We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Outstanding all round”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Mill House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The large, fully equipped kitchen has fantastic sea views - concentrating on cooking's tricky! Another wonderfully comfortable double bedroom, with stunning sea views.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
The large, fully equipped kitchen has fantastic sea views - concentrating on cooking's tricky!
Another wonderfully comfortable double bedroom, with stunning sea views.
This bedroom looks directly out to sea and over to Lindisfarne - wonderful!
The downstairs bedroom has an en suite bathroom suitable for the mobility impaired.
The third upstairs bedroom (with ensuite) has twin beds.
One of the four en suite bathrooms.  There is also a downstairs cloakroom.
The conservatory adjoins the living room and has a door to the private garden.
The conservatory with private garden and sea views.
The view of Holy Island from the large shared garden.
Enjoy the view towards Lindisfarne.
Another foreshore view of the cottages - the Mill House is on the left.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Fenwick, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tourist75...
1 review
“Outstanding all round”
Reviewed 24 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Booked TMH and the 2 adjoining properties for a family and friends get together and we were all impressed with the quality of the accommodation and outstanding views. Luxury is a little over used term but in this instance justified,from soft furnishings to heating, hot water etc are all of the best quality and made our stay very special.
I have no hesitation in recommending this property to anyone who wants peaceful and very comfortable surroundings. We will be returning!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jan 2018
It is great to hear you and your group had an enjoyable stay at the Mill House. I was pleased to hear the caterer was a successful too.
We look forward to speaking and meeting you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brickysho...
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable, peaceful, and beautiful”
Reviewed 6 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

This lovely house is right on the water’s edge with breathtaking, ever-changing views across to Holy Island. Glorious sunrises and a wealth of wildlife, the location is blissfully quiet and peaceful. The house is beautiful and very well equipped. There are four excellent ensuite bedrooms, one downstairs, plus a laundry room and a downstairs loo. The kitchen and dining room are huge and perfect for breakfast and dining at home, and the sitting room and conservatory have multiple windows for enjoying those amazing views. The owners are charming, attentive but not intrusive. As a group of friends, we have enjoyed New Year breaks in a wide variety of locations, UK and abroad and The Mill House is high on our list of favourites.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jan 2018
It so good to learn that our guests have had an enjoyable stay at the Mill House.It is an ideal place for friends and family gatherings. Our additional new bay window in the lounge enhances the views to Holy Island and Bamburgh Castle. Thank you for your great review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon M
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Family weekend - a perfect place”
Reviewed 12 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We organized a pre-Christmas getaway for the family at the Mill House. It was perfect - 4 double rooms, all with en suite bathrooms, a large fully equipped and kitted-out kitchen, tastefully furnished dining room, family room/lounge, plus conservatory, scullery with washing machine and tumble dryer, and a downstairs toilet. TV, DVD player, books, guides, binoculars, board games, even decent speed WiFi, all provided.

Clean, warm, with everything we needed except for the food and drinks we brought with us. The views over Lindisfarne bay were amazing and all visible from inside the house as well as outside. Holy Island over to the left and Bamburgh Castle over to the right with the wide expanse of the bay and its sand flat in between and right up to the house.

A fair way off the main road but easily accessible, and not too far to go to a decent supermarket (Co-Op at Belford), and just a few miles to Holy Island or Bamburgh Castle, and a short drive to Berwick-upon-Tweed.

Shortly after arrival, the owner came over to make sure we were settling in OK, and he ran through the things we needed to know. Very welcoming and he lives just a few hundred yards away.

I have already recommended this place to many of my friends and I'm sure we'll plan to go back there again in the not too distant future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jan 2017
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Mill House at LIndisfarne Bay Cottages. A pre-Christmas getaway to the cottage must have been so peaceful and relaxing away from the busy towns and cities at this time of year. Thank you for your recommendations too.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardG5...
1 review
“Lovely classy holiday home”
Reviewed 12 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

A group of seven of us enjoyed a lovely 3 day stay. This is a very well appointed, comfortable spacious house. It is beautifully warm, the bedrooms are very comfortable and the showers are good. The situation, with views across the marshes to Holy Island is stunning. The owner was attentive and keen that we all enjoyed our stay, without in any way being intrusive. Highly recommended.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Dec 2016
Thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Mill House and found that off season here can be just as lovely as the summer. We hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barriper
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“fantastic”
Reviewed 11 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

themill house is a beutiful place very clean and spacious, plenty of room for the children to enjoy. superb views over the nature reserve and lindisfarne island. Could not fault the place lovely bottle of prosecco for us to enjoy on our arrival plus the basics i.e tea and coffee.
The owners are very friendly and accommodating nothing to much trouble even coming out late at night to make sure we were ok after experiencing a slight disaster in the house! Couldn't thank them enough. It a very peaceful place and would have loved to stay longer and explore more of the nature reserve and wild life plenty of rabbits running around kept the children amused. beds very comfortable slept really well

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the peace and quiet at night time
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2016
So glad that you enjoyed your visit. You were gracious guests. Glad too that the twins enjoyed the rabbits though we would rather have fewer of them ourselves! Had you been here this week they would have seen seals close in on the high tides. We look forward to seeing you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing