We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice size rooms and free breakfast.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Ranked #79 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice size rooms and free breakfast.”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Very spacious suite. One room had two beds with its own t.v. and the other room had a pull out couch with a t.v. and desk. There was a free breakfast buffet with eggs made to order which was nice but very busy since the hotel was full. There was a free happy hour in the evening that was also busy, but a nice touch. The hotel had a good restaurant that had a take out window that worked well when we wanted to eat a pizza in our room. Location was good and very close to MI Avenue and shopping. 10 minute walk to Water Tower Place. We had a nice stay at this hotel and would stay again. It was pricey, but had nice extras.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mollyczar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,038
    778
    284
    92
    87
See reviews for
943
372
85
518
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

From the onset, our room was wrong. We had reserved two double beds and they gave us one single king bed. We had to haul the kids back down with all our luggage to modify the room. The front desk was "put out" and gave us a different room. (Room #914). We had paid for a city view room initially and was not given that rather the parking garage! Too not complicate issues further we were happy to have two double beds for the family. Too add to this complaint, the t.v. did not work to order movies for the kiddos...the "room engineer" informed us that the entire building was experiencing problems and that they were sorry for this problem...When asked other guests regarding their t.v., they had NO issues with theirs...We just wished the hotel would not have lied and told us the truth...Too make matters worse, the pool temp was cold and there were no more guest towels left in the pool room! Hotel location was great on a positive note and the breakfast was wonderful given the price of the room.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bettendorf, Iowa
Level Contributor
136 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

The Embassy Suites is located just three blocks off Michigan Ave with lots of great restaurants and shopping within walking distance. The hotel was very busy due to spring break however this did not keep the staff from taking good care of all the guest. There was a line for breakfast but the management had prepared well and had plenty of staff to make sure things went fast. The gentleman cleaning up the tables was very nice and carried on conversations with the quest while doing a great job getting the tables ready. The rooms were as expected from a Embassy Suites, large, clean and comfortable. This one will stay on my list of places to stay when visiting Chicago!

Room Tip: I like a higher floor away from all the action in the dining area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlieC33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Great Hotel..stayed for conference. Comfy beds..awesome customer service. I forgot my toothbrush so they gave me one at the desk. Ate at the restaurant that is in the lobby Oseteria Via Stato, and it was really good italian food. Would stay again in a heartbeat. Location was central to everything.

Room Tip: Stay a little farther from elevators, they can be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank windy1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
103 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

This is the third time my family has stayed at this Embassy Suites. Usually, this one is full or the price is through the roof, so we stay at either the Embassy Suites Downtown Lakefront, which is also very nice or the Homewood Suites, which isn't as nice, but is also a good hotel. At Embassy Suites Downtown, the people that work there are what stands out with me. From the parking attendant that takes your car in their underground parking at the hotel, to the person that checks you in, you feel like you are truly on a vacation. For this trip, it was just my teen and myself, visiting Chicago to go to the Field Museum, to do some shopping at Water Tower Place and to eat at The Purple Pig. Please read my reviews for the Field Museum and The Purple Pig, if you are interested in going to those places. The Manager's Reception seemed very nice. We had just had supper, so just stopped on the way to our room and grabbed a beer, soda and some chips. We relaxed in the living room area of the large suite and watched tv that evening. We were pretty tired, after walking everywhere, but the location of this hotel is wonderful for walking. Lots of cool shops and you're only a few blocks from Michigan Ave to the East and Hard Rock/ Rainforest Cafe to the West. If you're a good walker, you could even walk to the Theater District. On the second day, we were treated to a nice made to order omelet. The worker taking our order was very funny and we had a fun time joking with him, while waiting in line for our omelet. You also had your choice of scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, potatoes, fruit, cereal, breads, yogurt and a variety of drinks. The coffee could of been better, but otherwise we were very happy. We were checking out that day, but you are allowed to leave your car there until 3:00, which I highly suggest, since parking downtown is very expensive. I had injured my foot, so asked if we should take the car to go to Water Tower Place and find parking there and they told me to take a taxi. It would be cheaper and they were right. They got us a taxi and it cost $5.45 and about the same on the way back. If I hadn't hurt my foot, we would of walked there, as it's only about 7 or 8 blocks. We didn't use the pool, but my teen remembered that it was small and really wasn't interested in sharing a small pool with little kids. We did the parking package and I figured that we saved almost $10 dollars doing that, so definitely look at the packages that they offer.

Room Tip: We've never had a bad room here. This time we were on the 11th floor and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lislcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Address: 600 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-3853
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Chicago
#57 Family Hotel in Chicago
#66 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Chicago Hotel
Embassy Suites Chicago
Chicago Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing