We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay!”
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Mount Vernon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2017

We had stayed at this location 2 years ago and stopped again. It is very similar to some of the better Comfort Suites, but they do a bit more, to make the stay even better.
The beds are firm and a little high, but we all rested well. The breakfast is very similar to other hotels, but a few extra touches. A specialty waffle mix, besides the regular one. Pre-made french toast to toast, Greek yogurt and fresh fruit that is ripe and yet not over ripe. The front desk is helpful and takes time to help meet your needs. Above all of that, one of my favorite touches is their water in the lobby. Ice cold and with lemon! A nice treat when you've been on the road.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 356 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2017

The staff are excellent, the room is clean and by far has the most water pressure of any hotel I have ever stayed in. It appears to be recently remodeled and was still in process. There was a pool, but it wasn't accessible during the day due to painting. Breakfast selection items is good; waffles, bacon, eggs, cereal, etc. The biggest issue is the entrance is shared by tractor trailers and is in bad shape...not the hotels fault bu it does affect your stay. The location is good as there are restaurants close by and a Walmart for all the last minute items.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2017

Very nice, quiet stay at this hotel. Front desk was very pleasant, welcoming and helpful. Would stay again. Breakfast was just the typical hotel offerings. Would stay again if in the area. Easy access to wifi. Room was quiet.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kathyzeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2017

I reviewed this hotel before, but, to be honest, it was so long after the stay that I hardly remembered specifics! What I did remember was a really sweet and funny desk clerk named Debbie! I recognized her immediately and told her we had been there the day of the water main break. She remembered that day as particularly challenging, to say the least.

This time, they were actually painting the pool area, which disappointed my husband, who LOVES hot tubs, but they were finished by 4pm (an hour earlier than stated), so he was able to enjoy the water before it was time for happy hour. We received 4 drink tickets, so why not take advantage? Not a great spread--hot dogs, buns and chips, with beer and wine, but we're not fussy. It turned out to be our dinner.

Our room was spacious, with obviously new carpeting, and the biggest fridge we've ever encountered in a Choice hotel. The freezer compartment was large, with a separate door, which was great, since we needed to freeze the ice bags for our cooler for our last day on the road.

The bed, as always, was super comfortable, with pillows that were softer and harder, instead of all the same.

The free wifi was easy and fast, and they actually had high def service on the TV, so the picture was crystal clear. It bugs me to have high def TVs and no high def service, so everyone looks fat and blurry.

I was not so crazy about the coffee maker, which had the plastic container with the coffee packet inside. I hate all that plastic being thrown away! They partially made up for it by having paper, not plastic or styrofoam, plates at breakfast. Speaking of breakfast, it was the usual, with scrambled eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy (Really? We're in Illinois, not the deep South! That gravy grosses me out!), waffles, cereal and fruit.

We probably will stay here again, because it's in the right spot on our journey from Florida to Wisconsin, but also because of Debbie, and because the hotel tries hard to accommodate.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank krisreger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile

I travel on a few occasions with my husband for business, and this Comfort Suites was our host for one night.

Sleep-wise, we feel thankful it was only one. The bed proved a lot hard, which snatches extra stars from the stay right off the top. Little sleep = fewer stars.

We had a clean room, plenty of towels and amazing water pressure never before seen this side of Paradise. Great range of channels on the tv during Stanley Cup play-offs.

Breakfast was, as our kids say, "the usual" -- reconstituted powdered eggs, breakfast potatoes and ... perfectly cooked bacon, as well as make-your-own waffles, cereals, yogurts, and fruits.

But, the bed situation, for anyone, rules. We could make it through another night there if the need arose, but we would be know sleep would suffer a bit.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mount Vernon hotels
0.3 km away
Drury Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon
Drury Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon
#1 of 14 in Mount Vernon
524 reviews
0.3 km away
Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon
Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon
#2 of 14 in Mount Vernon
522 reviews
1.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mount Vernon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Mount Vernon Rend Lake
0.2 km away
Super 8 Mt. Vernon
Super 8 Mt. Vernon
#5 of 14 in Mount Vernon
646 reviews
1 km away
Days Inn Mount Vernon
Days Inn Mount Vernon
#7 of 14 in Mount Vernon
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Address: 404 S 44th St, Mount Vernon, IL 62864-6753
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Mount Vernon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Mount Vernon
Price Range: €81 - €100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Mount Vernon Hotel Mount Vernon
Mount Vernon Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing