We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Home Base In Windy City!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Ranked #51 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Home Base In Windy City!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Booked a room here recently for 9 days -- attending a conference in Chicago and wanted the freedom of a kitchen, easy access to public transportation and a safe home base. The Homewood Suites is a great value (booked online with extra discount for paying full balance in advance of arrival) and worked out well for the trip.

Great location, convenient to Red Line, taxis, Jewel/Trader Joe's for groceries (full kitchen allows one to avoid eating EVERY meal out!) and great sites/shopping within easy walk.

Wanted to try out fitness center but ended up walking all over the City! Business center printer had issues but front office staff helped to make sure I was able to print out materials I needed for a seminar. Wi-fi worked reliably -- basic cable options available with two televisions in the room (one more than I have at home!).

Great choice! Would stay again when the need arises.

Room Tip: I recommend a higher floor away from the elevators -- ask for NE or SE corners for great views of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chit0wnTransplant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
I am happy that you enjoyed your time at the Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown. The hotel appreciates your comments on our location and accessibility to both public transportation and shopping.

I do want to thank you for the kind comments regarding the front desk and their willingness to help you print off materials.

We hope to see you when you visit Chicago again.

Sincerely,
Vanessa Kosloski
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,397
    709
    220
    59
    39
See reviews for
1,000
510
117
512
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We found the Homewood Suites in Chicago recommended in Tripadvisor, while we planned our 2 week trip to Chicago. As we traveled as a family with two children, we wanted to stay in an apartment, with breakfast. Another criteria was a central as possible location, because we did not want to rent a car. Our choice was therefore the Homewood Suites. Overall, we were satisfied and recommend the Homewood Suites.
Service:
Prompt and helpful service!. If we asked for something, it would be provided in minutes. Housekeeping very honest. Breakfast varied and perfectly adequate for us. Dinner Monday through Thursday with included drinks was also ok.

Price-performance ratio
Purposeful three star hotel. Pool and fitness room on the top (19th) floor with great views.
Sleep quality
King-size bed in the bedroom was very good. The sofa bed was rather uncomfortable, but my children still slept well.
cleanliness
Overall very clean. Daily housekeeping of the room. Furniture dark. In our point of view the Hotel should be modernized.
location
Ingenious. Absolutely centrally located, only 50 minutes from the Magnificent Mile, right in life. And only about 10 minutes to trump tower.
room
Large living / kitchen area with sofa bed, bedroom with king-size bed and large bathroom. Dark wood and rather gloomy atmosphere (wallpaper greenish / brown / gray). Classic design.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael Mr W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Michael,

I am so happy that you and your family enjoyed your trip to Chicago and the Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown. We are happy that the suites were large enough for your family and that your children were able to enjoy a good night sleep.

I am pleased that you were able to write a review on our pool area. The hotel recently refinished the pool and I feel that it is the best view in the hotel. We do feel like the location of the Homewood Suites Chicago is wonderful and I hope you and your family enjoyed exploring the Magnificent Mile, River North, and Navy Pier.

We hope to see you again if you return to Chicago.

Sincerely,
Vanessa Kosloski
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

I thought it was a decent place to stay but I probably should have looked a little harder...Breakfast is average, I would suggest going out to eat...Happy hour is a nice treat for the beer....The location is pretty good, everything is walking distance for a tourist and there are a few decent bars within walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Colin,

Thank you for your review regarding our breakfast and dinner. I am sorry that you felt we were lacking in regards to these menus. If there is something particular that you would have liked to see at either meal please feel free to contact me at vkosloski@fhginc.com.

I do want to thank you for complimenting our accessibility and location within the city. We are within walking distance of 200 restaurants and drinking establishments.

We hope that you enjoyed your time in Chicago.

Sincerely,
Vanessa Kosloski
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
219 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

I have stayed here several times before and I keep staying here every time I am back in the area. The staff here is always great. The door man are always there to greet you, open the doors and flag you a cab. The font desk is very helpful and accommodating. The breakfasts and dinners are still free and pretty good with a good variety of items. The servers are always pleasant and helpful.
The location is perfect. Short walk to pretty much anywhere in the area. Lots of food nearby and pretty easy to catch a cab outside the hotel as well.
Most of the rooms are very spacious and laid out well, but there are some rooms that are very cramped. The rooms are decent...nothing real fancy or elaborate. Most rooms show signs of wear and tear but are still in good condition. Hopefully there will be some upgrades or minor maintenance done to the rooms. The beds are comfy, air conditioner and heater work great, the TV's are nice HD LCD flat panels with HDMI ports to connect your laptop, windows open up for fresh air, showers always work great, and the kitchen is always nice and convenient. The internet is OK. Sometimes it is really fast and other times is best not to even bother. Sometimes this is based on the time of day and amount of traffic.
The only complaint would be the laundry room which is located on the 7th floor also the smoking floor. It smells horrible on the floor and it is a shame you have to walk through the smoking floor to get to the laundry room. There are two washers and two dryers. The washers seem to leave the clothes pretty wet when done with their cycles. The dryers are OK but it usually takes two cycles to completely dry the clothes.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinJLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
We want to first thank you for your continued loyalty. We truly appreciate our guests and welcome back those that come back time after time. Your compliments regarding our customer service at the Homewood Suites Chicago are very much appreciated. We pride ourselves on always being helpful and attempting to anticipate your needs.

We do understand your frustration in regards to our internet. We have contracted to update our internet within the next few months and you should be able to see a huge difference in the speed of our complimentary wireless internet in both our suites and public areas.

I do want to apologize for having the smoking floor with the laundry room. We do not have many requests for smoking rooms and have the laundry rooms available on that floor so that we have more rooms on our non-smoking floor. I do want to let you know that we do have laundry and dry cleaning services available as well.

We hope to see you are the Homewood Suites Chicago again! Please let me know if there is anything I can do for you in the future.

Sincerely,

Vanessa Kosloski
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goodyear, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

I would like to comment Connie Wilson for her hard work and positive attitude during breakfast at the Chicago Downtown Homewood Suites.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
David,

Thank you so much for your kinds words about Connie. It is always a joy to hear about the wonderful compliments that our staff at the Homewood Suites Chicago receives. We will be sure to pass along your accolades to Connie.

Sincerely,

Vanessa Kosloski
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Address: 40 East Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3506
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#53 Family Hotel in Chicago
#68 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your downtown Chicago experience begins here, welcome to the Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown. Our location places you within walking distance to the Magnificent Mile, world-class restaurants and the infamous Chicago attractions. Where service is nothing short of extraordinary, the Homewood Suites family will welcome your every request. All of our guests will enjoy the following amenities,•Spacious, Newly Renovated two-room King suite with separate living, sleeping areas and fully equipped kitchens •Complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet •Complimentary Monday through Thursday Dinner Reception, meal with beer, wine and soda •Complimentary high-speed Wireless Internet access throughout the Hotel •Complimentary executive business center with high-speed Internet access •Complimentary cardio-fitness and indoor pool •Complimentary grocery shopping service •Complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate or cider all day long in the lobby •24 hour convenience shop •Hilton Honors Points –receive BOTH airline miles and hotel points for every stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown
Homewood Chicago
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Homewood Suites
Chicago Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing