We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
William Watson Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Pittsfield B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 3 July 2016

My husband and I stayed at the William Watson for one night, as a last-minute stay for a funeral. Immediately upon entering the hotel, we were pleased: the lobby was warm, comfortable and inviting; you just felt like you wanted to sink into one of the comfy chairs and browse the interesting historical elements scattered around the room. We were greeted promptly and warmly, and were thrilled to be graciously upgraded. Our room was even better: a beautiful suite that overlooked the historic courthouse, complete with fireplace and antique furniture, yet combined with modern design elements that blended perfectly; the headboard, for instance, was an antique door that was a focal point of the room. If I would have stayed at a hotel like this in a large city, I would have been thrilled with its sophistication and elegance, combined with warm, welcoming and historical ambiance. Perfect!

Room Tip: The view of the courthouse on the third floor was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sheri010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2016

If you want the standard chain hotel, you are in the wrong place.
If you want a unique experience, you are in the right place. All rooms are different so I can only speak to my room on the third floor. Looks like a family bedroom you would find in a nice farm house but with all the amenities. Wifi; good sized bathroom in which everything works, including good water pressure for the shower, individually controlled air; nice bed; and pleasant view of the town square. Each room is different so I can only rate my room which was great. Mine was on the 3rd floor and no elevator so you do have to walk up. Nothing wrong with exercise if you are able. Owner makes a point to know your name;
staff most helpful; and a wonderful coffee/sandwich shop adjacent to hotel which you can access directly from the hotel. Lobby is more of a parlor. Has a piano and a record turntable with all kinds of other neat stuff to look at. I would stay there again without hesitation.

Room Tip: check with owners about which room meets your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank jojo19392016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2016

We stayed at the William Watson Hotel over Memorial Day weekend while we were in town to ride ATV's at the Hearland Lodge in Nebo about 20 min away.

Everything about the Hotel was cute as a button!! So much character and charm- someone has paid attention to every detail. It was very clean and we loved our stay! The back patio was wonderful and we spoke to the owner as he was coming and going....very friendly and personable. We can't wait to come back!!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed two nights due to a wedding for our nephew. We had three of their rooms. First let me say the hotel is really quaint and the staff is very friendly & helpful. Our bed & pillows were very comfortable. Don't expect the normal hotel breakfast, there are minimal cold options. It could be a lot better. Front desk hardly ever manned. Several times guests were checking in and had to wait on front desk clerk. This hotel could be outstanding if they paid more attention to detail. I do recommend staying here. It's very quaint and our kids (adults) really liked it.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Thank drmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2016

I booked this hotel for a business meeting and sleeping rooms. What a wonderful experience. The hotel is charming , only 12 rooms & 2 suites, and very historic. Jane Ann (owner) went out of her way to make our meeting space work for our clients. The rooms are very nice, all modern accessories with the charm of a historic inn. They also have 2 suites that are amazing. Definitely would stay there again for any reason.

Room Tip: Pittsfield is a small town with lots of antique stores and a beautiful town square
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LoriKolde2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsfield hotels
0.8 km away
Green Acres Hotel
Green Acres Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pittsfield
19 reviews
1.8 km away
Knights Inn - Pittsfield
Knights Inn - Pittsfield
#1 of 1 in Pittsfield
17 reviews
0.2 km away
Monroe Street Suites
Monroe Street Suites
#2 of 3 in Pittsfield
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to William Watson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about William Watson Hotel

Address: 105 E Washington St, Pittsfield, IL 62363-1436
Region: United States > Illinois > Pittsfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Pittsfield
Price Range: €76 - €85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — William Watson Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel was built in 1838, and called Mansion House, William Watson who was the first settler of Pittsfield. We renovated for two years and reopened in 2008 as William Watson Hotel. We specialize in customer service and provideing a one of a kind experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your William Watson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing