We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Green Acres Hotel(Pittsfield)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$120
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$68
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$88/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Book now, pay at stay
US$82
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Star Lite Motel(Jacksonville)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$51
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$124
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$80
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$140
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$138/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
33
7
2
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
33
7
2
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshistoric hotelone nightnext morningstayed herecounty courthousecoffee houseliving roomcreature comfortsunique experiencein towna great place to staylobbycharmhistorysquaredeskamericana
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 45 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2017

This is a historic inn on the court house square. Rooms are well appointed with furnishings to fit the age of the inn, but bathrooms and creature comforts are there as well. Because of the volume of business the staff is not always there and we had trouble communicating with the hotel to say we were arriving after 9 p.m. This is crucial because you need to have a key pad code to enter after 8. Room was great lack of staf was fine but weird at times.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jirecarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

From the moment you walk through the door it's clear this is something different. When we arrived there was no one at the desk but a folder with our key was on the counter. Different but it certainly works.

Our room, the Abraham Lincoln suite was large, comfortable and had a gorgeous view of the historic courthouse.

The staff, which admittedly wasn't always around, was friendly and very helpful. When was the last time you were invited to use the hotel laundry, and detergent, without charge.

The photos and paintings of Lincoln are worth the price of admission. Be sure to see the photo of the original courthouse draped after Lincoln's asassination.

Really a great place to stay in Pittsfield.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

Look, like the one size fits all myth, this historic hotel isn't for everyone. For those that need handicapped accessible or are deterred by carrying their luggage up a staircase, this isn't the right fit. But, if you resist the cookie-cutter bland people boxes that dot the country, then this is right up your alley. Mini-splits in the rooms, modern mattresses and baths give us our creature comforts while each room decorated with it's own unique antiques and the antiques the decorate the hotel make for a feast for the eyes. The ability to walk to your dining location on the square harkens back to the intimacy of yesteryear. Add in my enjoyable chat with one of the owners (Jonas) the next morning and swap tales of repurposing old wood and it was just a nice stay. If I could convince Jonas to upgrade to mini-creamers rather than powdered in the breakfast room, It would make my morning coffee just right.

Room Tip: The rooms in back away from the street will exchange an interesting view for lack of street noise. Make your pick.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017

My daughter and I stayed here one night and loved every moment. Check in was easy, the room beautiful, and the lobby amazingly quaint. Every corner was filled with tasteful collectibles and classic novels. We had a wonderful time walking around the square and then relaxing in the lobby. Indeed, even the hallways to the rooms were a charming place of comfort.

The room was incredibly clean (203) and really a perfect balance of classic and contemporary. The white bedding was chic, the updated bathroom pristine, and the decor was a collection of tasteful Americana, local history, mid-century cool, and country charm. Imagine tin ceilings, one brick wall with character and then freshly painted walls in a contemporary, yet classic color. Someone with a studied eye put everything together seamlessly!

The next morning, guests help themself to a fully stocked kitchen for a delicious continental breakfast. I felt like I was staying in a good friend's home and had been told to make myself comfortable. A positively unique experience in a hotel! The staff was nearby, but was not intrusive, which also was quite nice.

The hotel was easy to access just off the highway and the local restaurants all were excellent. I have been raving to all my friends.

This place is a gem!

Room Tip: third floor suite has the best view of the square. Room 203 is my fav!
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mama_in_vegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

Who knew there was so much history in little Pittsfield, IL? The William Watson hotel is really a historic hotel, not a b&b. Our room was furnished in lovely antiques and faced the county courthouse. Living room, bedroom, bathroom and little alcove for a sink and refrigerator provided plenty of room. Downstairs there was a sweet, neighborly coffee house.
The front desk advised us that we might enjoy riding from one historic house in town to another because each house had a recording available by setting your radio dial to the number posted near the road in front of each home. Who knew that Lincoln had visited, eaten, or slept in so many Pittsfield homes. The history of John Hay was also interesting.
Great visit!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Rheadv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews