exceptional. The coziness of the home to the fire pit at night. Perfect getaway from the city. The food was out of this world. Way to go you two. Keep up the wonderful work. Thank you for your wonderful hospitality.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank brooked631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msudakov, Owner at Chestnut Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Our pleasure! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews