We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food”

Sam & Harry's Steak House
Reserve with OpenTable
Sam & Harry's Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #35 of 375 Restaurants in Schaumburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$60 - US$80
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Meacham Road
Description: Sam and Harry's is a progressive steak house offering wet aged prime beef in an elegant yet comfortable setting. In addition to prime beef Sam and Harry's has a delightful fresh seafood menu which changes daily. Only seafood that is day boat sourced and flown in daily is offered. Sam and Harry's also boasts more than 300 wines spanning 9 countries around the world.
Reviewed 20 April 2018

This is a nice place with good food. Not a lot of options on the menu and it was pretty pricey, but the food was good, especially the mashed potatoes!

Thank Dilbert65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2018

We were at the Renaissance for a convention. It was pouring outside and the hotel was packed. We were able to get a table for two here, but as a vegan, I ended up eating a plate of farro with some peas and other greens and little to no taste. Why don't they have a veggie burger on the menu? Service was VERY slow.....

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meredith O, Manager at Sam & Harry's Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Joanne_S1983,

We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our menu offerings and service. Please know that we are able to accommodate dietary restrictions, including vegan; making our commitment to personalized service the essence of our steakhouse. It’s definitely a perk of sharing our kitchen with a hotel! Additionally, we have made note of your suggestion to add a veggie burger to our menu and have shared this with our Executive Chef. We hope you will allow us another chance to serve you; we’d really like the opportunity to wow you and to provide you with a one-of-a-kind experience.

Meredith O.,
Manager, Social Media

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018

When you pay $45 for just the steak alone, it better be tender. I ordered the NY strip medium rare, and when it arrived, it was done perfectly. But I started cutting into it, and found I needed a little extra effort to get through it. First bite was flavorful, but I needed to chew longer that I should have. Disappointing. The a la carte mushrooms I ordered were amazing. Total with one glass of Merlot and coffee was $76. Service was good.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WallyEagleWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meredith O, Manager at Sam & Harry's Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

WallyEagleWI,

Thank you for your review of your recent experience at our steakhouse. We understand that you were disappointed in your entrée, and we regret that we were not able to provide you with the quality of food you expected. We are constantly working to enhance our menu offerings, and your comments will help us improve in this area. We hope you will consider dining with us again the next time you are in the area.

Meredith O.,
Manager, Social Media

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Our family has had several Easter Brunches here in the past but had been a few years since our last. Maybe two years ago. Our group size was eleven. The service and level of food has gone downhill greatly. The carving station had prime rib and lamb. No ham or pork like previous years. Who eats lamb? The serving area was moved out to the open foyer area and not in the restaurant serving area as previously located. Therefore there were no fresh pancakes just premade and put under a heat lamp. Good luck on finding one warm and soft. Waffles were eliminated when previously fixed in kitchen and served hot. Those were a major reason we chose here in the past. You could still get omlets. Bacon scrambled eggs and sausage were premade and refilled as needed. Desserts and other offerings were cut back as well. To be honest IHOP or Dennys would have been better at a fraction of the price as this is one of the most expensive brunches in the area. Half of what the brunch cost would have been closer to the value, maybe. Service was not good on top of it. Had to ask multiple times for mimosas and took at least 30 minutes to finally get. Maybe they did not want us to have them to keep thrir cost down. Off our list for Mothers Day and all future Easters. Avoid if at all possible unless you like to overpay for food and service that is better elsewhere/

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MaxbMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meredith O, Manager at Sam & Harry's Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

MaxbMax,

We pride ourselves on our inspired, contemporary American dishes – and we have received great accolades for our holiday offerings – so we are concerned to receive your feedback. We do apologize for your disappointment. We appreciate your commentary, and want you to know that we will reach out to you directly.

Meredith O.,
Manager, Social Media

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

Our family of 6, including my son who flew in from California love this expansive and cozy restaurant but what makes it extra special and memorable for Sage and us is the heartwarming, joyful hospitality and excellent service led by Chef Sherman Scott and the staff. We enjoyed Caesar salad, Lobster Bisque and French Onion soups plus appetizers ranging from Fried Delaware Oysters, chilled shrimps, calamari dish to roasted bone marrow[ ordered and relished by my 13 year old grandson]. For my entree, i am very happy and satisfied with the big, fat and succulent Maine lobster tail while my family devoured their specific choices, from Bone- in Beef Tenderloin medallions, Red Ruby Trout, Sirloin steak, and tender Beef Short Ribs. We never fail to order Sauteed Trumpet Mushrooms as sides. Leave some room for the exceptional desserts like the Chocolate Souffle with Expresso Anglaise with raspberry sorbet on the side [ pre-order with server as it takes 30 mintues baking] and the towering, delicious German Chocolate cake mousse, [Sage love it], enticing Margherita's Famous Tiramisu in a wide rim parfait glass and a special "St. Patrick's Day Lucky Charm " dessert creation. My deepest and special gratitude to Chef Sherman Scott on behalf of my family for his uplifting kindness, generosity of spirit and our unforgettable, wonderful dining experience.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank zennph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sam & Harry's Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Sam & Harry's Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing