We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Annie Wiggins Guest House(Galena)(Great Value!)
US$223
US$201
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$260
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$438
US$398
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$383
US$366
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$278
US$265
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pine Hollow Inn(Galena)(Great Value!)
US$183
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
LeFevre Inn & Resort(Galena)(Great Value!)
US$369
US$354
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queen Anne Guest House(Galena)(Great Value!)
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel(Galena)(Great Value!)
US$204
The Irish Cottage
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,197)
Filter reviews
2,197 results
Traveller rating
1,097
590
303
139
68
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,097
590
303
139
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main lodgewoodlands restaurantgreat golfbedroom villagolf courses aregolf tripplay golfget awaygeneral storebeautiful scenerybeautiful areabreakfast buffetin great shapewalking trailsrolling hillsfrom chicagohot tub
Filter
Updating list...
1,980 - 1,985 of 2,197 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2012

My husband and I stayed at Eagle Ridge for a mini-baby moon and absolutely loved it! The timing was perfect, since the colors of the trees just started turning those beautiful autumn colors and the weather was still mild. Although it was pretty soggy on Saturday and Sunday, we were able to walk through some of the hiking paths around the resort before the rain clouds came in. Eagle Ridge was really great -- from the staff, to the well kept grounds, food, spa. Everyone was extremely accommodating!

We drove in from Chicago, which was a pretty easy drive (2.5-3hours) which is really nice since I'm 7.5 months pregnant and anything longer would be painful.

Eagle Ridge is by far the nicest hotels/resorts in the area. And we'd highly recommend it. The only advice I'd have for travelers is that if you were interested in doing the hot air balloon rides, make sure you call at least 3 weeks in advance. Also, their golf courses looked great -- but we didn't go golfing at all.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarieTess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Just driving to this resort is a treat - beautiful views, walking trails and manicured golf course. Once you are there, you are there! Friendly staff, cozy atmosphere and very welcoming rooms, or "units" as they call them.
Everything in the room is top-notch - flatscreen TV, nice soaps, fluffy towels - but the thing I always fall for in a hotel room - the pillows! If they are big and fluffy and more than two, I am hooked on the place! Eagle Ridge provided 4 big pillows and a bolster on a king size bed. I will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christine102262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ikhlas A, General Manager at Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2012

Thank you for your kind review on TripAdvisor about your recent trip to Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa. Our entire staff is always pleased when our guests' expectations have been met. Every season, there is a new reason to visit Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa; from our championship golf, to our award-winning spa and the ever-changing scenic beauty of Northwest Illinois. We look forward to your return. Please feel free to contact our staff if we can be of assistance in helping you discover more about Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa during your next visit.

Ikhlas Ahmed
General Manager
815-776-5060

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

My wife and I chose Eagle Ridge for a relaxing couple of days away from home, mainly just to "chill out" and relax. For that it was a good choice. We spent two days and the view from our room with the fall colors at their early "peak" was wonderful. The front desk was very helpful and courteous, and the spa (we had a couples massage) was incredible.

However, we often judge our vacations by the feeling of "I don't want to leave" and for this trip, that did not happen. Our room size was large (Courtyard King in the main property), although it had a ton of wasted space and then a bathroom that was smaller than a cruise ship (It was very difficult to close the door to the bathroom standing in front of the toliet). The decor seemed dated, although I heard the property was actually remodeled a couple of years ago. The TV did not function well, and stations were somewhat limited. Housekeeping was a little limited and did not appear to do a very good job (we found a couple of hairs on the wall of the shower for example). Bed was comfortable and warm on the night of the first freeze of the year.

As for the food, we ate breakfast at the Woodlands Restaurant both of the mornings that we were there and it was good. We had the breakfast buffet both mornings and it had a variety and was reasonably priced. We also ate at the Woodlands for dinner on Friday night and it was tasty as well. Steak was prepared nicely and my wife's salmon was good as well. The chef's fresh basil salad dressing was impressive. Service was a bit shaky in the morning, but for dinner it was prompt.

Overall, it was a nice trip, although I believe the room was a bit overpriced for what we got. We will likely look at trying other options before coming back as there was nothing to "wow" us into an immediate return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We held our sales meeting at Eagle Ridge Resort and Spa the first of September. I have to compliment the facility and the staff for making our stay there AWESOME. We used the conference facilities, used the food service and stayed on the property (guest houses and the Inn) and no matter what request we made, Eagle Ridge staff was gracious and friendly (plus, they provided us the solution). Everyone from the bell men to the general manager was helpful when directions and transportation were needed. The property itself is worth the visit - the golf courses are challenging and gorgeous and we felt it was the perfect place to have our company sales meeting.

Room Tip: One of our attendees said the houses were very quiet at night.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSeagleridge, Director of Sales at Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

We would like to take this opportunity to introduce you to the Bricton Hotel Group and Brickstone Management. We have taken over management of Eagle Ridge Resort and Spa as of June of 2013.

Brickstone is a joint partnership between the Bricton Hotel Group and Touchstone Golf. Both companies have built great reputations in managing golf courses and resorts national. We are extremely excited we have this opportunity to rebuild Eagle Ridge Resort and Spa’s reputation as the premier destination to a play, meet and relax in the Midwest.

If you like what Eagle Ridge has done in the past then you will love what we have done this year and our plans for the future. As of August 2014, we are completing the first phase of a multi-phase property improvement plan. We spent the first year working on improving all 63 holes of our golf courses back into pristine condition. Based on the reviews in the past year we have met and exceeded everyone’s expectations. Playing time is back to the 4 to 4 ½ hours on all our courses. "Eagle Ridge has done a masterful job at restoring the original 'playability' of all the resort's courses. Sight lines have been improved, and grass and scrub areas have been cut back to reduce the penalty on shots that go awry. These renovations are most apparent on The General, widely regarded as one of the top courses in Illinois. Spectacular vistas are combined with generous landing areas and forgiving greens, making The General one of the top resort courses in the nation." Dr. Kiel Christianson, Senior Writer & Equipment Editor, Golfnow.com - The Golf Channel.
The main entrance and the Inn lobby have been completely renovated as well as all of our meeting and banquet space. To top it all off, we have just been accredited as an IACC Conference Center. We have many more plans to continue to improve the property in it physical appearance as well as our guest service and amenities.

Please Like Us On Facebook! We update Facebook on a daily basis with news, new activities and specials that you can take advantage of and of course contests that are a lot of fun to participate in. Also when you get a change take a look at the Eagle Ridge site as well!

Thank you for staying with us and we hope you will come back soon!

Colin Sanderson
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Was very pleased to see such comfort, decor & appreciate the fall foliage from balcony! Room service prompt, friendly, accommodating:-) Thank you. Sorry to say was little let down that when complimentary robes were presented were just draped over arm & not presented to us folded neatly. Second & the Pits was that a shower should be Enjoyed. :-) It was torture! Water temp was Not consistent! Went from comfort, to cool...then suddenly felt a burning Hot water! The worst shower ever to experience! Was afraid of it after 2 uses! My allergies were put into high mode in room. Shampooing could be done. When I had to lean over to be close to floor,...Man! COPD kicked in too. Drapes on door to balcony need to be dry cleaned as much debris on it. Balcony boards & rails with mold. Outside can Easily see that heat-cooling unit needs much cleaning for health reasons. Detailing can be costly, but presentation is everything. Thank you for my fall beauty in such a wonderful atmosphere:-)

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ikhlas A, General Manager at Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa. We are saddened to learn that you suffer from COPD. We understand that this is a debilitating disease can wreak havoc on the getaway plans of those suffering with COPD. We will certainly review your concerns about the temperature fluctuation you experienced during your showers and the housekeeping issues you mentioned. At Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa we strive to provide an unmatched getaway experience for all of our guests and take immediate action when a guest alerts us of a problem. We are delighted that you chose to visit us and happy that you were able to witness nature's colorful display that occurs each autumn in our place atop Northwest Illinois.

Ikhlas Ahmed
General Manager
815-776-5060

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews