We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,322)
Filter reviews
1,322 results
Traveller rating
469
456
226
97
74
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
469
456
226
97
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviews northwestern university purple line valet parking small bathroom nice hotel lake michigan older hotel whole foods walking distance location is great few blocks historic hotel fitness center downtown chicago nu kellogg wedding
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 1,322 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2018

Superb, central location with walking access to Northwestern and lots of restaurants. However the hotel is quite old and the rooms reflect their age. Room on the street are noisy as well as the air conditioner that comes on and off throughout the night.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank lisaaV7663NX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_Orrington, General Manager at Hilton Orrington/Evanston, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2018

Greetings from the Hilton Orrington. Thank you for taking the time to share comments about your most recent stay with us. We greatly appreciate those individuals that share not only the good aspects of your stay, but also those areas in which we did not meet their expectations. We hope that you will continue to use the Hilton Brands wherever your travels may take you. Again, thank you for both your business and sharing your experience and have a great week.


Warm Regards,

Glenn Spanier
General Manager
Hilton Orrington-Evanston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018

First time at a Hilton, first time traveling with a CPAP - needed distilled water. Nicole at the front desk insisted on going to get it for me and bringing it to the room. Great service. I also needed a quite place to sleep. She found the best place on the floor. Dead silence. I never heard a sound all week and slept better than expected.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank melissah19682018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_Orrington, General Manager at Hilton Orrington/Evanston, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Thank you for sharing such wonderful comments about your most recent stay with us. Many times we only hear the negative aspects of ones say so your posting was refreshing. We hope to see you again if your travels bring you back to the Evanston area. Again, thank you for the wonderful review and have a great week.

Warm Regards,

Glenn Spanier
General Manager
Hilton Orrington-Evanston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

I’m not sure if we had bad luck or bad timing or what but this definitely NOT what I consider to be a 4 Star hotel. While checking in they tried to charge me for the “free valet parking” that was advertised online when I made the reservation. The manager “comp’d” the parking for us. Should have been hint #1....The hallway and room carpets were so gross and dirty I refused to walk barefoot even in the room. Upon entering our room I checked the sheets on the bed and they were clearly filthy and had not been changed. I immediately called and asked housekeeping for a clean set of sheets and changed the bed myself. We should have just left then but we’re too exhausted from the 10 hour drive we had just completed.
The bathroom was not very clean either. The room was very dated and smelled horrible. We definitely won’t be returning. We originally made a reservation for 3 nights. We left the next morning!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Mike-n-Terra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_Orrington, General Manager at Hilton Orrington/Evanston, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share comments about your most recent stay with us. We are truly sorry that we did not meet your expectations in such areas as your checking in process and housekeeping service. It is from individuals such as you who share their experience that enable us to correct our shortfalls for future guests. In order for me to address your concerns it would be helpful if we had the dates of your stay, and the room number so that I can reach on our end who with-in housekeeping cleaned that room and also who inspected it. We hope you continue to use the Hilton Brands wherever your travels may take you. Again, thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience and have a great week.

Warm Regards

Glenn Spanier
General Manager
Hilton Orrington-Evanston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2018

This hotel is ideally located for trips to Northwestern University in Evanston, Illinois. It has become our go-to accommodation for campus visits while our son is an NU student, and for alumni events.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank aswalker2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_Orrington, General Manager at Hilton Orrington/Evanston, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2018

Thank you for the wonderful review and for sharing your experience with other TripAdvisor readers. Many times we only hear the negative aspects of ones stay so your posting was refreshing. We look forward to welcoming you back each time you come to visit your son. Again, thank you for both your business and sharing your experience and have a great weekend.

Warm Regards

Glenn Spanier
General Manager
Hilton Orrington-Evanston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2018

We arrived early and left after the forum. We visited the Chicago botanical gardens and a needle point shop and a bakery called "Three Tarts Bakery. A very tasty midday brownie and a blueberry muffin with a soda. Bahai Temple was a must see spot.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Explorer666453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_Orrington, General Manager at Hilton Orrington/Evanston, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2018

Greetings from the Hilton Orrington. Thank you for taking the time to rate our property as a "5" we are truly honored, and also for the wonderful comments about your stay. Many times we only hear the negative aspects of ones stay so your posting was refreshing. We hope to see you again if your travels bring you back to the Evanston area. Again thank you for both staying with us and sharing such a wonderful posting about your stay. Enjoy the balance of the week.

Warm Regards,

Glenn Spanier
General Manager
Hilton Orrington-Evanston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews