We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent visit to Chestnut Street Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chestnut Street Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Sheffield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2017

Two friends and I just returned home from staying at the Chestnut Street Inn in Sheffield, Illinois. Monika and Jeff, the innkeepers, were so friendly and welcoming. We were shown to our rooms and given a tour of the Inn. We relaxed on the terrace outside ( enjoying delicious coconut macaroons as a snack) before enjoying a fabulous dinner. After dinner there was time to relax again in the livingroom. Other activities were available, but we just talked. The next morning we had a wonderful breakfast. My two traveling companions hadn't been there before and thoroughly enjoyed the Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MNTraveller47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2017

My wife and I recently spent two incredible nights with Monika and Jeff. It was one of, if not the most wonderful Bed and Breakfast opportunities of the many we have experienced. Monika and Jeff are such passionate innkeepers and Monika's culinary skills are amazing. We know we have become friends in the short time we were there. We would highly recommend Chestnut Street Inn for an amazing Bed and Breakfast experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in the green room which offers two bedrooms and a separate TV room. We highly recommend th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msudakov, Owner at Chestnut Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Thank you Paul! It was a pleasure having you all! Look forward to next time! M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

I read a review of this B&B in the Chicago Tribune having won a coveted culinary award, and thought that since we lived 2 plus hours away it would be worth the visit.
Let me just verify This was totally worth the visit! We signed up for a cooking class with Monika and learned all about Moroccan cuisine and prepared 6 FABULOUS dishes. Monika is a brilliant, engaging, fun to be with chef- she is everything the website says about her and MORE. Jeff is delightful as well and both have a wealth of experience, exude wonderful hospitality and professionalism. A five star hotel and 5 star Michelin facility couldn't have treated us any better. The Inn is Gorgeous, meticulously clean and well maintained... and reflects a lot of history.
Visit here- you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank joanne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msudakov, Owner at Chestnut Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Awww. Thank you!!! I so enjoyed cooking and chatting with you both! Monika

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

Monika and Jeff are beyond wonderful! Breakfast and dinner was top-notch!!
We were served like royalty and treated like old friends.
A lovely bed and breakfast to which we will most definitely return!
Thank you for a most lovely stay!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GolferPDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msudakov, Owner at Chestnut Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Awww. Thank you! It was our pleasure!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

I chose Chesnut Inn for the food aspect I wanted to do a cooking class and boy Im happy I did. Everything was exceptional. The coziness of the home to the fire pit at night. Perfect getaway from the city. The food was out of this world. Way to go you two. Keep up the wonderful work. Thank you for your wonderful hospitality.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Brooke D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msudakov, Owner at Chestnut Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Our pleasure! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Chestnut Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut Street Inn

Address: 301 E Chestnut St, PO Box 25, Sheffield, IL 61361-9167
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Sheffield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sheffield
Price Range: €104 - €125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chestnut Street Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate foodies bed and breakfast. Specializing in Mediterranean cuisine that features locally available meats, eggs, produce and more. 4 Comfortable guest suites with private baths, WI-FI, Dish Network, DVD/VCR, signature toiletries, full hot breakfast. LGBT Friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Chestnut Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing