We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reliable Mexican restaurant in Libertyville”

Casa Bonita Mexican Restaurant & Tequila Bar
Ranked #13 of 103 Restaurants in Libertyville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$29
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Casa Bonita was awarded "Best of the Best" for Mexican food by the Daily Herald Reader's Choice 2017. Located in the heart of charming downtown Libertyville, Casa Bonita is known for its vast list of over on tap tequilas and the famous "Perfect Margarita." The year round patio is enjoyed even in the winter where heat lamps allow guests to dine alfresco. Unlike the Mexican restaurant chains, Casa Bonita is an independent restaurant featuring a creative take on finely prepared, authentic Mexican recipes. Providing an array of recipe options, our food is made only with the freshest, quality ingredients selected daily from local purveyors. Everything from appetizers to desserts are handcrafted for a memorable south-of-the-border dining experience.
Reviewed 22 July 2018

Lots of menu choices, good service and nice atmosphere make this place comfortable for families or friends to enjoy good food together. Outdoor terrace is a plus in good weather. Quality of food and service are consistent.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jc555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2018 via mobile

We started going to Casa Bonita years ago, back when it was still in Waukegan. It’s always been really good. We haven’t been in a while though and went for lunch today. Unfortunately, for us it really seems to have gone downhill. It took about 10 minutes before we were even acknowledged. Service was lackluster. The food was not anywhere close to as good as it used to be. My enchilada, while huge, had an overwhelming amount of cheese in it. Maybe some people like that, but not me. My husband said his chimichanga was ok, but not very flavorful. I doubt we’ll go back.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Cudatah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill V, Owner at Casa Bonita Mexican Restaurant & Tequila Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Thank you for your review and your important feedback. We sorry to hear about your experience. Our team enjoys taking care of everyone who walks through our doors, and we're sorry that you were given a different impression. We make all of our food fresh with the highest quality ingredients because for us, great guests deserve even better food. We hope you'll consider joining us again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

Monday’s there were 1/2 price margaritas and they were delicious! The guacamole and salsa were great for appetizers. We shared multiple dishes between the 6 of us. All were very good.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank chrismead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill V, Owner at Casa Bonita Mexican Restaurant & Tequila Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2018

Thank you for your review! We hope to see you again soon!
Sincerely,
The Casa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018

This place has a great ambiance and music! It seems pricey considering that the ingredients for Mexican food are not expensive.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank naya58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill V, Owner at Casa Bonita Mexican Restaurant & Tequila Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Thanks for your review and we are happy to hear you enjoyed the ambiance and music. Casa Bonita has never been known to be the least expensive Mexican Restaurant. We have a prime location in downtown Libertyville, we buy the highest quality ingredients and our kitchen has an army of hard working staff committed to making every item from scratch. For example, we only use Haas avocados, limes from the Baja region, our chicken is fresh never frozen from a local farm and our skirt steak is outer PRIME Iowa fed which is the best and most expensive that you can buy. Our cheese is not domestic "Jack" like our cheaper competitors. We use Chihuahua cheese imported from Mexico. We also have large portions which most of our guests see as a great value. Again, thank you for your review and we hope to have you come back soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018

I feel like I was at a completely different restaurant from a lot of the other reviewers.
This is only the second time I've been here and it's probably my last. First, the food was very good. I had a delicious chimichanga that might have had a whole chicken breast in it, and the rice and beans were also very good. Portion sizes are generous and three of our party of four took food home.
Unfortunately, the service provided by "R" was almost non-existent. The drink order came in a timely manner, but after taking our food orders we didn't see him again until we were almost done with our meal when he asked if the food was OK. We had empty glasses on our table for most of the meal without any offer to refill our water or soft drinks or to get us additional cocktails. We had to ask another server to find our waiter so we could get our check and to-go boxes after we finished our meals.
It wasn't a matter of the restaurant being too busy because there were enough servers walking around taking care of the other tables.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Good_Scout_111_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill V, Owner at Casa Bonita Mexican Restaurant & Tequila Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2018

Gregg, it definitely sounds like we dropped the ball with our service this time, and we sincerely apologize. Thank you for bringing this our attention on Yelp and on Trip Advisor. We're happy to know that you enjoyed your chimichanga, but we know that great food means nothing without excellent service to go along with it. We will work harder at training our staff. It's our hope that you'll come back soon so we can take much better care of you while still providing you with a tasty meal.

All the best,
The Casa Management Team Read less

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa Bonita Mexican Restaurant & Tequila Bar also viewed

Libertyville, Lake County
Libertyville, Lake County
 
Libertyville, Lake County
Libertyville, Lake County
 
Libertyville, Lake County
 

Been to Casa Bonita Mexican Restaurant & Tequila Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing