We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for dinner, good beer, and with kids”
Review of Chief's Pub

Chief's Pub
Ranked #45 of 70 Restaurants in Lake Forest
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Description: Welcome to Chief's Pub! We are a family friendly restaurant by day and a full bar by night. We serve American fare and offer many choices for alcohol, including over 75 different beers. Sports fan? We offer 16 HDTV's and 1 huge 135" TV! Live music every other Saturday and an awesome happy hour deal!
Restaurant details
Description: Welcome to Chief's Pub! We are a family friendly restaurant by day and a full bar by night. We serve American fare and offer many choices for alcohol, including over 75 different beers. Sports fan? We offer 16 HDTV's and 1 huge 135" TV! Live music every other Saturday and an awesome happy hour deal!
Reviewed 17 August 2018 via mobile

Came here after a long day at Great America, looking for ‘real’ food and this did not disappoint! Nice smaller sized sports bar / pub atmosphere but was still friendly for kids (including a kids menu and all 3 enjoyed their food). Hubby enjoyed the pork tacos and I enjoyed the Italian beef. Kiddos had a hot dog, spaghetti with meatball, and chicken tenders. Also had a good beer selection with some good, unique beers. Very enjoyable spot and would stop here again if we’re in the area.

Thank millamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (9)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 9 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2018

Food, drinks and service are all great, as are the prices. The place has a casual, comfortable feel with lots of TVs to watch the White Sox and Bears when they are on (OK, you can also watch the Cubs if you must). High ceiling and good layout make it never feel too crowded even when it is.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

The line at Egg Harbor was out the door,so we walked over a feet and turned brunch into lunch. Good burger (pretzel roll) and fries, big screen TV with sports. Both families and Lake Forest College students there. Jeanette our server was nice. It's close to the college and there is plenty of parking. I was temped to try the Chicken Salad or a Meatball sandwich, maybe next time.

Thank Traderjoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe K, Owner at Chief's Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

First off, TraderJoey, love it being my name is Joe! Thank you for the kind review! It's not often that our restaurant takes business from Egg Harbor, they have great food and the best breakfast in town. However, when you are looking for sports, pizza, big salads and an awesome burger, we are the go to spot and I'm glad you were able to come in and see that, and we hope to see you soon....with your college friends. Don't forget that next time you are in, show your college I.D. and you receive a 10% discount on your entire check, including alcohol if your of age. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

Ok, how is Chief's only #33/49 in Lake Forest? I know it isn't a high end steak place...or a seafood restaurant that catches fish off a dock, but as far as good food, great service and easy location it's awesome! I went with a couple from LF and was so happy with our waitress. I enjoyed the buffalo chicken sandwich and fries and welcome a return visit soon. It's a shame that Chief's Pub is so low in the ranking behind others that can't hold its proverbial water. Come now. You won't regret it.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe K, Owner at Chief's Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Jeff, I have to say this is one of my favorite reviews ever! So nice of you! Thanks for the great comments, we really appreciate your business and we cannot wait to see you again! Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017

Hidden spot that you probably wouldn't see unless you were looking for it. Great decor and fun little spot for drinks and a bite to eat.

Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe K, Owner at Chief's Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Thank you Karen P for the nice review. You're right, we are a little hidden but getting a review as nice as yours, brings us to light! Thank you for your business. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chief's Pub also viewed

Lake Forest, Lake County
 
Lake Forest, Lake County
Highwood, Lake County
 
Lake Forest, Lake County
Lake Forest, Lake County
 

Been to Chief's Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing