We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chicago has a real 5 star hotel again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Ranked #5 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed 19 October 2017 via mobile

As an SPG Gold member I come to find that some of the luxury collection hotels in the brand are not exactly luxury. It takes a lot to impress me. First, The Gwen is not like the other hotels that once inhabited the building. The remodel is amazing. I got lost inside several times and I love to explore.

I was in the landmark king and the bathroom is gigantic!!!! Not to mention Multon and Brown products everywhere in abundance! My favorite.

The reason I gave The Gwen a try was because the concierge has worked with my business needs and personal needs since he joined Starwoood. I learned in life to follow where the good people go. Ramon has been an invaluable extension of my business team. I rely on him and most importantly trust him. This is why I follow the best. Although Ramon was off on my visit he made sure every detail was perfect.

He is one of the top concierge in Chicago and in the US and is an asset to Starwood. Also, I need to give kudos to the staff that checked me into the hotel. I do not recall his name but I hope to see him soon and thank him and Ramon.

If you want 5 star experiences in Chicago, The Gwen leads over the flagship brands on Michigan Ave. and the boutique hotels which are in abundance.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank Marshall C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 103 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2017 via mobile

I travel for business every week.
In downtown Chicago, this is my favorite hotel. The staff is so courteous and the bar is fantastic. Eddie the bartender is outstanding and will make whatever drink you need. His mixology skills are untouchable. The rooms were luxurious and perfect for my needs after work whether I was alone or needed to entertain my team. I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Jason-in-Japan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

I booked my mother and grandmother into a hotel at the Gwen abut a week ago, and I typically don't write reviews, but I had to because they had a fantastic stay. From the time I booked a stay to the day they checked out, they had a fantastic stay. I had mentioned it was my mothers birthday, and Morgan sent up a complimentary bottle of wine. The staff was overall very helpful when carrying bags for my grandmother since she's getting quite old. The food there is also great, definitely try the flat bread. Overall great location and place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sully-Nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

I stayed here one night after the Chicago Marathon and wish my stay could have been longer. Major, major kudos to the front desk staff, especially Maira, Stiffany and Patrick. They went above and beyond when they saw I was injured from the race. And checked on me whenever they saw me go by the front deskagain. My room was spectacular, the bedding dreamy. I had been here before when it was The Conrad but had never stayed there. The "rooftop bar is still great, though they need more TVs, especially to watch sports. The lobby bar doesn't stay open late enough for a big city and service could be a bit friendlier at the bar, though I only visited for one night so someone could have been having an off night. The location can't be beat if you want to be on Michigan avenue and (literally) attached to a giant mall. Nordstrom is an elevator ride away.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank threegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

The Gwen is well located on The Chicago Magnificent Mile.
This hotel is modern sophistication. The service is personal yet professional.
The suite was beautifully appointed and the bathroom was total luxury.
The art work is modern and inspiring.

The breakfast was my low after looking forward to a true American style breakfast at Circa Restaurant (the only thing that wasn't burnt was the egg) but really enjoyed the drinks and the small bite size meals Upstairs at The Gwen

The concierge (Roman ?? Spelling) was outstanding and certainly booked us some amazing restaurants and tours.
Perfect location for anyone visiting and wanting to see all the wonderful tours and shopping around Chicago

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#7 of 192 in Chicago
387 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#6 of 192 in Chicago
2,255 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 192 in Chicago
2,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 192 in Chicago
1,583 reviews
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago

Address: 521 North Rush Street, at Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3646 (Formerly Conrad Chicago)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#16 Business Hotel in Chicago
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#19 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: €126 - €433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Introducing our newly transformed guestrooms, with splendid views of the Windy City, The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago is rooted in the history and heritage of the city's Magnificent Mile, paying homage to the 1930s in both its architecture and ethos. The newest member of Starwood Hotels and Resorts' prestigious group of Luxury Collection Hotels is an artistic icon that exudes timeless style and elegance. Housed within the landmark McGraw-Hill Building, The Gwen features an Art Deco aesthetic amplified by a sculptural façade, famously created by artist Gwen Lux in 1928. The idea of a female artisan making her mark in a predominantly male design city depicts an exciting atmosphere of change. The building has been home to many stories in its illustrious past, and today The Gwen provides the ideal canvas for guests to create their own distinct memories. This 311-room hotel includes 199 King accommodations with separate soaking tubs and showers, 54 Double/Double accommodations, as well as 34 luxurious suites, including some featuring beautiful terraces overlooking Michigan Avenue. The inventory, which averages 380 square feet per guest room, includes rooms that are ADA-accessible. Guests of The Gwen can enjoy the use of plush bathrobes and slippers to make their stay more comfortable, as well as complimentary in-room basic Internet access (wired and wireless), a 42-inch flat screen television with HD stations, a surround sound system, a Keurig brewing system, and an in-room safe. Offering the best of Chicago from right outside its doors, The Gwen is located on the Magnificent Mile, minutes away from premier shopping, world-class dining, and exciting cultural and entertainment hotspots, such as Navy Pier and Millennium Park. Connected to The Shops at North Bridge, The Gwen provides guests with enclosed access to upscale retailers, such as Nordstrom Michigan Avenue, and Stuart Weitzman. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Conrad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing