We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, especially for business/trade shows”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Ranked #40 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We had over 150 room nights with our group there in late January, 2012 and it was great. It marked the fourth event we've had at the Courtyard and they've been awesome. Would highly recommend them, especially if you are in town for a tradeshow. But, I've stayed there non-work as well and the treatment was the same.

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms across the elevator if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ray s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director_of_Sales_CY, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Thank you so much for the wonderful recommendation Ray! We are always delighted to accommodate your group! I am very glad that you have also received the same treatment when staying at our hotel for other trips as well. Thank you again for your business and we look forward to working together in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

916 - 920 of 1,243 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2012

My sister and I frequently stay here for a few days' "escape." I live in the suburbs and she lives downstate, so we meet here to shop, talk, eat, maybe drink a little, and laugh a lot. The location is perfect. We can walk Michigan Ave. north and south to great shops and excellent restaurants. On our last visit, Neil, our valet, and the front desk staff could not have been more helpful! The service is excellent, the rooms are large and attractive, and the restaurant/bar is also outstanding. We definitely recommend this hotel as a top-notch place to stay in the city. If they sold rooms as condos, we would buy one!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MHub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director_of_Sales_CY, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Thank you so much for the glowing review! We are glad you and your sister have enjoyed your stays with us. We love our location as it is so easy to shop, talk, eat, or drink a little - in or around our hotel! We strive to exceed our guest expectations, especially when it comes to overall service. Thank you for the acknowledgment regarding Neil; he truly is an asset to our organization. We look forward to accommodating your next trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

I recently spent six days in Chicago for business/pleasure mix. The hotel service was fantastic! The onsite restaurant has a good menu, reasonably priced, with a breakfast buffet. Workout room was nice, never crowded, and I felt secure during my stay. The room blocked most of the noise, as I slept really well. There is a hospital three blocks away, so there are quite a few sirens, but not enough that I wouldn't stay here again. The only drawback was that my toilet would not flush properly, but maintenance fixed it quickly. Great follow up after my stay as well.

Room Tip: Corner room upper floors - very scenic and less hallway noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director_of_Sales_CY, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

Thank you for the wonderful compliments about our hotel! I am so glad our service exceeded your expectations, especially our follow up time. Viand, our restaurant on site, is a great deal for downtown Chicago, basically on Michigan Ave. We look forward to hosting your next stay in downtown Chicago!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I stayed here for three nights for a series of business meetings. I found the hotel to be excellent in every department. I highly recommend it for business meetings, as the facilities and service was fantastic. The bedrooms were also spacious and very comfortable. Reception staff were attentive, and the location of the hotel was superb. I would definitely use this hotel again and it comes highly recommended.

Room Tip: Higher up means less traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ragingragnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director_of_Sales_CY, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

Thank you for the great compliments about our hotel! We love our location - both our guests and team members! I really appreciate that you noticed the size of the guestroom, we have one of the largest square footage standard guestrooms in the downtown area. Please let us know in the Sales department if we can accommodate your next business meeting, as we have plenty of meeting space on our property as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

I recently stayed at the Courtyard Magnificent Mile for a girls shopping trip. The rooms were recently remodeled, comfortable and very clean. The service was wonderful! The entire staff was friendly and helpful. Kudos to Neil, our valet. He made our stay perfect.

There is a Starbucks right off the lobby for convenient coffee in the morning. Garrett's popcorn is next door-a must if you haven't tried it. The Corner Bakery is a block away for a good, inexpensive breakfast or lunch. Try Francesca's on Chestnut for some wonderful Italian.

The location is mid-Magnificent Mile and convenient to Nordstrom & the Bridge Shops as well as the Gold Goast & Watertower Place.

I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Join Marriott Rewards for room upgrades.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mingo05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director_of_Sales_CY, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

Thank you for the lovely comments about our hotel! We are thankful to have Neil on our team and I will make sure his boss hear's you comments. I'm glad you and your friends enjoyed the location of our hotel - sometimes the location of the hotel can make or break any trip. We look forward to hosting your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Conrad Chicago
Conrad Chicago
#16 of 192 in Chicago
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Address: 165 E Ontario St, Chicago, IL 60611-2822 (Formerly Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile)
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Chicago
#41 Business Hotel in Chicago
#65 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: €98 - €495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay steps from Chicago's Magnificent Mile at this upscale downtown Chicago Courtyard by Marriott location. The Courtyard Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile offers newly renovated guest rooms, an indoor pool & fitness center, a Starbucks in the lobby for your morning pick-me-up, complimentary WiFi, and the lobby is home to the trendy new Copper Fox Gastropub which is top-rated on Yelp. The location is ideal for visiting the Windy City; just minutes from the Loop business district, Navy Pier, Lincoln Park Zoo, McCormick Place, and premium shopping along Chicago's famous Magnificent Mile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Chicago Courtyard
Chicago Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing