We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Making dreams come true!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stoney Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Stoney Creek Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Davenport, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Making dreams come true!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed at the Stoney Creek Inn at Galena, the evening before we planned on getting married at the Jo Daviess Co. Court House. We asked the staff to keep our flowers in there cooler. When we asked the desk clerk to get them for us on Saturday morning, he asked if we were planning on getting married today. We told him of our plans to be married at the Court House. He (Shawn), asked if we would prefer to have a small, intimate ceremony at the Stoney Creek Inn. Shawn also offered to perform the ceremony as he is a Pastor. He could perform the service that day. We talked it over and decided to have the service as Shawn offered. Shawn even went as far as to find a suite in Stoney Creek for the rest of our stay that weekend. We had our service with Shawn in the lobby in front of the fireplace with our parents standing by our sides, just as we always wanted. Dena the General Manager even took pictures so our parents could be in the photos. The truly made our day even better than it was going to be. We will be back for future visits and anniversaries. Thank you everyone at Stoney Creek you are the BEST!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    522
    201
    44
    21
    12
See reviews for
173
376
23
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Henry, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

If you are staying here with your pet, it will cost you an extra $25.00, after complaining about how we were treated it is now posted on there website, not sure if it is posted in there lobby yet or not? We were not given any information about there pet policy when we checked in( dog was with us in the lobby), after being there 6 hours a little note and information packet was left on our door, to inform us of the $25 charge! We were accousted by a person(The term Lady is not appropriate) who was rude, was not wearing any hotel identification and was in my face about my dog not being in a kenneled in our room, so she could enter when we weren't there!( pretty sure there is no reason for her to be in our room when we aren't there!, and why we were not on the dog floor? Guess it would of helped if we would of been told there was a "dog" floor?The rooms are small, we had bugs in ours, cobwebs in the corners, very poor insulation, the noise from the other rooms were terrible and we were in the basement! The breakfast buffet was constantly empty and average, I got sick with in 10 min. of eating there. There are lots of other hotels and B& B's in the area, Galena is beautiful and worth the trip, just stay clear of the Stoney Creek Inn!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shirley1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack K, Vice president of Corporate Support Services at Stoney Creek Inn, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Dear Shirley 1212,
Our sincere apologies for the circumstances that led you to believe we weren’t pet friendly during your recent stay. We are aware that your reservation was made through a 3rd party rather than directly with us and we failed at check-in to share with you our specific pet policy as well as offer you a welcome gift bag for your pet. Those two points may be what started us off on the wrong foot (or paw as it were.) We have a nominal fee for pet stays due to the fact that we must perform extra cleaning upon departure. We should have also offered you at no extra charge, a Kennel, mat and pet dishes for the comfort of your pet. Our policy is in place for the comfort of our other guests as well. We request contact information in case your pet is scared and barking excessively when left alone, thus disturbing other guests. We ask that pets be kenneled when you leave them behind for the protection of our housekeeping and maintenance teams performing their normal duties or dealing with any emergencies. Again, our apologies, we normally get rave comments about our policy and we regret your experience was otherwise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

I was happy with our choice to stay at the Stoney Creek Inn for our ski trip to Chestnut Mountain (rather than staying at the mountain itself). The price was better, and the accomodations much more comfortable. The room was larger, bed much more comfortable, and the breakfast (though lacking in fruit) was included in the stay. Plus the twenty minute drive to the mountain is easy in the morning and we didn't have any trouble with parking there.

That said, I'm not sure this is necessarily the best place for "couples" if you want to get some shut eye. There are kids everywhere (from young to teenaged) and families staying in multple rooms tends to lead to lots of door slamming and loud hallway conversations at night. I don't doubt that this is an excellent spot for families though.

Also note that it's not "in" downtown Galena (which helps in the price, but means you are a drive rather than a walk from the bars/restaurants/shops).

Room Tip: The hotel is like a maze with no elevators. If you have trouble walking or hauling luggage up/down s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skiergirl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

We stayed at Stoney Creek Inn during a short trip to Chestnut Mountain for some snowboarding. Despite its somewhat unappealing exterior, situated just off a highway and in front of a strip mall, we still had every bit of the cozy, rustic, lodge experience we were hoping for. As soon as we entered the hotel we were greeted by a warm fireplace and friendly staff. The decor made us feel like we'd been transported to a secluded lodge in the mountains. We stayed in a jacuzzi suite with a fireplace which I highly recommend. Also, if you're looking for places to dine, ask the staff for recommendations, they are more than willing to help you out depending on what you're looking for.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shugs01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

What a great place to stay in the Galena Area and at a good price also. Me and my wife spent 5 days and 4 nights at this hotel and it was Very Clean, all the employees were very helpful and went out of their way to help us out. It was also nice and quiet even though it is in the middle of a shopping area - which is also convenient if you need to run out for something.
I've been at a number of "World Class Hotels" in the ski areas of Colorado and I can say that this hotel is just as good if not better than they are and at about one fourth the cost. Keep up the great job Stoney Brook Inn....

Room Tip: The Expanded Rooms have a microwave and fridge in them which was good for us. Also the Pool, Hot Tu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
1.7 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
1.9 km away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
2.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Designer Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
11.4 km away
Worldmark Galena
Worldmark Galena
#8 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
12.2 km away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoney Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoney Creek Inn

Property: Stoney Creek Inn
Address: 940 Galena Square Dr, Galena, IL 61036-1361 (Formerly Stoney Creek Inn Galena)
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Galena
#2 Business Hotel in Galena
#5 Family Hotel in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2 star — Stoney Creek Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gravitate to Galena. After a wonderful day shopping more than 100 antique stores, marveling at historic 19th-century architecture, playing a round of championship golf, hitting the slopes or experiencing one of Galena's many unique restaurants, the Stoney Creek Hotel rooms and theme suites are the perfect place to unwind. Relax by the fire or in our indoor heated pool. We look forward to your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Stoney Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoney Creek Inn Galena Hotel Galena
Stoney Creek Galena
Stoney Creek Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing