We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great quality for price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Ranked #49 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Israel
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great quality for price”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

The hotel has free internet, free breakfast, free welcome home dinner Monday-Thursday.
It is very clean, comfortable and in a great location.

I would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_traveling_cookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words regarding the Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown. I am happy that you were able to enjoy our complimentary breakfasts, dinner, and internet.

I also want to thank you for the wonderful referral. We are always pleased when we are able to make a positive impact on our guests.

Sincerely,

Vanessa Kosloski
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,535
    779
    233
    61
    43
See reviews for
1,101
556
127
559
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

I stayed for 1 night during the week recently and was amazed by the genuine friendliness of each person I encountered (valets, front desk, food service staff, guest experience manager). It seemed like one of those places where people like going to work, and it definitely made my experience pleasurable. Not only was dinner included in the cost of the meal, but it was delicious & well-made, the salad was fresh, and there were complimentary beverages such as beer and house wine. I think I also lucked out because there happened to be a free champagne tasting from Laurent-Perrier during my stay. My suite was bigger than the usual hotel room, and very clean/tidy. I checked out the pool at night and the view was pretty amazing.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone coming to Chicago! The price for 1 night was very affordable.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Thank you so much for your compliments regarding the Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown. It means so much when our guests compliment our customer service. I am so pleased that your experience with all of our staff was pleasurable.

We are happy that you were able to attend one of our special events that we have been planning through the past several months. The Laurent – Perrier tasting was just one of these special events that we will be rolling out in the next few months for our guests. We are always looking for recommendations so please let us know if there is anything you would like to see.

We hope to see you at the Homewood Suites again.

Sincerely,

Vanessa Kosloski
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Overall, I enjoyed my two night stay at the Homewood Suites by Hilton in Downtown Chicago, but have a few concerns. I was in town with a bus load of University of Louisville fans to support our basketball team during the game with DePaul University. There were not enough suites available with two double beds at the hotel to accommodate our group. So, I had to share a king-sized bed with my roommate. We were really disappointed that we couldn't have our own bed. So, we each rotated sleepng in the bed one night and then sleeping on the sofa bed in the living room. However, the sofa bed was absoultely horrible!!! The mattress was very thin and the inner springs poked through the surface of the mattress. This made sleeping very uncomfortable. Also, the top portion of the mattress where your head goes was higher than the rest of the mattress. I felt like I was sleeping on a slant. The mattress was so uncomfortable until I closed the sofa bed and replaced the cushions. Then I tried putting the cover on top and sleepng on top of the sofa, However, I am 5'11" tall and the sofa was more like a loveseat size. So, I could not stretch out completely. I got very little sleep and awoke stiff and sore. My back and neck hurt. It was also awkward having to go through the bedroom to use the toilet and shower in the bathroom or to get clothes from the closet without disturbing my roommate while she slept in the bed. The layout of the suite was not well-thoughout as far as utilization of the bathroom and closet.

On the plus side of the suite, the kitchen was wonderful! We liked having a fully equipped kitchen with appliances and dishes. We also enjoyed the breakfast!

Shirley Fuqua-Jackson, Room 1203

Room Tip: Corner suites are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SHIRLEY F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Shirley,

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel. I wanted to address your concern about not receiving a room with two double beds. When looking back at the original rooming list that we have from your group leader we do not have you and your roommate in a room with two double beds. The room type that your group leader had assigned to your room was a King Suite with the sleeper sofa. The hotel des have a very limited number of double/double rooms on property so we were unable to change room types if we do not have the availability. I do want to express regret over this misunderstanding.

I do apologize for the uncomfortable evening that you spent on our sleeper sofa. We are in the process of replacing all of our bed inserts and we do hope that nobody will be as inconvenienced as you in the future. We do have a limited number of complimentary roll-away beds available if you find the sleeper sofa too uncomfortable in the future.
We are pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast and the full stocked kitchen. We do hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

Vanessa Kosloski
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

2 colleagues and I recently stayed at this Homewood Suites for a conference we attended in Chicago. The hotel was a bit dated but it was clean and the service was excellent. The continental breakfast and evening buffets left a bit to be desired but... it's free food and I am a bit of a food snob. That being said, if you are looking for a good location at a good price, I would recommend this property. It's within walking distance to several excellent restaurants as well.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank es252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Thank you so much for the recommendation of our property. We make the best possible effort to make sure that our customer’s receive the wonderful customer service. Please let us know if there is anything in particular that you would like to see at on our breakfast or evening reception.

Sincerely,

Vanessa Kosloski
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2012

This past weekend I booked 22 rooms at the Homewood Suites in downtown Chicago. We visited Chicago for the University of Louisville vs DePaul Basketball game. My group was very happy and satisfied with the accomodations. They have all encouraged me to continue to stay here on future trips. The staff, rooms, breakfast, location could not have been better. Our sales manager Melah Miller was there to meet the motor coach when it arrived and did whatever was necessary to ensure that all went well for my group. THANKS!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flem1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Thank you for kind words about the Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown. We were so happy to see all of the fans for the Louisville – DePaul game this past weekend. It was truly a pleasure to work with your groups and we hope that you enjoyed the game.

Thank you for your wonderful words about Melah. She is an asset to our team and I am happy to hear that Melah and the rest of the team did a wonderful job with your group. We look forward to seeing you in 2014 if not before the next game.

Sincerely,

Vanessa Kosloski
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Address: 40 East Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3506
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#53 Family Hotel in Chicago
#68 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your downtown Chicago experience begins here, welcome to the Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown. Our location places you within walking distance to the Magnificent Mile, world-class restaurants and the infamous Chicago attractions. Where service is nothing short of extraordinary, the Homewood Suites family will welcome your every request. All of our guests will enjoy the following amenities,•Spacious, Newly Renovated two-room King suite with separate living, sleeping areas and fully equipped kitchens •Complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet •Complimentary Monday through Thursday Dinner Reception, meal with beer, wine and soda •Complimentary high-speed Wireless Internet access throughout the Hotel •Complimentary executive business center with high-speed Internet access •Complimentary cardio-fitness and indoor pool •Complimentary grocery shopping service •Complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate or cider all day long in the lobby •24 hour convenience shop •Hilton Honors Points -receive BOTH airline miles and hotel points for every stay with us. Check us out online for discounts and packages! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown
Homewood Chicago
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton
Chicago Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing