We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$263
US$221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$278/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$251
US$233
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$264/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$295
US$258
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 24/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$225
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Raffaello Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$348
US$319
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Felix(Chicago)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$221
US$210
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$232
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Majestic Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$551
US$399
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Langham, Chicago(Chicago)
US$563
US$500
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,422)
Filter reviews
2,422 results
Traveller rating
1,912
408
68
22
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,912
408
68
22
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnico osteriathe gold coastthe original pancake housegreat locationtavern on rushcorner kingoak streetrush streetrain showerwalk in showerboutique hotelwithin walking distancethe magnificent milejunior suitehotel baramazing hotelrestaurants and shopping
Filter
Updating list...
260 - 265 of 2,422 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2017

Nice spot with good meeting rooms. Nice area with good restaurants around. Bed was good, and I liked the shower. No old-man peeing going on with the shower head. Only complaint was the elevators. Remember how Eddie got flattened in the elevator in 'Who Framed Roger Rabbit?' Yeah, kinda the same sensation riding the elevators at the Thompson.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 431garrya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve S, General Manager at Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Dear 431garrya,

We truly appreciate you taking the time to leave us a great review. It is wonderful to hear that you had a memorable stay with us and we thank you for praising our hotel. We are extremely sorry you were not satisfied with the elevators, and we thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Thanks again,
Steve Shern
General Manager
Thompson Chicago Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

The location, staff, room, and amenities at the Thompson are all first class.
We walked to all the sites, enjoyed the lobby area with our family, had a large corner room with a beautiful view of Barney's and Prada(!), and walked to several great restaurants literally across the street. The staff was very helpful with things to do, airport transportation ideas and anything minor we needed. I would stay here again on a return trip to Chicago.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve S, General Manager at Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Dear Shirley G,

I am so happy that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the Thompson Chicago! We really appreciate you taking the time out of your day to provide us with an excellent review and I am glad to hear that your overall experience was memorable. We thank you for praising our service and hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thanks again,
Steve Shern
General Manager
Thompson Chicago Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

We very much enjoyed Chicago and the best thing about it was the Chicago Thompson. Though more than we usually spend on a hotel, it was worth every dollar. The views were spectacular from the twenty first floor.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JoeV32174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve S, General Manager at Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear JoeV32174,

I am so happy that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the Thompson Chicago! We really appreciate you taking the time out of your day to provide us with an excellent review and I am glad to hear that your experience was memorable. We hope you had a safe trip home and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thanks again,
Steve Shern
General Manager
Thompson Chicago Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Great stay. Enjoyed the friendly and helpful staff and beautiful room. The hotel is in a wonderful location with many shopping and restaurant options within walking distance. Thanks for a good experience.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dankY6962OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve S, General Manager at Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear dankY6962OH,

We truly appreciate you taking the time to leave us such a great review. It is wonderful to hear that you had a memorable stay with us and we thank you for praising our service, hotel and neighborhood. I hope you had a safe trip home and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thanks again,
Steve Shern
General Manager
Thompson Chicago Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

The Thompson is as stylish and hip as you would expect. It also gets the small things right that a lot of boutique hotels do not. The front desk staff was uniformly excellent during our stay, which got off to a great start when a friendly young woman checked us in. When we asked about getting into the clearly popular restaurant right away as we were very hungry, the other young woman at the counter immediately offered to call over while the other woman was getting us checked us in. Once everything was settled, she had the bellman take the bags up to our room and offered to walk us over to the restaurant. It was one of the most helpful and pleasant experiences I’ve had checking into a hotel. Checkout was the same. My husband had an unexpected work call, and it was no problem at all for us to stay a bit longer. The food in the restaurant is very good and the common areas pleasant. The rooms are not large but stylish and pleasant. And the location is great too — a short walk from all the shopping and Lake Michigan as well as a train station to get around the city easily. I used to stay at the Ritz but this is my new favorite Chicago hotel.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank JNC14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve S, General Manager at Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear JNC14,

I am so happy that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the Thompson Chicago! We really appreciate you taking the time out of your day to provide us with an excellent review and I am glad to hear that your experience was memorable. We thank you for praising our service, hotel and Gold Coast neighborhood and we look forward to welcoming you and your husband back on your next trip to Chicago!

Thanks again,
Steve Shern
General Manager
Thompson Chicago Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews