We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice when you finish your stroll in the gardens”
Review of Garden View Cafe

Garden View Cafe
Ranked #1 of 1 Quick Bites in Glencoe
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 22 August 2018

Take a walk in the gardens and then stop off for a snack. Sometimes coffee and a roll. More food available for breakfast or lunch if you want. Food is fresh.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Slumdog2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2018

Setup--counter service. You can grab items out of the fridge (sandwiches, salads, pop, beer, chips) and pay at the counter or order other items up there to be brought to your table. You can choose a seat inside or outside overlooking the gardens.
Service--good; someone takes your order, someone else brings you your food.
Food--great! A lot of their food is sourced locally and fresher than you'd get in most fast-service restaurants. My berry cobb salad had tender greens and blackberries like you cannot buy in a store, also delicious chicken and Wisconsin chevre on it; my husband had a really nice margherita flatbread with pesto and balsamic that came with a small fresh greens salad. You won't leave stuffed, but will leave feeling like you had a nice, healthy meal (depending on what you order.)
Prices--high for cafeteria-style, but not ridiculous considering the setting and the freshness of the food. We paid about $27 for our two meals and a Coke.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank trueindigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

I entertained the National Garden Club Judges who judged the Lily Show at the Cafe. Two of us had the Sheboygan bratwurst and others had the grilled stuffed portabello and another had a grilled portobello panini. The lunch was delightful. We thought that there was plenty of choices for vegetarians.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lindalee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018

The cafe was somewhat busy when we stopped in after visiting the gardens. You pick up what you want, pay for it and then find a table. No table service that we saw. We grabbed a tuna sandwich to split and found an end of a table to eat it.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018

While touring the Gardens we stopped here for lunch. The selection was varied with enough variety to please most any palate. I had the Flatbread and the homemade Chicken Soup, both were delicious and outstanding. Will I return? Absolutely

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Travelingal702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Garden View Cafe also viewed

 
Highland Park, Lake County
Highland Park, Lake County
 

Been to Garden View Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing