We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Bad Hospitality and extremely rude staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
W Chicago - Lakeshore
Ranked #97 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2015 via mobile

The Hotel in itself is modern, the rooms are of a good standard and overall it is a really nice hotel, in a fantastic location, right next to navy pier with really good view's. However the staff were Rude, unhelpful, with the worst hospitality I have experienced in a hotel. We ate breakfast at the hotel once, again the staff were rude and unhelpful. For example if you wanted to ask them for toast it was impossible to establish eye contact, you was ignored and after asking three times for toast I gave up. We were moved three times to different rooms at no fault of our own, for example the safety deposit box was broken etc and the staff were so rude and unhelpful ( except for the maintenance guy). The third room had an offensive smell from the food the previous person had left in the fridge, it left a nasty smell for approx 24 hours, but we we're so fed up of moving we got some air freshener. One more thing if you dare ask the staff for anything like bottled water for your room, expect some reluctance. This hotel should of been, of a really good standard. i Unfortunately the staff that work there don't seem to know what there doing and how to be polite and helpful. Very disappointed

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WChicagoLakeshore, Manager at W Chicago - Lakeshore, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2015

Hello Charlotte B

Thank you for your review, I am extremely disappointed to learn of your experience. I welcome the opportunity to connect with you and hopefully make amends. Please contact me direct at your earliest convenience at Alejandra.romero@whotels.com

Kind regards,

Alejandra Romero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,690)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,061 - 1,065 of 1,690 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2015

Spent one night at this hotel. There was a minor glitch during check in but it was handled quickly. Then to compensate me for the (very brief) wait, they comped me a drink at the bar... Nice touch.

Staff at the front door and front desk are friendly and helpful. Great ambassadors for the hotel.

I stayed on the 18th floor and had a beautiful view of the lake and Navy Pier.

The room was clean and comfortable. The bathtub was chipped and could use a little paint touch up. Funky cool decor in the room.

I didn't have the opportunity to try the restaurant, but I did enjoy a drink at the bar. Great atmosphere!

I also enjoyed the complementary coffee in the lobby in the morning. The location is good. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melissajazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WChicagoLakeshore, Manager at W Chicago - Lakeshore, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2015

Hello melissajazz

Thank you for your comments from your recent experience with us.

I am glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us and hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards

Alejandra Romero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2015 via mobile

We were here over July 4th weekend. Chicago was super busy; the last Grateful Dead Concerts, both the Cubs and White Sox in town, and Spike Lee staying at hotel putting the final touches on "Chiraq". The hotel is beautifully located on Lakeshore and attracts a young hip crowd. Lunch and dinner is available both inside and outside. The rooms are nicely furnished and are adequate for a couple, although in my opinion, is getting close to a "refresh". Getting a cab or walking distance to most things are both easily accomplished. All in all a nice place to stay for a long weekend if you wish a very convenient location.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Rick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WChicagoLakeshore, Manager at W Chicago - Lakeshore, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2015

Hello Rick P

Thank you for your comments from your recent experience with us. I am happy to know you had a great escape with us and appreciate your feedback!

Hope to welcome you back soon

Kind regards

Alejandra Romero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2015 via mobile

The hotel is nice, but didn't feel like I got my money's worth. It was mediocre in my opinion. Nothing outstanding about the hotel. Expected a lot more. Location is good, but that's about it. Bathroom was small, view was just blah, bed was comfortable.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WChicagoLakeshore, Manager at W Chicago - Lakeshore, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2015

Hello Teresa C

I am sorry to hear we did not exceed your expectations during your next time with us. Should you want to provide additional feedback, please contact me direct as I would like to be able to welcome you back and ensure next time you have a memorable experience.

Kind regards

Alejandra Romero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2015

I love this hotel from very unique and modern design, to the cleaners and the comfort of the hotel. The bed is really comfortable. And the bathroom has a very unique design. I am a big fan of W hotels but this one is one of my very favorite. (definitely better than W hotel Chicago Downtown)

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Gaspard_de_la_nuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WChicagoLakeshore, Manager at W Chicago - Lakeshore, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2015

Thank you for your review T_Nagashima!

I truly appreciate your loyalty and your kind words!

Hope to welcome you back soon

Alejandra Romero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
W Chicago - City Center
W Chicago - City Center
#119 of 191 in Chicago
2,639 reviews
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#10 of 191 in Chicago
2,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#30 of 191 in Chicago
5,032 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Chicago - Lakeshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Chicago - Lakeshore

Address: 644 N Lake Shore Drive, Chicago, IL 60611-3017
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Chicago
#25 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#47 Business Hotel in Chicago
#59 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#83 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: €92 - €324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W Chicago - Lakeshore 4.5*
Number of rooms: 520
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W Chicago - Lakeshore is the closest hotel to Navy Pier with stunning views of Lake Michigan and Ohio Street beach. The property is just 3 blocks from the Magnificent Mile with world class shopping and restaurants. We offer a fab Italian Mediterranean dining option on property with Current Restaurant and the Living Room Lounge. Perfect for both business and leisure travelers, W Chicago - Lakeshore offers flexible meeting space with incredible views that is perfect for a corporate meeting or a lavish wedding. Please contact us today and ask for our Sales and Catering Department to get you a rate to host your next event! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your W Chicago - Lakeshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Chicago Lakeshore Hotel Chicago
w Hotels Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing