We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Roaches, mold and hair everywhere - filthy place!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Pontoon Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Pontoon Beach
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Pontoon Beach
New York
Level Contributor
88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Roaches, mold and hair everywhere - filthy place!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

This is one where a picture is worth a thousand words... this is an "upgraded" room. It has a big jet tub that you couldn't pay me to sit in. The bed is ridiculous - that mattress must be 10 years old You can actually feel the springs! Roaches in the bathroom, clumps of black hair everywhere (I'm blonde so it wasn't mine), and the bathroom had mold everywhere. I'm pretty shocked that Holiday Inn allows this. See pics. Stay anywhere else. There's a Sleep Inn across the way that has a better rating, but honestly I'll stay in St. Louis next time.

Room Tip: Avoid at all costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marty99x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    19
    20
    9
    10
See reviews for
37
12
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

For a traveling salesperson, this hotel seems to be better than most. My room had a flatscreen Samsung TV, a mini-fridge, a microwave, and a small kitchen area (including sink). No complaints, except for the overwhelming scent in the hallways. My room smells fine though. The hotel is right next to the municipal building. I see two police cars parked outside, so I doubt crime is a problem here. As for restaurants, your immediate choices are Denny's, McDonalds, and Taco Bell. Who doesn't like Taco Bell?

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake in the Hills, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

The place is moderately clean, the staff is always great.

I stay here when visiting SIU-Edwardsville because I tried some of the other local hotels and they are terrible. I wouldn't book this one if I was on vacation, but for my weekend trips to the school it does fine.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mnamna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clovis, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

These hotels are always good and the servce at this one was also very good.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, North Carolina
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

Cons: Mostly clean room but VERY stained sheets. The phone system does not function properly. It has keys for Housekeeping/Front Desk/ Maintenance however they don't work. When I called the Front Desk between 11-12am (not sure exact time) off & on for 20 min I got no answer to my call. Night clerk was still working when we checked out & when I asked him what happened to him he didn't know because he WAS there the whole time.
Pros: So I called and spoke to the manager after we got settled. He said the stains were from too much iron content in the water ( it looked like old brown stains from blood but his explanation is plausible). He said he would address the problem immediately and apologized.
We stayed in a room that accomodated 4 children and 3 adults comfortably ( if I could've overlooked the dadburned sheets). It was a quick drive from Lambert International Airport (YAY!) and the bathroom was very clean. We didn't use the pool but it was clean as well and while small, it looked very well maintained. There is also a workout room which I also didn't use. They provide a decent continental breakfast and have a room for internet use and I can't remember for sure about Wi-Fi as I was WAY too tired and concerned about the sheets. ;D

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 6ofusvagabonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontoon Beach
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pontoon Beach
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pontoon Beach
#1 of 7 in Pontoon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.8 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites St. Louis Pontoon Beach/Granite City, IL
0.4 km away
Days Inn Pontoon Beach
Days Inn Pontoon Beach
#5 of 7 in Pontoon Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
No photo provided
Regency Park Hotel
#4 of 7 in Pontoon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
8.7 km away
Drury Inn St Louis Collinsville
Drury Inn St Louis Collinsville
#1 of 11 in Collinsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
4.7 km away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#1 of 5 in Granite City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Pontoon Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Pontoon Beach

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Pontoon Beach
Address: 14 Regency Parkway, Pontoon Beach, IL 62040 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Pontoon Beach)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Pontoon Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Pontoon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Pontoon Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Pontoon Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Pontoon Beach Hotel Pontoon Beach
Pontoon Beach Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Pontoon Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing