We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Location, Location, Location... and Price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Ranked #154 of 186 Hotels in Chicago
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location... and Price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

I hesitate writing this review because if this place becomes popular, I'll loose the only sub $100/night hotel on the Magnificent Mile. Do not expect luxary... it is the equivalent of a decent motel outside the city. We only used the room for sleep and found it clean and comfortable.

Pros: LOCATION, flat screen TV, free WiFi, clean room, friendly service, PRICE
Cons: parking can add a hefty amount per day (but hey, it's center Chicago)

Room Tip: The higher up the better due to possible street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank candebat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRIChicago, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your secret hotel in the city. We do offer a great value, great service, and our location cannot be beat. We are an economy hotel and our rates are well under our competitors. Our newly refreshed rooms are clean and comfortable. I am very glad you enjoyed your stay.

We not only offer free WiFi, but it is a secure connection unlike many other downtown hotels. We understand the importance of protecting our guests' privacy and personal information while online.

We look forward to your return and the opportunity to serve you again.

Heidi Cordes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    292
    282
    206
    238
See reviews for
233
247
121
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Best localization for the price. The hotel is a little old and there is only two elevators for whole hotel. I usually wait too long to go downstairs.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRIChicago, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
I appreciate you taking your valuable time to post a review about your stay with us. The hotel was built in the 1920s and has undergone many changes since then. The most recent is occurring right now. All of our rooms, the lobby, and common areas are undergoing a major refresh. The construction will be complete by mid March and our gusts are very pleased with the new rooms.

I do apologize that you had to wait for an elevator. With the ongoing construction, there is more usage than normal.

Thank you again and I look forward to your next stay with us.

Heidi Cordes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

I have stayed at this property in the past - and found it very convenient and very comfortable. The price is great too!

This time, I found it rennovated and with an invigorated and can-do staff team in place! They are rennovating all of the guest rooms and my sense is that it will be even better!

I would recommend this as a great place to stay at a great price!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask in advance for a rennovated room - you will see a 100% difference!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRIChicago, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear John H.,

Thank you for choosing the Red Roof Inn in Chicago for your recent stay. As one of the first guests to experience our renovated rooms and post a review, I am glad that you were pleased with the results. We still have the same great location and staff, but now we have great rooms, as well. I appreciate your recommendation and look forward to your next stay with us.

Heidi Cordes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
knoxville tenn
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

awesome place to stay if you are on a budget. my wife and i stayed here and could not be more satisfied with the staff and location. it is close to many things in chicago nearby.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jon j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRIChicago, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Thank you so much for posting your review. We do offer a great value for those budget minded travelers to Chicago. Not only that, you cannot beat the location which is one of the best in the city.

I am pleased you were satisfied with the staff and our service. Our goal is not just meet our guests' expectations but to exceed them. Now that the hotel is undergoing a major refresh, I am confident your next stay will be even more enjoyable.

Heidi Cordes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Not only was this place a dump that charged $200 a night to stay there, but we came home eaten alive by bed bugs! Then when I tried to deal with the manager and corporate about this issue, they just put you off and never call you back. I called 6 times and my issue was never resolved. DO NOT stay here! EVER! Stay at the Hilton Garden. Much better and if you book earlier it's 1/2 what this dump charges!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank aislinn3912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRIChicago, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
I do apologize that you feel your contacts here at the hotel and our corporate office were ignored. Whenever a guest reports an unexplained bite, the occupied room is immediately put out of order. A professional exterminator is called to perform a thorough and complete inspection of the room. These inspections cost the hotel $250 each. The vast majority of the inspections are found to be negative for bed bugs, but every report is taken very seriously. We are aware that this is a worldwide problem and take every measure to ensure our rooms are pest free. In addition, we do daily visual inspections. If there is activity found or even suspected in a room after a guest departs, the room is immediately treated, as well as the rooms on either side to ensure there is no spread.

I understand your dissatisfaction, but we do everything in our power to resolve any issue to our guest's satisfaction. It is our goal to not just meet our guests' expectations but to exceed them. I am sorry that we failed during your stay.

Heidi Cordes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Inn of Chicago
Inn of Chicago
#137 of 186 in Chicago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,694 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#105 of 186 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
Streeterville
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
#120 of 186 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Property: Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Address: 162 East Ontario Street, Chicago, IL 60611
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 186 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile 2*
Number of rooms: 191
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Hotel Chicago
Red Roof Inn Chicago
Red Roof Inns Chicago
Chicago Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing