We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Ranked #10 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2017

We loved our stay at the Thompson. This was our first visit and would definitely return The location is perfect and tucked away enough that you don't have some of the noisy city street action (sirens/honking,etc). There are a ton of restaurants and shopping within just a few blocks. For a romantic getaway it was perfect!

Room Tip: Rooms that are higher up
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJR2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve S, General Manager at Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Dear AJR2000,

I am so happy that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the Thompson Chicago! We really appreciate you taking the time out of your day to provide us with an excellent review. We thank you for praising our neighborhood and hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thanks again,
Steve Shern
General Manager
Thompson Chicago Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

97 - 101 of 2,256 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the Thompson on 10/17- 10-20 .. we loved this hotel, the room was spacious and with a beautiful view, thanks to Trevor, he was so helpful and kind! We asked to have a view of the skyline and he accomodated us and while we were waiting for our room he gave us 2 complementary drinks at the bar that is nice and has a good vibe. The hotel is located among good restaurants, bars, great places to eat and have a good time.. ohhh and the bed was so comfortable.. highly reccomend the Thompson...

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Adriana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve S, General Manager at Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Dear Adriana F,

I am so happy that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the Thompson Chicago! We really appreciate you taking the time out of your day to provide us with an excellent review and I am glad to hear that Trevor was able to make your stay more memorable. We thank you for praising our service and hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thanks again,
Steve Shern
General Manager
Thompson Chicago Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

Nice spot with good meeting rooms. Nice area with good restaurants around. Bed was good, and I liked the shower. No old-man peeing going on with the shower head. Only complaint was the elevators. Remember how Eddie got flattened in the elevator in 'Who Framed Roger Rabbit?' Yeah, kinda the same sensation riding the elevators at the Thompson.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 431garrya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve S, General Manager at Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Dear 431garrya,

We truly appreciate you taking the time to leave us a great review. It is wonderful to hear that you had a memorable stay with us and we thank you for praising our hotel. We are extremely sorry you were not satisfied with the elevators, and we thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Thanks again,
Steve Shern
General Manager
Thompson Chicago Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

The location, staff, room, and amenities at the Thompson are all first class.
We walked to all the sites, enjoyed the lobby area with our family, had a large corner room with a beautiful view of Barney's and Prada(!), and walked to several great restaurants literally across the street. The staff was very helpful with things to do, airport transportation ideas and anything minor we needed. I would stay here again on a return trip to Chicago.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Shirley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve S, General Manager at Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Dear Shirley G,

I am so happy that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the Thompson Chicago! We really appreciate you taking the time out of your day to provide us with an excellent review and I am glad to hear that your overall experience was memorable. We thank you for praising our service and hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thanks again,
Steve Shern
General Manager
Thompson Chicago Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

We very much enjoyed Chicago and the best thing about it was the Chicago Thompson. Though more than we usually spend on a hotel, it was worth every dollar. The views were spectacular from the twenty first floor.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JoeV32174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve S, General Manager at Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear JoeV32174,

I am so happy that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the Thompson Chicago! We really appreciate you taking the time out of your day to provide us with an excellent review and I am glad to hear that your experience was memorable. We hope you had a safe trip home and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thanks again,
Steve Shern
General Manager
Thompson Chicago Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#19 of 191 in Chicago
3,104 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 191 in Chicago
2,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#9 of 191 in Chicago
2,288 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 191 in Chicago
1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel

Address: 21 E. Bellevue Place, Chicago, IL 60611-1174
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: €157 - €569 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine your own luxe studio in the skies overlooking the hip Gold Coast neighborhood's leafy streets, with sweeping floor-to-ceiling vistas of the Chicago skyline and Great Lake waterscape daring you to look away. Parking available for additional fee per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing