We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”
Review of Momcorn

Momcorn
Ranked #5 of 147 Restaurants in Gurnee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$10
Cuisines: Latin, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Delivery
Description: Momcorn is a locally owned casual restaurant serving hand-made Mexican and Latin foods, many are gluten free and on request can be cooked in a dedicated gluten free fryer. Specialities are Tamales, Sopes, Quesadillas, as well as Horchata and Chicha Morada. Pozole and Tortilla soups are made from scratch with our own meat stocks. Customer favorites include the Jibaritos, Empanadas (beef or chicken), burritos, tortas, and fish tacos. Momcorn's refried beans are vegetarian and no lard is used in the Chicken, Raja, and Corn tamales. On the kids' menu a definite taste pleaser is the Flauta Dog. The service is great, food is prepared to order, and everyone is friendly. Come in and let us take care of you.
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

We ordered delivery and their tortas and horchata was so good! The guys who delivered our food was so nice and thankful we chose them. A must try!

Thank saraheliz11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen R, Owner at Momcorn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

We are always grateful for our customers, they are why we exist. Thank you for not only ordering from us, but taking time to write this lovely review. We look forward to the next time we deliver to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

Would definitely say this was a unique lunch spot... very friendly staff and good food.Would try again if in the area!

Thank maureen r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen R, Owner at Momcorn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Maureen, Thanks for lunching at Momcorn and writing such a nice review. Please come back when you are next in the Gurnee area, but know you can come for breakfast, lunch or dinner, it's all great!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017 via mobile

We had dinner here tonight and let me tell you how a-maize-ing it was! Me and my boyfriend had the jibarito al pastor and it was delicious. The portions were huge!!! The tortilla chips came out warm and they were good along with the guacamole. They homemade two hot sauces, which were delightful. The from scratch horchata was yummy and so was the desert! We had a guava empanada. I can't find a complaint. I grew up in a family ran restaurant and this place hit me in the heart. Not only was the food delicious, but the staff was friendly. I believe we were talking to the owner...he was soooo nice, accommodating, and attentive. Service with a smile!!! Great America is right around the corner for all of you thrill seekers looking for a bite to eat. The portions were huge at a reasonable price! You can't beat this place. I wish I lived closer!

Thank Cypriotqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen R, Owner at Momcorn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

Thank you so much for visiting Momcorn and for writing such a nice review. We love having happy customers from near and far. You picked our most popular dishes, but everything is delicious. Yes you were talking with Sergio, one of the two owners of Momcorn. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017 via mobile

Was so happy to order at this newer Mexican food in Gurnee! Had been recommended and was delicious! Tried the chicken and canita tacos which were excellent and so tasty and flavorful. Ordered a side of Rice and Beans both so delicious! Also had one of there Homemade Tamales the Corn one with green sauce or you can order red! It's been years since in my hometown of Arizona I had a corn tamale and was fabulous. They have chicken and beef also . Many desserts I wanted one of the Flans all different kinds but were out so went with great Sopapilla! There is not in GURNEE a homemade from the heart Mexican and Caribbean restaurant like this one! Delicious and will be a regular!

1  Thank 32,252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen R, Owner at Momcorn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

Loved your review, thanks for taking the time to write and post. Sorry you missed the flan, it is popular and since we make it in small batches we can run out on occasion. Since you will be a regular customer, you will surely get to taste it in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017 via mobile

Food here is great. It's sort of Mexican style and sort of Caribbean style. Not much atmosphere but this is more than made up by the prices and owners love and devotion to their food and their customers

We try to visit this place at least one a month

Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen R, Owner at Momcorn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

James, Regular customers like you are the lifeblood of a restaurant like Momcorn. Thanks for your review and your patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Momcorn also viewed

 
Gurnee, Lake County
 

Been to Momcorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing