We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun and funky”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ray's Bucktown Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 22 Chicago B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheridan, Wyoming
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fun and funky”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Ray and his staff were the greatest! Loved being able to ditch the car on a street and explore Bucktown, take a $17 taxi downtown instead of parking for even more money. The place is delightful and comfortable and breakfasts are amazing.

Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank t2davis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    31
    6
    1
    4
See reviews for
61
97
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Giettaz, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

Ray's b&b was the first stop for my wife and I on our recent visit to the States. We wanted to stay out of downtown Chicago but still enjoy quality accommodation with plenty to do nearby, and Ray's proved to be an excellent choice.

We stayed for 3 nights in the Eagle's Nest room, which was roomy and quiet. The bed is super-kingsize and very comfortable. The bathroom is clean and spacious and has a good shower.

What really marks Ray's out as a superb place to stay is the service from Ray and his team: on arrival we were met with an extremely friendly welcome by the owner himself, who showed us round the property and explained how everything worked. He was always on hand to answer questions about places to visit in the area, and was able to give us maps and tickets for the L train - he even offered to give us a lift to the station one day! The free copies of the Time Out listings magazine available in reception are a great touch. Free wi-fi throughout the building is also excellent.

Breakfast is wonderful - easily the best I have ever eaten in a b&b, with a full menu that includes omelettes, full cooked breakfasts and delicious French toast... You can help yourself to coffee, juice and pastries any time you like and food is then cooked fresh to order by the team, all included in the price of the room.

The location is excellent if you want to be away from downtown but still have lots to do nearby. Wicker Park and Bucktown are up-and-coming areas of the city and there is a great selection of restaurants and bars on Damen, Milwaukee and Armitage Avenues, a short walk from the b&b. Big Star and the Map Room were our favourites. There are also some good shops and clothes boutiques in the area. The closest L train station - Western - is 10 minutes' walk from the b&b and the blue line train takes about 15 minutes to reach downtown. O'Hare airport is at the opposite end of the line, maybe half an hour or so on the train (we got a cab, which took about 30 minutes and cost $35).

Overall, Ray's is a great value, very comfortable and extremely well-run b&b. 3 nights wasn't long enough for us to explore Chicago properly so we will certainly come back one day, and Ray's will be the place to stay when we do. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChaletLaGiettaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

We were SO happy staying at Ray's this past August. We had a flight out of O'Hare and decided to come to Chicago a couple of days early before heading out West. Ray's was the B&B closest to any blue line stop so we could get to O'Hare without a car. We were so, so pleasantly surprised by how large and open the common areas are, the cleanliness and comfort of the rooms, the quality of the food and other amenities like the steam room! The staff is so friendly and the location is great for someone looking to explore off-the-beaten path Chicago. Bucktown and Wicker Park are by far my favorite neighborhoods in Chi town and Ray's B&B has same type of flair and creativity but still feels homey, cozy and welcoming. We will definitely stay again!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meredi5309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padua, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

We spent four days in Chicago, first stop of our fantastic "kick"on Route 66. We werw two couples and we stayed in a huge room for four with private bathroom with every confort.
The B&B is well located though not downtown: for us that was even better 'cause we enjoyed a lot the lively (night) but quiet (day) area. The skytrain i'ts at max 15 minutes walk.
What was really beyond expectations was BREAKFAST…yes, with capitol letters!!!Huge, omnicomprehensive, not for people on a diet!!!Ray's was full of suggestions and so were the lovely girls who helped him everyday.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chiarazan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Ray's bucktown is the place to stay. It is cozy, the staff is friendly and the breakfast (see the other reviews as well) is simply delicious. A unique place in one of Chicago's best neighbourhoods.
Ray (and the other staff as well) does everything to make you feel comfortable. He even gave us a ride to the cta-station when he spotted our heavy luggage at check-out.

We stayed in the West room, which is cozy, but not very light. It is located next to Sauna and steamroom (which we felt was a great advantage).

The living room is also very cozy. However, you should get along with cats since Maggie and Rocky claim the Common room as their territory as well.
Breakfast is just incredible. Besides the choice from the menu, they have a daily special.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annanas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
West Town
The Robey
The Robey
#92 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#70 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lincoln Park
Villa D'Citta
Villa D'Citta
#1 of 22 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
West Town
Wicker Park Inn
Wicker Park Inn
#6 of 22 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ray's Bucktown Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ray's Bucktown Bed and Breakfast

Property: Ray's Bucktown Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2144 N Leavitt, Chicago, IL 60647
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Northwest Side , Wicker Park / Bucktown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ray's Bucktown Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique B&B in Chicago's Bucktown neighborhood, Ray's welcomes groups and individuals in town for work or play. Modeled after small European hotels and spas, the B&B has eleven bedrooms with private baths, high speed internet (WIFI and in each room as well as community areas including a steam room, sauna, HDTV and a kitchen, and free unrestricted street parking. Breakfast is cooked-to-order when you want it. This is not your parents' bed & breakfast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Ray's Bucktown Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ray`s Bucktown Hotel Chicago
Ray`s Bucktown b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing