We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food, outstanding service!”

Babcock's Grove House
Ranked #8 of 212 Restaurants in Lombard
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$15
Description: Locally owned and operated, Babcock's Grove House features freshly prepared Midwestern comfort foods, craft beers and thoughtfully selected wines in a relaxed, historic setting. Fast casual at lunch. Full service for dinner. Located in the heart of downtown Lombard steps from Lilacia Park and the Metra.
Restaurant details
Description: Locally owned and operated, Babcock's Grove House features freshly prepared Midwestern comfort foods, craft beers and thoughtfully selected wines in a relaxed, historic setting. Fast casual at lunch. Full service for dinner. Located in the heart of downtown Lombard steps from Lilacia Park and the Metra.
Reviewed 27 October 2018

Ambiance, food and service. It all comes together at Babcock’s Grove House.
This is a cozy little restaurant in Lombard that serves outstanding food with a smile. I recommend the Really Gouda Burger and the Chicken Schnitzel. It’s a pleasure to dine in a restaurant where the staff works as a team, and obviously enjoy what they are doing - creating a special dining experience for their guests!

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Keith032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2018

Wonderful fresh ingredients in soups, salads and sandwiches! Counter order, then delivered to your table. Lovely historical bldg in downtown Lombard. Some say Lincoln slept here!!!! It is a great way to rejuvenate this old structure. Outdoor tables on the sidewalk for good weather. Mostly ample servings, and delicious food! I would say this is the anchor of the rejuvnenated downtown crossroads. Just remember: closed Sun and Mon.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 48travellady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018

This is our new favorite place. We have started eating here weekly since discovering it a few months ago. The food is always made from scratch. Soups are delectable. The meals abundant and good. We've had the carrot cumin soup multiple times; it always delivers. Enjoyed the tacos, the salads, the burgers and tuna melt.
A place to return to again and again. Have always had lunch here. Look forward to trying it for dinner.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MaryFrances1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018

Our family ate at Babcock's this past weekend and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. We ordered the Strawberry Bacon Pecan salad, BBQ Pulled Pork Pie Skillet and the Bacon Beer-Cheese Burger. All items were delicious, and portions were more than adequate. The selection of local craft beers was impressive, and the restaurant's atmosphere is charming as well. Our waiter was attentive and knowledgeable. Will definitely be back.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CyclistSTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018

The reviews on here seemed a little too good to be true, but we tried it anyway. I'm so happy to say that they deserve every single accolade! The food was amazing, service was amazing, and what a great atmosphere. So many great things to say about this place, but one example that really made me fall in love is that we were on the fence about whether to order the mushroom soup (btw, GET IT... AMAZING!). Our server was so concerned that we enjoy every bite, she asked if we'd like a little taste to be sure. She brought a small sample, we ordered a full bowl (duh!), and I was blown away by how much she cared and helped us make the right decision for us. Seriously, you won't regret trying Babcock's!

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Babcock's Grove House also viewed

Lombard, DuPage County
Glen Ellyn, DuPage County
 
Glen Ellyn, DuPage County
 
Lombard, DuPage County
Downers Grove, DuPage County
 

Been to Babcock's Grove House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing