We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, excellent view, good for a quiet business trip.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Buckingham Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Buckingham Club
Ranked #124 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great value, excellent view, good for a quiet business trip.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

I stayed with the athletic club because it was most affordable by far and fairly close (15 min walk) to my office. Location is kind of strange and sleepy since it's within a financial services building on the 40th floor. However, hotel was clean and very quiet. Decor was simple and slightly dated but experience was good. Staff is really nice an helpful. Would recommend for a tired business traveller.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaseyEllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    71
    14
    5
    6
See reviews for
17
86
19
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Niles, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

This is a special boutique property. The suite facing east had a super view of Lake Michigan and the city. Directly in line with Buckingham Fountain. Bed very comfortable. All of the hotel staff was helpful and friendly with directions and finding the swimming pool and hot tub. Easy to get to Chicago attractions (like the ball park and shopping) with public transportation. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sethsdad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, Ca.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

As previous reviewers have written, the Buckingham is a very unusual hotel. Though the hotel is on the 40th floor, they do now have a desk in the lobby for check in and services, so that makes it easier.

I had a south facing room, on the 40th floor the view was spectacular. I suppose north-facing might have been even more spectacular, but I was very happy with view, able to watch the trains, the freeways (usually jammed), farther out into the city that might have been possible to the more built up north. I can't think of a better view I've had from a hotel room. Remarkably, I could hear noise from the commuter trains 40 floors (500 feet?) below, but it was very muffled, certainly not an irritant.

I toured but didn't use the athletic club itself on the 3rd floor, it looked good, though not reaching the exalted level of the Los Angeles Athletic Club that I've also stayed at.

During the week the building was full of busy financial types, it felt a bit strange to be in my hot weather shorts, but so be it. It certainly wasn't noisy, the last of the offices stopped at the 39th floor, where you transfer to the elevator to the hotel itself. On the hotel floor itself I sometimes wondered if there was anybody in any of the other 20 rooms, though I did occasionally see or hear people.

Staying on the weekend is a bit weird. The neighborhood around the hotel is the financial district of Chicago and shuts down tight, even the Starbucks and some of the dive bars. So on the weekend you have to walk 4 or 5 blocks to get to any restaurants, coffee places etc. During the week there's lots of stuff open close by, at least during the daytime (including a branch of Intelligentsia Coffee, they of varietal coffees, in the historic Monadnock Building). It's also weird to be in this giant office building at night and on the weekend when there's nobody around but the guards, but at least you never have to wait for an elevator.

The transit access is excellent, with an el stop literally adjacent to the hotel, a stop for the Blue Line subway one block away, and the Red Line subway just a few blocks. There are plenty of nearby buses too. On Sunday morning rather than hunt for a place to eat in the area I just got on the Brown line el and went up to Dinkel's Bakery.

Other good things--lots of space in the room, a real writing desk, a bathtub long enough and deep enough to lie down in (a rarity in hotels these days), lots of lights including spots for the bathroom and the separated toilet room (2 people could easily use the bathroom simultaneously), charges for phone use that were reasonable, an immediate response to a problem with a phone, free access to a computer with a printer in the hotel lounge. A more central location in the loop might have been a bit more convenient, but the Buckingham was unique.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, WI
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

This hotel is very interesting. It occupies the top floor of an office building. As a result of this, the check-in, parking, finding, going up (and up then up again), etc procedure are a little clumsy. All that clumsiness (which considering they only have 21 rooms is managed expertly) was worth it once we got into our room!

The room, a standard room, is spacious and had a fabulous view. We had a north view with Willis tower on the right and the lake on the left, and at 40 floors up, it's impressive. The room was also very quiet. With only 21 rooms at the property, even at capacity, this place would not be noisy. Our stay was a Saturday, so I would imagine that considering this hotel is located in an office building near the Chicago Board of Trade, it might be a little noisy during the week, but I can't comment on that. The bathroom was spacious with a deep tub and separate toilet room. The "hall" of the room had a wet bar but no fridge or microwave. Opposite the wet bar was another counter with the coffee maker (pretty good coffee) and some counter space we used to hold a cooler. The bed was comfortable, and while the El is below you, you only barely hear it if you really try (remember how high up you are).

The "athletic" club is an executive club located on the 3rd floor of the building, was only open till 6 on Saturday and was closed on Sunday. We were able to get some use out of it, and it was very nice. Would have been very disappointed if it had been closed the entire time were there (i.e. if we had checked in after 6 and only then maybe had Sunday - club claims seasonal hours on Sundays). The travel procedure to the club is similar to the parking, involving three elevators. I don't think the club and its amenities are well designed for kids, as we don't have any, but you may want to call and find if kid friendly.

The parking garage (oh yeah, they say it's $32 / day - we only paid $21 - not well marked with accurate pricing) isn't well marked where you need to go, but once parked had to buzz a security guard to open a door, then cross another basement, then up the first elevator to the lobby. Deal with the nice and helpful security guards in the lobby, then the lobby desk to the hotel. Once checked in, took a second elevator to the 39th floor, transfer to the hotel elevator to go up one floor, then finally there. The lounge is nice and equipped with an office computer and a southern view. The ice machine really needs to be higher powered as it barely kept up. The continental breakfast was good and sufficient, no complaints. The wireless internet (free) seemed sufficient and fast enough for what we used of it.

We peeked into the restaurant (smelled fantastic) and it seemed very upscale (we were concerned with dress code). Looked at a menu, and it was a little out of our price range for the evening - they provide "course" meals starting at 90 / person, but the selection looked great and the guards in the lobby were chatting it up between themselves.

Overall, the view and seclusion of this hotel give you a nice homely feel, and it quickly became our "place in the city" when we come visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a northern or lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pad_lake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2011

First of all, I haven't read any of the other reviews, so please forgive me if I repeat something.

My wife and I stopped through Chicago for one night on our way back to Atlanta. We stumbled upon this hotel online and decided to give it a try. It was great! Finding it was a little tricky.....our GPS took us right to the front door, but we had to call to find out where the parking deck was. Once we parked, it was a little troublesome getting to the front desk, as the valet wasn't there at the time. Obviously, the valet parking would have made things easier.

Everyone we encountered that worked for the BAC was wonderful. We checked in about an hour early and our room was ready. You do have to transfer elevators to get to the 40th floor, but it's really not a big deal.

The room was spacious and comfortable and the view was just amazing. We were facing towards Lake Michigan, with the Buckingham Fountain right in front of us. But when you are 40 floors up, any direction has a great view.

We were only there for a night, but the hotel was very close to the SkyDeck and some GREAT chicago deep-dish pizza. We went to the Field museum, which was not within walking distance, but the concierge was helpful in telling us the best way to get there (by car and by the train). Breakfast the next morning was simple, but perfect to get us going.

The only problem we had was finding the actual athletic club. We wanted to take a swim, so we went to the 3rd floor. However, we were unknowingly on the wrong side of the 3rd floor, with a bunch of offices. This isn't clearly specified in their welcome packet, but again, the concierge was very helpful telling us how to get there. Once we were there, AMAZING! Th pool was huge and a nice cool (but not cold) temperature. The spa was enormous and relaxing. There is a giant "relax" room with a tv and couches around the perimeter. We only wanted to swim so we didn't try any of the other work out related things, but it was all very nice.

One thing that was a little strange.....the hotel is on the 40th floor of an office building. So during the day, you will constantly be sharing the elevator with businessmen and women dressed in their suits and ties and briefcases. Being on vacation, we felt a little underdressed in our sandals and t-shirts. Of course, around 5PM the business people leave for the day and it is much quieter. Not that big of a deal....just a little strange.

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It was a great price and a wonderful hotel!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricw03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#34 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,879 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#126 of 187 in Chicago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#96 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,746 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Buckingham Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buckingham Club

Property: The Buckingham Club
Address: 440 S La Salle St, 40th Floor, Chicago, IL 60605-1028
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#64 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Buckingham Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buckingham Club Hotel is the ultimate urban oasis for a romantic getaway right in the heart of downtown Chicago. The Buckingham Club Hotel provides an intimate and quiet stay complemented by high-end, modern amenities, such as a fully equipped fitness center, touting boutique classes, golf, boxing and yoga, along with a luxurious spa, pool and Jacuzzi to unwind after a busy day in the city. It truly is the best of both worlds and leaves the traveler with everything he or she might need to feel both at home and away. With only a select number of rooms and suites, guests can enjoy VIP service by welcoming and attentive staff members. The Buckingham Club, in its unconventional and unexpected design and amenities, allows travelers to experience the beauty and energy of Chicago from a luxurious, secluded and restorative Penthouse setting. Book your reservation today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Buckingham Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckingham Athletic Club Hotel Chicago
Buckingham Athletic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing