We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great w/e spot”
Review of The Drake Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Drake Hotel
Ranked #81 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Naperville, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great w/e spot”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

As we were attending a dinner dance at the hotel, we decided to bite the bullet and spend the w/e, even though we live less than 30 miles away. The hotel has a definite charm and personality. We didn't splurge on a fancy room overlooking lakeshore but the room was nice. Not the size, you'll get in Vegas, but, hey, this is Chicago.
The meal for the dinner dance was probably THE best we have had at an event like this. It is really difficult to cook filet nicely for 300+ people, but these guys do it. We went crazy the following day and had "Afternoon Tea." It isn't cheap, but as a once every so often treat, it is really enjoyable and to my surprise quite filling. There is a reason why so many good hotels are in this part of the city. The location is fabulous. Being able to walk on the lake shore at this time of year was a joy and made us feel as if we were a thousand miles from home.
I hear the kids calling! Back to reality! For a w/e away, the hotel, food and location take beating.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishmanSpeaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMenkes, General Manager at The Drake Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear Trip Advisor,

Thank you for the review regarding your recent weekend stay with us. I am so glad you were able to have the opportunity to attend an event here, and yes, our banquet and culinary staff are top notch. We take great pride in our catering and events team as well. To have made the decision to stay with us for the weekend when you live so close I'm sure was a tough one and we're extremely happy you made it. I am delighted we were able to make the experience memorable, and hope we can welcome you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,960
    1,107
    449
    239
    122
See reviews for
739
1,268
174
1,111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (838)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

One of the primo hotels in Chicago $$$$, but if you do priceline, bid even lower than we did @ $79 a night, you might get it. And if you check what it costs regulary to stay there, you'd better be sitting down. It's close to EVERYTHING, meaning that you can walk wherever. So, who pays retail anymore, even for a luxury hotel!?

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankSUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMenkes, General Manager at The Drake Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear Trip Advisor,

Thank you for your review and kind remarks regarding our reputation. We are glad you were able to find such a value. Keep an eye on our website for some great promotions. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The Drake in Chicago is in a great location, very clean, and only a short walk to many fine restaurants and shopping. The hotel is classic and beautiful, with large rooms. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The only con is the lack of wireless access in the rooms and having to pay $12.95 for 24 hours of wired access. The last several hotels I stayed in NYC offered free wireless access in the rooms. Overall our trip was a pleasure.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cavertoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMenkes, General Manager at The Drake Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear Trip Advisor,

Thank you for submitting a review regarding your recent stay at The Drake. Our location is just something we could not be more happy about, as it is one of the greatest areas in Chicago, at the top of the Magnificent Mile. We hope you were able to dine at some of those fine restaurants! There are so many to choose from. Wireless internet access in our guestrooms is an advancement we are looking to make within the next few months. It is currently available in all of our public space. Thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This was our first time in Chicago & the Drake is the best way to experience it.
We were celebrating our engagement so the Hotel very kindly ungraded us from our deluxe exec room to a suite, which was sweet!
The history of the hotel is just great with some very notable people whom have stayed / dined there, Marilyn Monroe, Princess Diana, Vince Vaughan, woody Allen are just a few that have enjoyed the Drake.
Breakfast in the Drake Bros restaurant overlooking the lake was a great way to start your day.
We found that you can walk everywhere from the hotel & really take in the sights & shops, & after a day of walking we enjoyed the cocktails & steaks the hotel's restaurants had to offer.
The only downside was we had to call front desk to have our slippers & robes bought to the room as housekeeping had forgotten them & no real spa, in the way of steam room. But all in all just magnificent. We were very happy & look forward to our next trip to Chicago & stay at the Drake
Spoil yourselves & check into this place

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the back as they look out to the lake, if you are celebrating something tell them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMenkes, General Manager at The Drake Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear Trip Advisor,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Drake and we hope you loved the city of Chicago as much as you enjoyed your stay with us. I am happy to hear we were able to accomodate your special occasion and that you were able to experience some of our restaurants. We do apologize for the oversight of the robe and slippers, and I'll be sure to address this with our Executive Level staff. Thank you again for your review, and we would be delighted to welcome you back when you visit Chicago next.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

This grand old hotel is in the perfect Water Tower Michigan Ave location with spectacular views of the Gold Coast, Lake Michigan and Oak Street Beach. The Drake takes you back to the opulence of the 1920s. We had a lot of fun watching what we assumed to be octagenerian neighborhood regulars dancing to a live jazz band in the Palm Court. Like the Drake they were old and a little worn but they still got it baby. I hear the rooms can be hit or miss. Ours was great - a 6th floor Jr. King Suite. It was very spacious with the best views. It was a little drafty, a little noisy and a little tired but that was easy to overlook given the location, charm, spacious room and the price. The old girl's been around the block a few times but still worth asking to the dance.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TinleyKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMenkes, General Manager at The Drake Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear Trip Advisor,
Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We take pride in the character of the hotel and the character of our guests, and I'm glad you were able to witness our weekend activity in Palm Court. It is a great atmosphere in there during entertainment hours, and of course afternoon tea time. There is so much history associated with this hotel. I love to see our guests gravitate to, and appreciate all that that means. We hope to welcome you back soon, and maybe next time you can take to the dance floor yourself!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#12 of 190 in Chicago
2,823 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#98 of 190 in Chicago
8,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Drake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Drake Hotel

Property: The Drake Hotel
Address: 140 E. Walton Place, Magnificent Mile, Chicago, IL 60611-1501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#39 Family Hotel in Chicago
#49 Business Hotel in Chicago
#51 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — The Drake Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other Chicago hotel has inspired more legendary acclaim on par with The Drake. This timeless property affords guests easy access to the city's most exclusive shopping, nightlife and dining.A fully equipped fitness/wellness center, business center and meeting rooms are available (surcharge). The stunning Gold Coast Room can accommodate 600 guests.Afternoon Tea at The Drake Hotel is as Chicago as a hot dog at Wrigley Field or a ride on the Ferris Wheel at Navy Pier. High society has always recognized The Drake Hotel as the quintessential social hotspot. Princess Diana, Queen Elizabeth and the Empress of Japan have all been seen in the Palm Court.Though The Drake has progressed both architecturally and technologically over the past 93 years, the roots of The Drake Hotel run deep beneath Lake Shore Drive into Real Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Drake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Drake Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotels Chicago
Chicago Drake Hotel
Drake Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing