We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Lovely hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago
Ranked #57 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

I stayed with my husband for a winter weekend, and the hotel was perfect for our needs. The Conrad is in a great location, in easy walking distance to tons of shopping and dining options - including some that are attached, so you don't even need to go outside. Due to Diamond status, we were upgraded to a suite that overlooked Michigan avenue. The room was plush, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom (including the soaking tub!) was great as well. I can't speak to lunch or dinner, but the Hilton Honors breakfast was delicious. Nice workout facilities. I don't know about the summer rates, but the winter room rates were very reasonable.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abbalish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,057 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,028
    723
    196
    71
    39
See reviews for
487
1,092
223
903
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (493)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

I was in Chicago for a conference January 17-20 and had the opportunity to stay at the Conrad. Hands down the best hotel I have stayed at. From check in to check out everything was great. I got to the hotel around 11:00 in the morning and was fully anticipating to just drop my bags off because the posted check in was 3:00 pm and I wanted to go to the shedd aquarium that day. When I got to the check in desk I told them that I just wanted to drop off my bags because of the posted check in time. What a great surprise when the front desk associate checking me in said he could check me in right then. High marks for that. I got to my room and droped my bags off. The rooms have a large bathroom with a soaking tube (great to use after the workout room to soothe the sore muscles and sore knees after working out), glass enclosed shower, and separate room for the toilet. The only down side was the office building basically right outside my windows but not that big of a deal just close the drapes. Its really nice that the hotel is attached to the The Shops At Northbridge because there are about six restaurants in the mall so if you don't want to go out you can take the elevator down and get a bite to eat in the mall. Also there are other restaurants very close outside the hotel, very convenient. Try the italian restaurant that is basically right out the door of the hotel. You will get to use that fridge in the room because they serve huge portions. One other downside is the price of a drink in the hotel bar. It was ten dollars for a rum and coke.Pretty steep in my opinion. The other great thing is the gift shop stays open until 11:00 pm great for those late evening munchies. Also housekeeping was great because they organized my toothbrush, contact case, etc when they came to check the room. it was a nice gesture that they didnt have to do. Overall I would defiantly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martyhoyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

This is our new favorite place to stay while in DT Chicago, we typically stay DT 4 times a year to shop and dine. We live in SW Indiana and Chicago is our fav. big city to visit. Beats
Manhattan hands down! The staff and location of the Conrad our great! Already looking forward to our next trip in April!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charles m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrightington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

Not really much to add to the title really, everything you could want from a hotel from a warm welcome to a great room, nice bar food, everything very clean, complimentary tea and coffee in a morning, just all wonderful. We would without doubt be back to this hotel if we returned to Chicago.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rOjU_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

This is a hotel that deserves the Excellent rating. Location, decor, service, room arrangements are all great. There are many little touches in the rooms that add to the experience, including the big LCD HDTV and spacious modern bathroom. The climate control is quiet and accurate. Parking is expensive but that's Chicago.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brauntosaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago
InterContinental Chicago
#69 of 185 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,976 reviews
The James Chicago
#39 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,967 reviews
Near North Side
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#29 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,993 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#9 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,419 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago

Property: The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago
Address: 521 North Rush Street, at Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3646 (Formerly Conrad Chicago)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Chicago
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#21 Family Hotel in Chicago
#35 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of the Windy City, The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago is rooted in the history and heritage of the city's Magnificent Mile, paying homage to the 1930s in both its architecture and ethos. The newest member of Starwood Hotels and Resorts' prestigious group of Luxury Collection Hotels is an artistic icon that exudes timeless style and elegance. Housed within the landmark McGraw-Hill Building, The Gwen features an Art Deco aesthetic amplified by a sculptural façade, famously created by artist Gwen Lux in 1928. The idea of a female artisan making her mark in a predominantly male design city depicts an exciting atmosphere of change. The building has been home to many stories in its illustrious past, and today The Gwen provides the ideal canvas for guests to create their own distinct memories. This 300-room hotel includes 199 King accommodations with separate soaking tubs and showers, 54 Double/Double accommodations, as well as 34 luxurious suites, including some featuring beautiful terraces overlooking Michigan Avenue. The inventory, which averages 380 square feet per guest room, includes rooms that are ADA-accessible. Guests of The Gwen can enjoy the use of plush bathrobes and slippers to make their stay more comfortable, as well as complimentary in-room basic Internet access (wired and wireless), a 42-inch flat screen television with HD stations, a surround sound system, a Keurig brewing system, and an in-room safe. Offering the best of Chicago from right outside its doors, The Gwen is located on the Magnificent Mile, minutes away from premier shopping, world-class dining, and exciting cultural and entertainment hotspots, such as Navy Pier and Millennium Park. Connected to The Shops at North Bridge, The Gwen provides guests with enclosed access to upscale retailers, such as Nordstrom Michigan Avenue, and Stuart Weitzman. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Conrad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing