We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The USA went off the gold standard....this place didn't !”
Review of Goldmoor Dining

Goldmoor Dining
Reserve with OpenTable
Goldmoor Dining is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 66 Restaurants in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$28
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Black Jack Road
Description: Unmatched Old World decor, a diverse wine cellar, and premier personal service are all complemented by our chef"s creative cuisine. Enjoy dining in one of our cozy booths or elegant tables with breathtaking views overlooking the Mississippi River.
Reviewed 23 October 2017

We were downtown at Jamie's wine bar and she mentioned this is where we should eat. We were thinking we would just walk downtown for supper, but thought what the heck and decided to make a rez and drive to dinner. We were greeted by the owner, promptly seated and greeted by the waitress. Then the food started coming out...soup, salad and bread with honey butter all of which had that extra bit of flavor and presentation that you rarely encounter. The filet and double pork chop we shared were 5 star but my favorite was the mashed potatoes and bernaise type sauce. When sharing my feelings about the great dinner and exceptional potatoes with the owner, he explained that anything can be made exceptional if you only take the time and are wise with your use of seasoning/spices/herbs. He (and she) love their work in the hospitality business and it shows. We left with a promise to each other, to return to work and project that same love in our line work to our staff and our clients. Just dinner for some, bur a lesson in how to live life for us. Thanks, D-

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Dennis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birgit R, Owner at Goldmoor Dining, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Dear Dennis, thank you for sharing your Goldmoor experience, comments like yours reinforce our believes and passion and we are delighted that you came to visit. We hope you will return for another wonderful meal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (406)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 406 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2017

My husband enjoyed the Beef Wellington. I believe it is their signature dish. I enjoyed my seafood. Service is top notch.

Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birgit R, Owner at Goldmoor Dining, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Dear Jessica, thank you for your complimentary comments. We will share your feed back with Chef Paul and our service staff.We look forward to having you as our guests again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

We sat in the kitchen to watch the chef. Fun and interesting experience. Beef wellington and halibut were excellent. Vegetable sides and desserts amazing too.

Thank marilyn w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birgit R, Owner at Goldmoor Dining, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Dear Marilyn, thank you for sharing your dining experience at the Goldmoor. The Chef's table is special and allows to see behind the scene and the culinary activities. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

We had dinner at the Goldmoor based on a friends recommendation and it wasn’t as good as we were expecting. First let me say the food was good, not great but not the best we’ve had in the Galena area. The building and grounds are lovely. That’s about it as far as positives. Let’s start with the service. Our service was lacking, there was a wedding reception and Goldmoor appears to not be able to handle a large group and individual dining parties at the same time. The candle at our booth was never lit (although we noticed the candle at the boot next to us was) and during the three hours we were at our booth our water glasses were never refilled despite the fact that a waitress (not ours) walked by with a full pitcher. Wine selection was ok, 40+ dollars for a $12 dollar bottle of wine, you be the judge. Perhaps the least favorite part of our meal was the seating. The booths are in a hallway with glass windows. We thought the view was lovely until a couple was seated in the booth next to us. The short sides to the booths and the acoustic reflections from the glass made us privy to all of their most private conversations. Not the worst dining experience we’ve ever had but nowhere near what we were expecting.

Thank CaribKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birgit R, Owner at Goldmoor Dining, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Dear CaribKat, thank you for your feed back. I am so sorry for the lack of service you received during your dinner at the Goldmoor and the disturbance of your neighbor booth.
We pride ourselves in paying attention to details and attentive service is certainly one of them. Obviously we failed during your dining experience. We hope you will give us another opportunity to show that lack of service is not the norm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Amazing and I can't wait to come back to enjoy again! Wonderful presentation and delightful to the taste! Don't miss these two offerings if on the menu when you dine!

Thank FallingforFall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birgit R, Owner at Goldmoor Dining, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear Fallingforfall, thank you very much for your complimentary review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the Beef Wellington and our breakfast offerings. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Goldmoor Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing