We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fountain of Youth!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Goldmoor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Goldmoor Inn
Ranked #8 of 33 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Port Saint John, Florida, United States
2 reviews
“Fountain of Youth!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

I've stayed at the Goldmoor Inn several times over the last 10 years. They never get old, or repetitive. I always feel like I've suddenly gone back in time to when I was younger, and didn't have a care in the world. Why do I feel this way? Because they have already thought of everything, before I've reached them. The accomodations are the best, and the ambiance and view takes be back to a much more simple time. No buildings blocking the view, no traffic clogging up my path. Heavenly relaxation, and rejuveination! If you missed this, you might as well have stayed home!

Room Tip: To stay out of the way, choose a cabin. For a good view, Mississippi Suit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    45
    21
    11
    7
See reviews for
29
356
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dubuque, Iowa, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

I enjoyed our stay at the Goldmoor last week. I appriciated the decor, as the Arthur Suite was decorated toward more of a man taste. We enjoyed the quite time and breakfest was to die for. I recommend this place and we will be visiting again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

We stayed at the Goldmoor Inn for a family wedding. The rooms were spacious. My family of four fit in the room and we were more than comfortable. I enjoyed my stay at the Goldmoor so much that we purchased a gift card to give to our good friends. We also recommended the Goldmoor to a couple for their honeymoon. Both of the couples had a wonderful stay at the Goldmoor. They loved it.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pedman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

The best place I have ever visited! The staff, grounds, rooms and restraunt were all top notch. I cannot wait to return to this heaven in the hills.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vacationingmomma5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cordova, Il.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

We enjoyed our stay very much and felt the stay a very good value. The staff and Inn Keepers were extremly competent and did a great job making us feel welcome.

The view from was a sight to remember All of our family members were very favorably impressed

Room Tip: Our rooms were very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
12.5 km away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
12.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
10.6 km away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 km away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
7.3 km away
Worldmark Galena
Worldmark Galena
#8 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
1.7 km away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goldmoor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldmoor Inn

Property: Goldmoor Inn
Address: 9001 N Sand Hill Rd, Galena, IL 61036-9341
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€€
Hotel Class:4 star — Goldmoor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand deluxe suites, elegant cottages and cabins overlooking the Mississippi River just south of Galena. All accommodations have king beds, private two person whirlpool, fireplace, full private bath. Breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Goldmoor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldmoor Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing