We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unimpressed but we got our money's worth”
Review of Sushi Ya

Sushi Ya
Ranked #35 of 282 Restaurants in Joliet
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

We heard from many that w should try this place because it was good. I would say it is good and one of only a few options in the local area. But it's not on par with other sushi places I've eaten. The hostess (maybe manager/owner) had zero personality; no greeting, no smile. But we were seated immediately on a busy Friday night. Service was S-L-O-W! I ordered 4 rolls and several nigiri for myself. The rolls had great seasoning flavor but skimped on seafood. The nigiri lacked flavor. The yellow tail tuna was not on par with what I generally encounter. In my opinion based on visual appearance and favor, the crab was imitation crab meat. Thumbs down on that. The price was good though. So if you're hankering for sushi, it'll do the trick.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank sprkspys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2017

I have came here for years and would recommend the miso soup and have tried so many different rolls and they were all great. Service has always been great and the food served fresh. It is located in a plaza however you don't feel like it is a plaza once you walk in; plus it is roomy inside. They also offer all you can eat menus as well.

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank Ro G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017

A belated birthday present, my daughter and son-in-law took my wife and I out for Japanese cuisine at Sushi Ya. You have to pay close attention to find this little gem. The strip mall is set well back from Jefferson Ave. The décor is just a room, that is not the selling point. The wide variety of Sushi and Sashimi and Tempora dishes surely will have your favorites and many new choices to sample. The best deal is their "All You Can Eat" which allows you to sample until you are full. Friendly and helpful wait staff. Excellent Sushi chefs. This establishment would rival those in downtown Chicago for good food. Check it out for yourself.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kenneth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017

Came in late on a Saturday with my daughter - had sushi and rolls, which were good. The miso soup however was served almost cold, which was strange and they don't seem to care too much. Patrons are local and a little oafish, at least on that night. Not a lot of choice nearby, but adequate if you need a sushi fix.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Colin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2017 via mobile

Very good , great value and you get lots of options and it's all you can eat so that's good . You can't beat it , hands down the best in will county

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Sushi Ya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing