We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (281)
Filter reviews
281 results
Traveller rating
67
101
54
28
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
67
101
54
28
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewszip linealpine slideski liftmississippi riversoaring eaglesegway tourolder reviewssummer activitiesbreakfast buffetfall colorsbeds were comfortablebeautiful areaoff the beaten pathpool and hot tublong weekendgirls weekendgreat weekend
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 281 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We had a family reunion here last summer and the facility is great for this purpose. With a casual restaurant and a fine dining restaurant on-site, we were all able to stay in hotel rooms and gather in the restaurants and meeting rooms to visit and catch up. The hotel rooms were updated a few years ago, and are nice. However, the bathrooms were not updated, or were updated minimally, and still feel very dated and small.

Stayed: July 2017
1  Thank BeachWeddingGirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

Our son's wedding reception was held here and we were very happy with not only the venue for the reception but our accommodations were nice and comfortable. The staff worked with us to make sure that the wedding ceremony was set up to our expectations and the reception was well done from the set up and food served to the final cleanup.

Stayed: November 2017
Thank dbausman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2018

Galena is very pretty in the Fall. It had been a long time since we were up that way, so we spent a long weekend for our anniversary in a town perfect for a couple's getaway. We stayed at Chestnut Mountain Resort, the rates are very reasonable and the surroundings there are very scenic and lovely. It is very busy during the winter ski season then the rates are higher, but we enjoyed the Fall colors surrounding you everywhere. This resort has been there a long time with repeat customers traditionally coming back at different times of the year. It is not a ultra modern chilly type place, but traditional decor in the way of a swiss type lodge is how I would best describe it. The staff were very nice and friendly and our room was clean, cozy etc. When you are in Galena, there is a lot of history there, and the town is a shoppers paradise with a lot of variety shops and nice places to eat. Check out a couple of my reviews for two of the town favorites we enjoyed that weekend. The one thing that we wish was different about Chestnut Mountain Resort is that it is not real close to the walkable town. It is a lovely scenic ride back and forth, but as long as know that, you can decide then.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sandra n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018

Three hour drive from Burlington, Iowa after a snowstorm and the skiing was great! Stayed over on a Monday night for less than a hundred bucks. Warmed up in the hot tub and had ten dollar sandwiches for dinner. Great view from high above the river.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank mark m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018

We recently spent 1 night at Chestnut. Check in was a breeze -very fast and efficient. Our room was recently remodeled, beds very comfortable. I would say the only issue with the room was the heater/air conditioning unit. It either blasted you with heat or froze you out. One other thing it took about 10 minutes to get warm water for a shower.

So let’s move on to the Summit Sports Bar. Beer was cold and mixed drinks were tasty. The food on the other hand was just ok. Breaded tenderloin was burnt beyond recognition. I can’t believe they didn’t see that before the plate was brought to our table. The cheese burger was done perfectly. Bar Service was a little slow as well as the wait for the main entrees. Breakfast the next morning was good, but again the service was a little slow. Did not ski, but looked like the instructors were kept very busy giving lessons and pointers to everyone. Especially the little ones—-they were having a great time. Busy enough to keep everyone entertained just watching. We would stay there again, but would find somewhere else to eat.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view. The other view is the parking lot.
Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews