We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent breakfast choice, awesome food”
Review of Otto's Place

Otto's Place
Ranked #1 of 65 Restaurants in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Breakfast and Lunch
Reviewed 14 November 2017

Otto's Place had been recommended by several Galenians and visitors, so we thought that we would give it a try. Otto's Place is located across the river and the tracks from the main street in Galena. There is plenty of nearby parking. There are two floors. Our server was Sienna & she was friendly, personable, efficient and attentive - a great waitress. There only is seating for about 14 people on the first floor, but we did get a window table. We chose the sweet potato hash with sunnyside up eggs and a breakfast biscuit, as well as the biscuits and gravy. I thought the biscuits were really great tasting. We also tried a bloody mary with Blaum vodka and then a bloody mary with andouille sausage, pepper jack cheese & more. We wanted to try a cinnamon roll for dessert, but we didn't get there early enough, so we were stuck with a walnut cinnamon strudel which was unbelievably light & fluffy, that was warmed up perfectly. All of the food tasted great. Had we not gotten our two bloody marys, the price would have been more than reasonable.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Allen21096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Owner at Otto's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Thank you very much for your review! We make as much as possible in house from scratch so we are very happy you enjoyed your meal and the service! Hope to see you again!
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (835)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 835 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2017

This is a very well-run establishment with excellent food and service. Great menu. Pleasant atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WardandBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Owner at Otto's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Thanks for your review and your visit! We look forward to being able to serve you again!
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

The ambiance in this older building makes for a neat setting, and it's nice to be off the beaten path just a bit. The quiche of the day (a butternut squash version) was wonderful, and my husband enjoyed his omelette and bloody Mary. We had to wait about 20 minutes, but the hostess directed us to a nice sitting area upstairs where we could relax and enjoy a cup of coffee. It's a nice place to eat a relaxing breakfast. It was a little chilly sitting in the main area downstairs to eat, as the door was being opened and closed often. Even though we were as far from it as one could get, I had to put on my coat. Maybe down the road, a vestibule of a two-door system could be added, or the heat increased. I liked the history and background of the restaurant as well as the little goodbye saying that was on the check/bill holder. Our server (Amber or Ashley...not sure) was very cheerful and happy, which was great to see.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MicheleIOWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Owner at Otto's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

We appreciate your review! Granted, a building that is 118 years old can be a bit chilly with the door opening and closing so many times. We do the best we can to try to adjust the temps when and where we can. Thank you so much for your visit!
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

Across the foot bridge by Grant Park, nice view of downtown and the mansions on the bluff. We all went with the nice chicken salad sandwich.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RollmeawayIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Owner at Otto's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Thanks for your review! The chicken salad is one of our most popular lunch items, and we are happy you enjoyed it!
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

This is a lovely little restaurant across the river from the main Street in Galena. The first thing you’ll want to do is call ahead and add your name to their wait list. The restaurant is small, cozy, and popular. Our breakfasts were delicious; we had a veggie quiche and a havarti tomato omelette. In addition to the good food, we loved the philosophy of the place. Enjoy!

Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Owner at Otto's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Thank you so much for your review! We appreciate your support as well as your suggestion to call ahead, as that is the best way to be seated as quickly as possible. We hope to see you again very soon!
We wish you enough!
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Otto's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing