We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Place to Stay in Chicago!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Ranked #88 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 25 February 2012

The Hyatt Regency on Wacker Drive is always my "go-to" hotel in Chicago. It's centrally located, large enough to offer all the resources for business or family travel, and the employees are constantly going the extra mile to make me comfortable. As you can tell, I'm already a fan and have been staying at this Hyatt for many years but, on my last trip I had some major challenges when my wallet was accidentally left in a taxi. The Hyatt team went out of their way to make special arrangements and prevented my unexpected loss from becoming a catastrophic event!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MobilityMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,932)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,867 - 4,871 of 6,932 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Hyatt - had a nice room (paid for an upgraded water view, which was nice to have), the staff was friendly and helpful, the location is perfect and we had a very decent rate. The lobbies were pretty nice, but we didn't hang out there or eat at any of the places. We walked most places (or took a cab if our destination was really far), even in the middle of winter.
I try not to be too picky about these things, but our room was dusty the whole time we were there. It was enough to be noticed, so it should have been cleaned by the staff. Also, we weren't very fond of the bed. It was a bit on the hard side and wasn't exactly plus. It wasn't horrible though. Again, not horrible, but our room was very hot no matter how we set the temp at.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeK413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

I needed a convenient overnight in Chicago while on an Amtrak adventure. I found a bargain on the Hyatt on Priceline, and found a very comfortable hotel only a 14-block cab ride from Union Station (a walk if I hadn't been carrying a lot of baggage!). This Loop/Streeterville location is convenient to a number of Chicago favorites. The first several stories house elegant bars, restaurants, water features, snacking shops/gift stores, car rental service, concierge and check-in--pretty much any service you might need, though at a price ($8.75 tall domestic beer, $3.75 for a tube of Tums, etc!). My 12th floor room was comfortable, with a fantastic bed and a great view. I loved the small magnifying makeup/shaving mirror in the bathroom, an amenity I rarely see in hotels.
My only criticism of the Hyatt was the ever-so-cheesy stocked fridge, complete with the "do not put your own food/drinks in here" sign that announced a $25 fee if you dared to - gasp - use their crappy little refrigerator! (Take the high road, Hyatt...give us the fridge and you'll likely get us buying overpriced foods on your property anyway!)
The Hyatt staff, from the doormen to the concierge to the room staff to the desk, were uniformly professional, helpful, and empathetic. I was particularly impressed when trying to find a home for a fresh half-pizza that I couldn't possibly eat. A bellman, very discretely, pointed out the skyway to a man in the next block who was apparently a frequent resident of that stretch of sidewalk. The bellman emphasize to me over and over that "I can't advise you" and "You need to be safe", but I was persistent in wanting to find a good home for my leftover food! The fact that this gentleman had not only great professional integrity, but also a personal side, was heartening. My pizza was greatly appreciated by a homeless man with kind eyes.
Bottom line: a great, convenient, comfortable property...if a little high-priced on the amenities.

Room Tip: Views vary in this large, urban location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank finnbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

I've stayed at this Hyatt many times over the last 5 years. It's not my hotel of choice in Chicago, but sometimes it's the cheapest and it's also connected to the Pedway, which is convenient during winter months. The hotel itself is really two separate (but connected) towers. It really is a huge space, so be prepared to walk, especially after check in if you're in the east tower.

The rooms have improved in recent years due to pretty aggresive upgrading and rehab. The "Junior Suite" was by far the best experience I've ever had at Planet Hyatt. The room was spacious, clean, well decorated and had an amazing view of Chicago, though the bathroom was very small - smaller than the bathroom in a standard room which was pretty confusing. On a separate trip I stayed in a standard room, which was...standard (I would have angled for an upgrade, but the lady checking in beside me was expressing her outrage to the poor staff about her lack of upgrade, so I thought I'd do them a favor by keeping my mouth shut and just accept the room I actually paid for). Also clean, comfortable and totally sufficient.

The hotel overall lacks a personal feel. There always seems to be a pretty big mix of business travelers, tourists and conference attendees (if you do stay here get ready to laugh at the pretty random conferences they hold). That said, the staff I have interacted with over the years has always been friendly. By far the largest annoyance is the Internet fee. $9.99 per night is the standard rate, but they offer an upgrade to a faster speed for several dollars more. Another small annoyance is the prevelance of connected rooms...there's nothing worse than hearing your neighbors when you're trying to get to bed early, so make it your mission to find a room that isn't connected to another!

I'll stay here again. I'll roll my eyes when I book it because it's not my first choice. Then I'll arrive and realize it wasn't so bad afterall.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geejaykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Great stay with luxury and awesome views of Lake Michigan. You have to check out the Eleven City Diner a short taxi ride but awesome food.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#72 of 192 in Chicago
5,092 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#27 of 192 in Chicago
4,833 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Swissotel Chicago
Swissotel Chicago
#62 of 192 in Chicago
4,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#103 of 192 in Chicago
5,234 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Chicago

Address: 151 East Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601-3709
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Chicago
#47 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#54 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#69 Business Hotel in Chicago
#76 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: €109 - €383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 2019
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the difference between a hotel and a Hyatt when you stay at our incomparable downtown hotel. Set within the epicenter of the city, our AAA Four Diamond Hyatt Regency Chicago is conveniently located in the heart of the city, connected to the Illinois Center and within minutes of the Magnificent Mile. We are excited to announce the completion of our $168 Million renovation! We are eager to show you our new welcoming lobby, engaging check-in pods and check out our three restaurant concepts and menus. Come see the completely transformed Hyatt Regency Chicago! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing