We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy Friendly Italian "Home-made" food”

RoSal's Italian Kitchen
Ranked #289 of 10,177 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: US$22 - US$35
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: University Village / Little Italy
Cross street: Racine
Description: 28 years ago, on May 1st, 1990, my family took a leap of faith and opened the doors to a true mom & pop, family-owned Italian restaurant. With pots and pans from home, along with silverware, plates, and bowls, RoSal’s was in business. What followed was a journey we could never have expected; an adventure of food, family, friends, laughter, memories and a whole lot of love! It is a bittersweet moment, a time for us to say goodbye; May 13th, 2018 will be our last day serving. We would love for you to take the time to stop in, say goodbye, share a memory and make a toast to 28 great years of friendship!
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

Chose this place due to TripAdvisor reviews and weren't disappointed. All food is homemade and scrumptious. Waitress/hostess said portions weren't huge but don't believe her. She also said they'd be glad to modify any dish however we'd like.

Starting with the bread, almost everything was excellent. I had Chicken cacciatore which was unbelievably good. Kalamata Olives added good flavor. Wife's Fettuccine Alfredo was also great, and added shrimp were delicious. Friend ordered sausage and pepper appetizer and it was HUGE, more than you could eat as entree.

Only negative was limited bar (so no fancy cocktails) and glass of Chianti was "off." But the high quality food and other wines more than made up for this. If we lived in Chicago this would be our go-to Italian restaurant. We felt at home even though we were from out of state.

Thank frequentdiner27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoSalsTaylor, Owner at RoSal's Italian Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2017

We wish you lived in Chicago too!! Thank you for visiting us when you were in town, we are delighted that you enjoyed your dining experience with us and hope to see you soon.

Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2017

Was in Chicago for the weekend (we're from Toronto) and tried RoSal's for the first time. From the moment we walked in the door and were greeted and seated the service was outstanding. The food was spectacular (the portions are very ample, come hungry!). Looking forward to our next trip to Chicago and to RoSal's!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CyndiJoe, Owner at RoSal's Italian Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Thanks so much Doug! It is so important to us to make sure you leave hungry and leave feeling like family! We look forward to seeing you again when you visit Chicago!

Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

We hoped for a great meal in a special little part of Chicago, and we got it. Great atmosphere, great service, and a fine balance of taste and value. Yes, the food takes awhile, but it's truly made just for you; and they tell you that you can customize any of their entrees to your liking. I wish that I lived closer so that I could return.

Thank LouisD357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CyndiJoe, Owner at RoSal's Italian Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

We wished you lived closer too so that you could come more often! Thank you for taking the time to let others know about RoSal's! We appreciate it very much.

Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017

Never have I been greeted so warmly. Linda & Joe make you feel like one of the family. Terrific family food made with love and care in Chicago's Little Italy neighborhood near UIC. A wonderful treasure--I will remember the experience, the food and the people. Take home a little dessert even if you're full---you won't regret it.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DebDKC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoSalsTaylor, Owner at RoSal's Italian Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Thank you!! Warms our heart to hear you enjoyed your experience!

Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2017 via mobile

Wonderful small restaurant that makes dining a pleasure. This isn't fast food. In fact, it's kind of slow. This is a restaurant for times when you have time to enjoy your dining partners and great food. Four of us had four different items and we were all very pleased. The recommended red Sicilian wine was very nice. The calamari appetizer wasn't fried and among the best I've ever had. It's Italian thus more than the average person can eat but the leftovers have been wonderful. Oh yes, I'll be back. Now , if I can just get them to open a unit in Phoenix.

Thank Putterface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoSalsTaylor, Owner at RoSal's Italian Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2017

Thank you for the great review!! For the past 27 years we have worked hard to make sure guests like you have a wonderful dining experience at RoSal's so we are glad you enjoyed!!

Hope to see you again soon,

Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed RoSal's Italian Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to RoSal's Italian Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing