We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sufficed for a night, but next time I'll stay elsewhere”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Super 8 Rockford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Super 8 Rockford
Ranked #21 of 25 Hotels in Rockford
Coralville, Iowa
Level Contributor
75 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Sufficed for a night, but next time I'll stay elsewhere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

I booked for the price and the proximity to the highway, but this place exemplifies the saying "You get what you pay for." I arrived around 11 pm and there was only one other car in the parking lot - never a good sign. When I opened the front door, the lobby was locked and there was a sign telling guests to pick up the phone and call for service. I couldn't hear anything on the other end, but (presumably) the owner came out a few moments later in his PJ's. He seemed put off that I was there and became even more so when I refused to pay extra for a phone and safe that I would not be using. The room was clean and semi-comfortable, but you could tell that any maintenance on the property was done as cheaply as possible. I also had to fight with Wyndham rewards for a month to get points for my stay here. I will not return.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ML_ND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    26
    49
    47
    87
See reviews for
79
58
28
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middle TN
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2010

Stayed two different nights, and found accommodations to be clean and safe. Beds were OK. No breakfast, but coffee and hot chocolate were available. Nice front desk staff. Worth the money, more expensive on weekends.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tnoccther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, MIchigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2009

I don't normally leave reviews, but this was just awful. We stayed on a cold winter night. The parking lot was not cleared and when we got to the room, it was freezing cold. The heating unit had been unplugged and it took half the night for it to warm the room after we had plugged it in.

The room was disgusting! You didn't dare touch anything and it appeared like the owner was doing repairs and upgrades himself to save money because the craftsmanship was terrible. Oh, there's also a compact safe for you to put your valuables in since the place is so secure.

At 6 a.m., I went down to the lobby for the continental breakfast and found it vacant except for another customer. I returned to the lobby at 6:30 am and again it was vacant. I was just about to go back to my room when I noticed the room nearest the lobby open and out stumbles the owner. He stumbled around, rubbing his eyes, and bringing out the cheapest continental breakfast I've ever seen. I didn't even bother trying to eat anything...I just wanted to get out of there.

By the way, this guy won't give you a refund or any money back for your horrible stay. He's just trying to get as much money out of the hotel before he runs it completely into the ground.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Almo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rockford hotels

Wi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2009

We were with a couple that had to drive up from KY. and we were in town to see a show. We got to the motel late around 1:30a.m. to check in and NO ONE was in the lobby. Luckily a guest let us in the LOCKED front door. We waited in the lobby while my friends husband walked around the halls to find an employee to check us in. However he found no one. Waited for 20 minutes and decided to leave....then the front desk clerk decided to wake up and come down to the desk. We should not have had to wait that long...poor service and not clean place. Thankfully it wasn't winter and the kind guest let us in..

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mel53537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA, midwest
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2009

Have stayed in many adequate Super 8 motels, but this one is awful. Bathroom is filthy; carpeting is filthy. The girl at the front desk is fantastic at video games, but she provides laughably minimal customer service. The breakfast is a selection of mini-boxed cereals, packaged mini-donuts, and two juices --- oops, the apple juice is unavailable. The whole place is creepy and disgusting, and at $80 for a room, including tax, the whole miserable experience was enough to get me to write my first ever motel review. Spend another $20.00 and stay at one of the competitors next door.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travel_familyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rockford hotels
0.8 km away
Days Inn Rockford
Days Inn Rockford
#18 of 25 in Rockford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.5 km away
Red Roof Inn Rockford
Red Roof Inn Rockford
#6 of 25 in Rockford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.4 km away
Comfort Inn Rockford
Comfort Inn Rockford
#19 of 25 in Rockford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Alpine Inn
Alpine Inn
#10 of 25 in Rockford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.2 km away
Extended Stay America - Rockford - State Street
0.1 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#11 of 25 in Rockford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Rockford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Rockford

Property: Super 8 Rockford
Address: 7646 Colosseum Dr, Rockford, IL 61107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Rockford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 25 Hotels in Rockford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Rockford 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Rockford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Rockford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing